We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend”
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunston Hall
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for my sister in laws hen party - just a small group of 7 of us. It was the perfect location for us and the hotel arranged several extras for us which made it very special. We used the spa facilities - perhaps the environment was a bit too chloriney if I'm going to be picky - and the Lilac Room - they do a sensational massage! The food was very good and the hotel / grounds seemed very clean and pleasant. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Overall great value and I'd highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank JandJ-Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,796 - 1,802 of 2,876 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just returned after a night stay for my husbands birthday. I booked a king suite and after a speedily, friendly and informative check in we managed to track our room down after a few wrong turns. We were surprised how big the hotel was. The room was large with a separate lounge area and later found out a second toilet off the lounge. We made our way to the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna

I had booked a massage for my husband and had a hot stone massage with Amy. I have got to say I have had several in the past but must say this was probably the best hot stone massage I have ever had and highly recommend her. My husband was really pleased with his massage.

We returned to our room to get ready for our evening meal, the shower was lovely and hot and supplied with shampoo etc.

We had the carvery and it was nice to see a bit of life in the beef so many placed I have visited where they cook the life out of it. I ordered off the menu for my starters as I felt the starters in the chiller cupboard looked a bit dry. I had creme brûlée for pudding, again off the menu, which I had to send back as this was split and the biscuit that came with it was not edible as so hard but had a trifle out the chiller which was quite nice.

Only couple of little grumbles was that the pillows were past their use date as they were obviously fibre filled once upon a time and had moulded together making them hard lumpy pillows and the other little gripe was that the sofa in the lounge was quite grubby and wouldn't have fancied sitting on it if I had time. It such a shame because it was a lovely lounge and wouldn't cost much to get a company in to clean it.

But all in all a lovely night stay and very friendly staff

Room Tip: King suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevaedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed for two nights, in March. The drive up to the hotel was spectacular, and the hotel was not a disappointment. We stayed in a standard room, which was what you would expect, comfortable, warm and clean. The staff could not have been nicer or more welcoming, from the moment we arrived until we left, even when there was a slight problem with our bill, it was sorted straight away without any fuss. Thankyou for a lovely stay we will be back im sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Had a great weekend, comfortable room(King Deluxe). Very helpful, attentive staff especially York in the bar and Rachael in restaurant! We ate in the Brasserie both nights and thought it good value for money. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank janb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Mother's Day afternoon tea, basically expensive especially for yesterday's sandwiches (evidenced by the dates on the cling film) stale profiteroles and scones, less sandwiches than other tables with less people (the reason for this was explained as having no bread left although other people came in afterwards). The staff were friendly and the manager gave a 25% discount for the poor food but even then it was not close to being reasonably priced. This may have been a one off bug the room was also poor it was like sitting in a poorly set out and decorated conference room.
Having tea in the bar would have been preferable because the surroundings are much nicer but presumably the food would be the same.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The building and grounds are spectacular and the service throughout our stay was excellent. Food was plentiful and very good, and the hotel accommodates special diets without fuss. Unfortunately, the interior of the hotel is not as expected from such a dramatic exterior and our room was very dreary and dark and in need of a facelift. Because the hotel was full, we could not take advantage of the De Vere membership upgrade offer which might have enabled us to enjoy a better room. Housekeeping was of a high standard.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

From the outside the hotel looks very grand and has lots of character, the character continues in the main hallways and bars but is completely lost in the rooms.
My room was very dated and the wardrobe very musty, not somewhere I was going to hang my clothes for the morning.
I ate in the bar and the food was well below par and overpriced for the quality on offer.
I had 'bang bang' chicken for a starter which was greasy and served with a sliced cob of iceberg lettuce on the plate, completely not as described.
Breakfast was a buffet style and I was seated at a table that was already occupied by another guest. The hot food was luke warm, especially the eggs which looked and tasted awful.
I had a burger for my main which was dry and served with very oily 'chips', a complete let down.
Service throughout my stay was good but the quality of rooms and food were well below par for any hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank bsnsjone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Holy Cross
6.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,226 reviews
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,252 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
980 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Address: Main Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range: $109 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing