We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sprowston
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with our stay here - fabulous staff on the reception, who kindly moved me from an adjoining room on arrival ( having read poor reviews re adjoining rooms !)
The room was well appointed , with good sized bathrooms.We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening, and the food was lovely, so was the wine :)
We were woken at 5 am with the fire alarm, and spent half an hour outside on a frosty night waiting for the 2 fire engines ! Someone did bring out some blankets for the old people stood outside in their cotton dressing gowns.
We didn't eat breakfast here, so can't comment on that - but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziejellybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    323
    170
    69
    44
See reviews for
236
364
26
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was a business trip for me and a wee golf break for hubbie. Have stayed here a few times now must say it had improved from a food and service level since last stay. Our room was fabulous , beds very comfortable , but very annoying that when the room is very hot you are unable to open the windows fully. We had dinner on one night which was very good and the staff were very attentive and professional. Still think the restaurant lighting is bad , would not have felt it was romantic enought for a romantic break. Breakfast is a buffet with excellent choice and the lady was kind enough to ask me if I required another pot of tea as she thought the one she had given me may have been stewed - it was and she replaced it . Yes there are a lot of coach trippers in this hotel , but you just have to get over that . The pool area is nice and so is the steam and sauna . However if it was busy it would be too small.

Room Tip: As for an upgrade to suite if they have it , or splash out !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOTELINSPECTORABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for a romantic weekend away. The hotel is set in very pretty surroundings and is full of character.

The spa / pool area although quite small is certainly adequate and was not very full so this wasn't an issue. We had the pleasurable experience of having our room upgraded free of charge to a suite. This was amazingly impressive. The bed was very comfortable and there was a separate seating area with a sofa and 2 arm chairs which was lovely.

I would definitely consider upgrading in the future as the room was amazing.

The restaurant and bar area was very relaxing and we enjoyed a lovely meal in the evening and some nice bar snacks at lunchtime. the bar prices were quite high but you tend to expect this at a hotel of this standing.

My only minor gripe was that a couple of the staff memebers seemed very poorly trained and not very interested in "going the extra mile" for the customer. This is a marriott hotel not a premier inn so I would expect perfect customer service.

All in all a wonderful hotel and one I would recommend if you are in the area.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a suite. They are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red-Devil07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I must disagree with earlier review re the spa. My daughter and I were booked for two one hour treatments and we both really could not find fault.

I have had treatments in hotels here and abroad and I would not say it was the best but it rated very high. I had a very bad one recently and if the reviewer thought the Marriott rooms shabby she should have gone to the one I was at.


We found the rooms adequate and the bed were lovely and warm with electric blankets ( a must for these cold days) and our treatments were not rushed they were the full hour. The facial I had was one of the best I have had. I am getting on in years and look for good service and will complement when I receive this.

We had lunch in the cafe and this was maybe a bit slow in service but the staff could not have been nicer.

The spa at the Marriott was everything I would expect and more. Give it a go

One point we did not use the pool area but from what I saw it is no different from most hotels in size including the Jacuzzi.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pickyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was expecting a day of pampering and relaxation, what a joke for a spa, it is a very small pool with a Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna on the side. Treatment rooms are shabby and the treatments given were rushed. The restaurant is overpriced and service slow. Avoid!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IamJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We attended a two day function here. The Hotel is lovely. Large well furnished rooms and comfortable. Wonderful spa. You could spend all day there. But, oh dear the food! Night 1, we went in for dinner at 7.30 and finnished at about 10.45. The sere
vice was so slow. My meal, I think was duck altho' you would not know by looking at it. It was grossley over cooked in thick glutinous gravy. It was supposed to be on a bed of something but what I don't know. The did bring extra veg on request but not untill half an hour later. I would have been furious if I had paid the £16 it cost but when you are in a party you don't like to make a fuss. Saturdays dinner was marginally better and quickewr but I could not discribe it as good. Saturday break fast was very good indeed but Sunday when the Hotel filled up was a shambles. Everything was running out and replaced slowley so it was hard to get a hot platedul. It seemed to be very understaffed in the catering dept. Pity as it spoils a lovely Hotel. I have rated the breakfast as poor because of Sunday. The first day it was very good

Room Tip: There are two lifts so any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

As it was our anniversary I decided to book one of the four poster suites and the room was lovely. The bathroom was an absolute treat because of the huge bath. Booked spa treatment separately and the spa staff were very helpful and on the day we were impressed with the treatments and how comfortable we were made to feel.
My only improvements would be more towels and toiletries - was expecting this at the turn down service but the turn down never happened!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sprowston
6.9 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,526 reviews
8.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,102 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
865 reviews
10.9 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
876 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Wroxham Road | Sprowston Park, Sprowston, Norwich NR7 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Sprowston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sprowston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxury countryside escape at the Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club. Located in Norwich, England, our guest rooms offer a seamless blend of historic elegance and modern comfort. We offer a world-class golf course, on-site spa and a variety of event venues, perfect for any travel needs. Book a memorable vacation at our hotel now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Norwich
Norfolk Marriott
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing