We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor so far ... beware the website and booking”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Barnham Broom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barnham Broom
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor so far ... beware the website and booking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just booked a room for husband and myself and our 11-year-old son. According to website a Superior Double, at a cost of £95.00, would be suitable. A Junior Suite, costing £115.00, would not be suitable as the website quite clearly tells you that these rooms will not accommodate three people. It also quite clearly states, in its terms and conditions, that children under 16 are accommodated free of charge. (It does state on the room reservation page that it's children under 14, but we'll let that one go for now.)

However, on ringing the hotel to book over the phone, we were told that a Superior Double was NOT big enough and that the only room that was big enough was the more expensive Junior Suite. We were also told that there would be a £15.00 charge for the hire of a z-bed and bedding for my son to sleep on. Hire of z-beds is NOT mentioned anywhere that I can see on the website and I'm not sure how his accommodation can be called 'free of charge' when we have to pay £15.00 for a bed to be provided!

On pointing all this out the receptionist very polite and apologetic and said that the website was wrong and that she would tell the people who manage the website.

Not really impressed. Website is first port of call for many people looking to book. It's an advert for the hotel and this one is wrong in several places. Will have to wait and see how the stay turns out.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CDR1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    303
    109
    51
    30
See reviews for
116
369
18
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

After my complaints last year, I was contacted by customer services to give them a second chance. I have to say the service had improved 10 fold on the reception. They where very polite and asked if I knew where everything was. The room was next was it cleaner - Yes allot cleaner not a fly in sight, the suite had had a much needed facelift and the decor was very fresh. Still had a few arguments with the shower door but it did close easier than my previous visit.

Then down to dinner, the food was exceptional. Partridge starter, Honey Duck main course and a nice bread pudding for dessert. Wine was chilled nicely and the restaurant had had an industrial carpet cleaner visit.

The Black pudding at breakfast was the champion of breakfast, which was a shame I much hoped it was the staff, who left us to find our own seats and when they did turn up I asked if they wanted me to cook my own breakfast too. To which there was no apology. But all in all the hotel was now worth the money I originally paid so good marks. I would return, however I think I will be trying other options first.

Room Tip: Room 16 is a nice suite with top quality TVs and a nice lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dntaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent a long weekend (Fri to Mon) at this property. The flat was spotlessly clean and very well appointed with good views across the golf course. Although October half term the property was quiet and we found our time here very relaxing. There is lots to do in the area, we visited Norwich and also several National Trust properties in the area. We self catered, the kitchen was very adequate. We shall be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelalotLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were not interested in the Golf Packages so that's not why we went but we had a wonderful stay.

The Spa facilities are very good and the range of treatments by nice therapists is excellent. The pool was a bit smaller than we thought it would be but still managed a decent length swim. The sauna and steam room were welcome additions too. The sport facilities are a bit separate to where the rooms and main hotel are so it could be awkward trekking there in the rain but was no problem for us. Just remember your £1 coin for the lockers in the changing rooms.

The staff were extremely helpful, particularly when I couldn't connect to the internet in the room at first. The rooms are well equipped and very nicely "done". The TV was huge, the bed was comfortable and the Molton Brown toiletries were a treat to use.

The highlight for us was the food. The breakfasts were well organised, I so love it when an order is taken and we are "waited" on. The evening meals were wonderful...the chef is to be highly recommended. Al he waiting staff were extremely polite and helpful creating a relaxed environment.

We loved it here and would highly recommend it whether you like golf or not.

Room Tip: I imagine all rooms to be fine as they are situated around a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJP1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently married and had our ceremony and wedding breakfast at the hotel. It's a beautiful setting for a celebration. Our day was just as we had hoped, and all the staff, disco, toastmaster, food and organisation were very professional but very friendly and accommodating, even when table plans needed to be changed at the last minute! This all contributed to making it a really special day to remember, and several of our wedding guests have given us good feedback on the hotel and staff too, and were impressed by the recently refurbished rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
170 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a golf package, our second visit. There are two courses here,we had booked to play both of them. On our last visit the Valley Course was closed due to flooding; this time both were closed on the second day due to dense fog! Apparently this often happens. We enjoyed playing the Hill Course, and will certainly return. We had supper in the Flints Restaurant which we thought was excellent, high quality food and service and a nice atmosphere even though there were several large groups staying. We had a standard room which was warm and comfortable though fairly small, two large men may have found it rather too cosy!The hotel is set in beautiful countryside, with easy access to Norwich and the Norfolk Broads

Room Tip: Some of the ground floor rooms have a limited view of an inner courtyard, it may be worth paying for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I recently stayed in one of the refurbished rooms.
I was certainly to a high standard, almost boutique style rooms.
For a quiet night away from the city, it was perfect.
The hotel in general wasn't up to as higher standard as the room we had.

Room Tip: We had the pleasure of staying room number 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant16979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnham Broom
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,416 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
22.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
8.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnham Broom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnham Broom

Property: Barnham Broom
Address: Honingham Road, Barnham Broom, Norwich NR9 4DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Barnham Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnham Broom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnham Broom 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnham Broom offers a warm and welcoming ambience to all guests with its exceptional 4-star experience and first class facilities and amenities. The hotel overlooks 300 acres of beautiful Norfolk countryside with 46 refurbished hotel rooms offering comfortable, stylish and luxurious accommodation. Barnham Broom is best known for its two championship golf courses surrounding the River Yare Valley. The Spa at Barnham Broom, is also a wonderful place to relax and unwind. And The Edge Health & Fitness Club, with its state-of-the-art gym equipment, sauna, steam room, squash courts, tennis courts, fitness classes and heated indoor swimming pool is the perfect place to improve your health & well-being. There is a choice to eat dinner and Sunday lunch in the stylish Brasserie; Valley Bar Lounge for Afternoon Teas and cocktails; or something more informal from the all-day Sports Bar and Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barnham Broom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf Hotel Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom Hotel, Golf And Spa
Classic Hotel Barnham Broom
Classic Hotel Norwich
Norwich Classic Hotel
Barnham Broom Norfolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing