We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel and great value for money”
Review of Exeter Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Exeter Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Certificate of Excellence
hinckley
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel and great value for money”
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Good quality hotel and great value for money. Well appointed rooms and general areas. Good location for travelling around the West Country. Food excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownrj25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    210
    92
    34
    24
See reviews for
90
195
20
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Just got back from this hotel after having a short holiday. We stayed 4 nights with breakfast. The room wasn't massive but we thought it was of adequate size for what we needed. The room was cleaned every day and the staff always said hello. We had a modern flat screen tv in our room and had a hospitality tray (with kettle, milk, tea, coffee and biscuits). There was also a hairdrier in the room. Our room wasn't noisy from the nearby road. It is possible that others might be depending on which block you stayed in.

The breakfast was very good. There was a choice of cereals, juices, yoghurts and fresh fruit which you helped yourself to from the side table. You could then choose to have the full english breakfast or from a list of other options, e.g. scrambled egg, poached etc. There was also a choice of tea or coffee which was brought to your table and toast and preserves.

The staff were all efficient and polite. Yes there were some foreign staff, but I did not have trouble understanding them. The waiter named Ramesh was particularly hardworking and looked after us very well during the two evening meals we had. Again the food was of a good standard and very nicely presented.

I would have no hesitation staying here again and I would recommend it to a friend.
It is conveniently situated as there is plenty to do in this area no matter what the weather.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloe49Ipswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Postives: (1) The rooms have great double glazing which does help keep out the traffic noise from the dual carriageway which is literally within yards from some rooms. It will also blot some of the noise from Wedding revelers as the place is used as a Wedding venue (2) You will have the biggest smile on your face when you leave the place for good and it will make you appreciate that other places that you have stayed weren't actually that bad.

Negatives: It was cheap but you should still expect the room to be clean and ours was not. Breakfast was served by staff who barely had a command of english and it was uncooked.

Verdict: Avoid like the plague unless you want to get the plague.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birderswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed for one night as a stopover on our way to Cornwall. Booked online through their website at a rate of £55.20 for a Small double room, plus breakfast.

The hotel is easy to find, excellent location. Reception staff cheery and check-in was quick. The room was small but we were expecting this as we did go for the small double, but it was clean and practical. Bathroom also clean with bath and shower, and good water pressure. The room got quite hot during the night and there was no air-con but at least we could open the window to get some air. There was no safe in the room. Given the hotel location, the room was actually very quiet.

Breakfast is served in the Mocca room which was nicely decorated and service was good. There was not much choice for the continental breakfast, but the cooked breakfast more than made up for it and was excellent.

Wireless internet is available and moderately priced. They also have a PC in the reception area available for guests.

Overall, a good choice of hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

last minute stop over on business,easy to find well located to explore the area or a good stop over to cornwall,
rooms quite small but exceptionally clean and like new,no free internet bit of a let down in this day and age
had bar food which was cheap and ok resturant looked a bit empty , breakfast was good and served quickly,
paid 47,50 for band b bargain would stay again pity about the internet

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Booked through Last Minute.com. Wasn't expecting anything outstanding but very surprised. The reception staff were all friendly and helpful, restauarant and bar staff equally so, the room clean and nicely furnished. Lovely restaurant, food very good and great value. Would definately return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BournemouthSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cradley Heath West Midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Stayed here in October last year on the way to Cornwall and have now made it a habit as we did the same this month, once again touring the lizard in cornwall. This is an ideal base for us, we can have a leisurly drive to exeter, have a look round the waterfront, visit the Cathedral and also have a 15 min drive to teignmouth.
The hotel itself is exceptionally clean with very helpful and polite staff that can't do enough for you without pestering you every 5 mins too. The food is as always excellent as are the rooms. Breakfast was included in the price of £49 for the 2 of us, which is much better value than the chain hotels such as Travrel inn or Premiere inn.
As we are regulars to Cornwall we will be staying here every time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slartybartfast_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennford
0.9 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,001 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,592 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exeter Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Court Hotel

Property: Exeter Court Hotel
Address: A38, Kennford, Exeter EX6 7UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Kennford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Exeter Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just off the A38 in the heart of Devon, this Exeter hotel is packed with charm, warmth and genuine smiles from people ready to make you feel at home. Unrivaled conference facilities, comfortable contemporary bedrooms and friendly service make the Exeter Court Hotel in Devon the perfect place to relax and unwind. Whether you are looking for a long leisurely stay, a place to escape after an intense business meeting or a room to unwind in after being on the road all day, this stylish Exeter hotel has a range of accommodation to suit all. Situated adjacent to the main reception area, the hotel’s 62 bedrooms are appointed with tea and coffee making facilities, luxury toiletries, LCD televisions and Wi-Fi access. Contemporary and comfortable, the hotel’s bedrooms offer the perfect combination for making your stay a truly relaxing one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Exeter Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Court Hotel Kennford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing