We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunston Hall
Nearby Hotels
$104
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$114
$95
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$43
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$56
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Norwich Hotel(Norwich)
$64
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stracey Hotel(Norwich)
$77
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,957)
Filter reviews
2,957 results
Traveler rating
1,003
818
591
327
218
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,003
818
591
327
218
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseterrace bardeluxe roomspa breakevening meallovely groundsmain barsteam roomleisure facilitiesfour posterplay golfnight breakpark and ridebirthday treatshort breaklovely roombiscuits
Filter
Updating list...
2,139 - 2,144 of 2,957 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel- stayed here a few times. once with my teenage daughter for a spa weekend and recently with my partner on a Groupon deal. Paid top price first time ( it was worth it!) and didnt feel 2nd best with the offer- still got Excellant service!!
Hubby played golf- loved it and the meal was a choice of buffet or a la cart menu with a top up bill. food lovely either way! Recepton staff always happy to accomade requests on booking. I'm a real pain as I like rooms with a nice view and away from noise- never been disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Maryd
Thank you for your feedback-I`m glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our cuisine and hospitality,next time try one of our new Chambre Unique rooms.
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in June. For us it was all about the experience. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. Each and every one of them are helpful, courteous, and thoughtful and above all they all are happy. Happy staff means happy customer. We stayed in one of the top floor feature rooms 'The Beams' a beautiful room full of character, as the name suggests. Only a couple of problems with it, firstly there was no bath only a shower, which was disappointing. Secondly, if you are over 6' tall you need to mind your head moving around the room! Only minor things but worth pointing out. We dined in the restaurant both nights. The food was delicious. Cooked to a very high standard - slightly disappointed that the menu was the same for both nights and if you have pre-paid it is a limited choice. Breakfast was of a very good standard with plenty of choice, all fresh and served hot.

The golf course is good quality and well maintained with a good value for money driving range.

Overall this is an excellent hotel, we stopped with some dear friends. The staff here made it a memorable experience for us all and we will definitely stop here next time.

Room Tip: It doesn't really matter what room you have. They all seemed very good.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IaShaCraSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear laShaCraSha
Many thanks for your feedback.I`m pleased you enjoyed our food,service and team so much-we only employ nice people and trip advisor always reflects this-do come again soon and try one of our deluxe rooms
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Having been to Dunston Hall before and had a wonderful stay was so looking forward to staying again,
On arrivial the grounds were just as wonderful the receiption staff were very nice and helpful,
BUT then I got to my room thats where the disapointment started.I went to use the toilet but it had not been cleaned or flushed, the bin at the side of the toilet had not been empted,the light by the bed did not work also the controls on the T.V did not work.all this I reported to receiption they said they would get it sorted,
Later when the party of 7 went down to the bar for drinks it took 20 mins to get served as there was only one barman and one watress.at a very busy time,on going into the resterant we order our meals when they arrived at our table only 2 meals came as ordered 3 were part delivered with no veg and had to be asked for and 2 had to go back we then waited untill our friends had finished there meal when the 2 meals arrived 1 was still not right and the other one I had got past waiting as we had now waited 1 1/2 hrs for our food,
We did speak to the manager who was very sorry. but that did not make up for the disapointment and spolt the mood we all felt as this was surpose to have been reward for our staff after a long hard days work.
On returning to my room the toilet still did not work and the bulb had not been changed.
I am very sorry about this complaint, but it should not have happened in such a lovely place

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 36Tonibrambledownham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear 36Tonibrambledownham
Many thanks for your feedback.I`ve looked at how we can improve the experience in future around those areas so next time we`ll be at our usual level of service.I`m glad our manager spoke to you on the evening and resolved the issues.Our bedrooms are currently receiving some TLC and we have recently added a new deluxe room type called Chambre Unique,try one of these next time for a unique experience
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at Dunston Hall last weekend for a 50th birthday celebration. We chose Dunston Hall because of our previous excellent experience at one of the De Vere Groups other hotels at Belton Woods ( highly recommended also). Dunston Hall is a stunning building in beautiful surroundings. The interior is charming, our room (go for a deluxe) was spacious, well equipped and spotless. We enjoyed relaxing in the spa and pool area. The restaurant offers a couple of menus and a well stocked buffet and carvery area. The food was lovely and the staff friendly and attentive. The breakfast selection was varied, plentiful and delicious! It's been mentioned that Dunston Hall is ideally placed for Norwich but in fact it's an ideal place to visit the whole of the north Norfolk area including the coast and the Broads. And if you're in the area visit the lovely Bure Valley steam railway. All in all a lovely weekend in a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear simonl
thank you for your feedback.I`m glad you had a great stay and appreciated all we have to offer in terms of location and facilities
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked a night at Dunston Hall as a much needed break.First impressions of the hotel were lovely and the interior didn't disappoint. Out room had 2 double beds and a good view of the golf course. The staff were very helpful in all areas. We would definitely go again.

Room Tip: If you are disabled,although there is a lift it is a long walk to get to it. It would be best to ask about nearer rooms when you book
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Manager at Dunston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear lindat
Many thanks for your feedback-I`m glad you had a good shopping trip-Norwich was recently voted in the top 5 shopping destinations in the UK and is easily the most welcoming and friendly.Next time try one of our spa packages or deluxe rooms for a real sense of occasion
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews