We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice country hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sprowston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Lovely hotel, clean and well kept. We had an evening meal in a private dining room as part of a large group and it was really lovely. Breakfast was nice, but if you didn't ask for a pot of tea, you were just given one cup and had to keep asking for more - strange. Our room was quite large but the bed was just a double and seemed very small - a king size would have been better. Also, it was a disabled room and the fold-up seating on the wall in the bath got in the way, as we didn't need to use it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacm35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed one night (Sunday) and played 2 rounds of golf (a party of 8 people). The hotel was vey clean,facilities excellent, food- both dinner and breakfast was very good.The Golf Course was in very good condition - bearing in mind The Autumn groundwork had been done - The greens were very tricky with some testing pin positions.Staff were very good and helpful - Would definatly return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TERRY503975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

A beautiful hotel with good restaurants set in picturesque grounds including an excellent golf course

The staff are always professional, the rooms are of a good quality and plenty to do & see

A but pricey but it is a Marriott

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taur033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

what a cheek and what a disaster.

Only stayed here to be with friends from U.S. and they ALWAYS stay in Marriot.
Was driven to the hotel by a local friend and we both were assailed by the smell of chlorine as we walked through the door, an older person in a grey suit and adge and a strange hairdo muttered something that neither of understood so we proceeded to reception desk where we were assailed by the barking receptionist and if that is Marriots idea of a welcome !!!.

we ere told in no uncertain terms that Marriot automatically took £50 of the debit card for mini bar use and when I remonstrated the barking grew louder. WE were both stunned by this .

The room was BORING and dull and looked like a 50's retrograde hotel and was all fitted out for handicapped people? did not make sense.
we returned to lobby and asked another person were they served afternoon tea and his response was "I do not know I work in the bar" we were finally direct to the restuarant which was packed to the gills with a wake which we were not inclined to join, returning to the lobby the same person when asked again about tea said " they should not be there. they should not be there" as if it was our fault.Finally after talking to 7 staff we managed to get tea in the lobby, which was good. Friends arrived and we were able to secure tea for them.Asked for a reservation in the res only to e told only after 8 and our friends needed to eat earlier, we when then told no more res so we drove to Norwich. The reception area is so over a/c that we were all uncomfortable,
The bed was Wonderful as were the pillows ad the tv was ,for once easy to use, The only 2 good points in my stay.
Breakfast was only buffet, but aver charming and helpful waitress offered to bring it for me.
the scrambled eggs tasted like dried eggs from world war two and the bacon had been sitting around for hours but the taste was fresh and hot and buttered.
For this I paid £140 and feel very unsatisfied
what a sad experience.
we had booked to stay in marriot hotels on our visit to India in December they have all been cancelled, even my American friends were appalled

Room Tip: don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with lovely rooms and suites and the staff are excellent. The grounds are very well kept too and the pool area is lovely. We have just had a Friday-Sunday stay with a large group for the annual Ladies' Festival; we stayed in a very nice suite which was very comfortable and super clean. My husband and I were celebrating our 30 year anniversary and the staff had left a card and bottle of wine for us which was very kind of them. So far so good. The hot buffet Friday night was good and we retired to the bar and had an enjoyable evening. The hotel is near to Wroxham so eight of us hired a day boat for Saturday and had a fantastic time on the river and Broads; I can totally recommend it. Saturday night was our gala dinner and dance and I have to say the food was excellent and the service fantastic. After dinner we put on our dancing shoes and hit the floor. We had finished the wine we ordered for the table and so were buying drinks at the bar; at about 11.45 my husband went to buy his round accompanied by a friend. Drinks were ordered, poured, and my husband proffered cash to pay; "Sorry sir we cannot accept cash after 11pm. Company policy". "But I only have cash" my husband countered, as did his friend. "Sorry sir that is the rule. You will have to open an account on your room"; this is at 11.45pm and we are leaving the next morning. The staff then poured the drinks away!!!!! We have travelled extensively at home an abroad mostly paying cash and this is the first time we have had cold hard cash refused! By this time the men were cross and embarrassed and none of us felt like a drink; our evening had come to and end somewhat early and on a sour note. When the music and evening finished, at 12.30am we wandered off to bed and spoke to the Duty Manager on our way up. We queried this company rule which chose 11pm to banish cash from it's system and were told it was the law set down by the Government! Without a legal background we were unable to argue this point but as I said I have not encountered this before; so, if you do not have a credit card and want to pay cash in a Marriott hotel beware as 11 is the witching hour after which you will be out of luck!

Room Tip: The Spencer Suite on floor 3 is in a nice quiet spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shoequeeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

we spent a lovely few days at this hotel, the staff were welcoming, professional and very helpful a comfortable room which lead out on to a walled garden which was most helpful as we were traveling with a guide dog. food well up to the expected level of a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gadget11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I booked a Spa Break as a birthday treat for my wife and was not disappointed. All the staff were welcoming and friendly and of the same high calibre as Marriott staff worldwide despite being in remote Norfolk. The restaurant service was excellent and the food also very good. I am sure we will return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oakly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sprowston
2.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,230 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,782 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,191 reviews
10.9 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
919 reviews
18 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: Wroxham Road | Sprowston Park, Sprowston, Norwich NR7 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Sprowston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sprowston
Price Range: $115 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxury countryside escape at the Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club. Located in Norwich, England, our guest rooms offer a seamless blend of historic elegance and modern comfort. We offer a world-class golf course, on-site spa and a variety of event venues, perfect for any travel needs. Book a memorable vacation at our hotel now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Norwich
Norfolk Marriott
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing