We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sprowston
Certificate of Excellence
Little Wilbraham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Quality place to stay”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I visit Norwich once or twice a year and this is without doubt the nicest place to stay.

On this visit I booked a mini-suite and will do it again and again!

It was lovely and not a lot more than the executive rooms; which are also very good. The facilities, pool, breakfast and service are very good and clearly the best we have tried in the area. I would add that we have tried several other hotels as we have been staying in the area for many a year.

Room Tip: Mini-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    328
    174
    75
    47
See reviews for
248
377
26
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We recently spent a weekend with our family to celebrate our Ruby Wedding anniversary.

We booked a four poster room which proved to be an inspired choice as it was spacious, well appointed and we could all use it as a meeting point for get togethers duriing the weekend. We booked three other double rooms and these were all close by which is what we had requested.

The staff were very helpful in all respects and dealt with every request we made efficiently and with a smile.

We made good use of the leisure facilities which were excellent and much appreciated by our two year old grand daughter.

We found breakfast very good with plenty of choice and had no problems with the service.

We ate at the Zest restaurant on Friday and found this to be somewhat expensive with a limited menu and as a result ate out the following day. On Sunday we ate at in the restaurant and had the set meal which at £16.95 for 3 courses was very good value and also very nicely presented. The service could have been quicker but we were in no hurry and prefer not to be rushed so were not too worried.

Overall our experience was very good and we thoroughly enjoyed it and would certainly recommend the hotel to others as, in addition to the leisure facilities the golf course is also excellent.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

A beautiful location perfect for exploring this lovely part of the Uk. Rooms typical of a Marriott Hotel but very clean & well maintained. Breakfast a little disappointing & expensive you would be better to pop into Wroxham! Service friendly & the Zest Bar is great for a relaxing glass of wine with a nice menu & good food.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TACpembury10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We joined our cousins at Sprowston Manor last night for dinner. We looked forward to a first class meal and were very disappointed. The service was very slow- we waited at least ten minutes before the waitress took our wine order and even longer before the food order was taken. When it eventually came several members of our party had no vegetables- the sea-bass was NOT sea-bass and my scallops were disappointing to say the least. This is the last time I am going to Sprowston Manor for an over priced badly served meal

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed at Sprowston Manor on a dinner,bed & breakfast deal last weekend.

Setting - great. Beautiful, peaceful surroundings & close to Norwich.

Rooms - very good. Comfortable beds & re-furbished rooms & bathrooms mean that this hotel is of a good standard. Good sized room with view over the golf course.

Restaurant - what a let-down!! We hoped for a romantic meal, but there is no way that you could have a romantic meal in this environment. The lighting is too bright, the carpet is garish, background music is inadequate & just no ambience at all!! On top of that - the menu is totally uninspiring & the food unexciting. Both my starter & main course were hot (spicy) but with no real flavour - just hot! Bread rolls served before the meal were dry & not served with butter until we asked for it. Service was good to start off with but once our main course dishes had been removed, we were left & no-body came near us again to offer a dessert menu or see whether we wanted anything else ( and no, we hadn't been complaining!!). All in all, not at all romantic & a bit of a dsaster!!

Breakfast - was a re-deeming factor as it was actually pretty good & staff were very attentive & efficient.

Would we go back? I doubt it very much as the restaurant would put us off totally. It would not take much imagination to completely transform this restaurant & an overhaul of the menu would be good. We may have been in Norfolk but I can't believe that people only want plain, boring food like prawn cocktail & steak in 2011!! The restaurant says it has a dress code so we expected something much better than this! Very poor & lets down the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelaxat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

A fantastic hotel- this is a delayed review- stayed in Feb 2011. The rooms are fantastic very modern whilst still keeping the origional features of the hotel. The staff at reception where great and the evening meal was so nice as well. The bar is set near the restaurant- the staff could not do enough to help. We used the leisure facilities whilst at the hotel - this was very clean and had steam room, sauna, pool etc. I would go back to this hotel. I always find Marriott beds so nice to sleep in and always have a good night sleep.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hull1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stepaway
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Sprowston Manor certainly looks the part and for many reasons we were delighted with our stay, however there were some draw backs.

Room
The room was as expected with no hidden surprises. We were on the first floor at the back of the hotel, almost directly above the leisure club.

Leisure
The pool, Jacuzzi and steam room were all fine and although it was a bit hard to find a lounger the area was well kept and none of the children who were present were unruly.

We also had a massage. The spa facilities (Espa) were fine and although the treatment was very relaxing it was very much a hotel with a spa bolted on rather than a specialist service. The prices were reasonable and I found the booking process easy.

Food
Dinner was lovely. We booked in advance which is a must and enjoyed three very generously sized courses. The staff were a bit over stretched but they did acknowledge that and apologised without us even mentioning it. Definitely worthwhile.

For breakfast, food was in the buffet style and was very varied with everything kept at the appropriate temperature. Again, we have no complaints on this area and would even consider going back just to eat in the restaurant.

Problems
There was only one issue really and it was the large party being held at the hotel. Other reviews have mentioned it and sadly we were caught out by this too. The loud music was very clear in our room and as we didn’t have air conditioning it was a choice between using a small fan to keep us cool or having the window open. Either way the music was very audible and it did spoil the end of a very relaxing day.

I rang reception at midnight and asked them what time the party was due to finish and they stated “1am”. I explained that neither of us could sleep and the gentleman stated he would go and ask them to turn it down. It was a silly suggestion as it was obvious he wasn’t able to do that to a large booking but I gave him the chance. Unsurprisingly the volume didn’t change at all.

At check-out the next day the receptionist asked us if we had enjoyed our stay. The conversation went like this:

My husband “It was fine once we got to sleep”
Receptionist “Oh. Was it the noise?”
Husband “Yes, went on very late didn’t it”
Receptionist “I am sorry about that. I’ll make a note”

I am not sure what making a note of it will do and I was disappointed not to get a bit more of an apology or concession but I think it’s likely that nearly everyone staying that night made some kind of complaint. The hotel is trying to please two markets – the hotel guests and the event clients which don’t work unless you have sound proofing.

My suggestion would be to avoid Friday/Saturday night stays or at least state on booking that you would want to be away from any noise as one of their function rooms is in a permanent marquee and so they must be able to locate you far enough away to avoid the noise.

Parking
Plenty to pick from. The only down side was that we left our car near the golf bar/restaurant, under the trees. When we retrieved it the next morning it was totally covered in an even coat of sticky residue. Not sure if it was some kind of tree sap or whether they had treated the golf course with something and used a sprayer to distribute.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed away from any planned events/parties/weddings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stepaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sprowston
6.9 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,651 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,162 reviews
8.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
890 reviews
10.9 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
895 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Wroxham Road | Sprowston Park, Sprowston, Norwich NR7 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Sprowston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sprowston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxury countryside escape at the Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club. Located in Norwich, England, our guest rooms offer a seamless blend of historic elegance and modern comfort. We offer a world-class golf course, on-site spa and a variety of event venues, perfect for any travel needs. Book a memorable vacation at our hotel now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Norwich
Norfolk Marriott
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing