We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bit of a trip back in time”
Review of Exeter Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Exeter Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Firstly the staff are lovely - beyond that not a lot else is - bathroom very very dated - avocado toilet with a white toliet seat - nice touch - so much for the wi-fi - intermittent - the hotel bar was nice enough and cosy but the food wasnt the best - when you see 'Chicken Fillet burger' on the menu I dont expect to see anything but a chicken fillet in the bun - not some deep fried batter coated substance - over cooked scampi was a treat too - maybe I am expecting too much - the smell in the corridor outside my room was foul - but then there was a manhole cover on the floor of the corridor - I have been working away from home in Exeter for almost two years now and have stayed in many hotels in the area - at an over-priced £75 a night I wont be returning to this one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 547 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very happy to revisit. Happy with our room, staff efficient and friendly and excellent breakfasts. This is our 3rd 2 night stay in 4 months, sure will return. Plenty of parking and within 30 mins drive of our relatives. Noisy wedding party on the Saturday night, not the fault of the hotel though.

Room Tip: We choose a room facing away from the main road but after looking at the suites last time all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoupleBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late on Friday night and it took a little time to raise the attention of the receptionist. When we did we were checked in and directed to our room. All rooms were on ground floor so good access.
However our room was very small only just enough room to squeeze round the bed. The bathroom was also small.
Breakfast was quite good with cereal and toast fruit juice fresh fruit & a full English with nice sausage.
On our second night there was a wedding party in full swing so no chance of a quite drink or meal but not to worry the local pub is just a short walk away.
Would I book in again? Probably not.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Rodders27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I needed somewhere to stay near the airport for an early flight. It was ideally situated for that being only 12 mins drive. Unfortunately I was there when there was a wedding so I was kept up and.most of the guests were staying on my corridor so I wasn't best pleased being woken up at half midnight given that I had to get up early. The free WiFi was non-existent and when I phoned reception for assistance I was just told that it wasn't available in some areas. The towel rail would also not switch off which made the room really hot. I have stayed in far nicer places for the same money. If it wasn't for the location I wouldn't go again. It was clean and is ideal for a brief trip.

Room Tip: Make sure it has WiFi and a towel rail that switches off. Also if there is a wedding on ask if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorbi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We found this hotel by looking online for a wedding venue close to where we live. From the very first contact, the manager and staff of the hotel could not have been more professional and helpful. On the actual day of the wedding everything went smoothly and the staff worked hard to make sure our day was perfect. Alongside our wedding they also catered for a full hotel, including a coach party of foreign tourists. All our guests that stayed at the hotel thought the rooms were clean, tidy, well presented and reasonably priced. For ourselves the suite that we stayed in was very nice, the food of a very good quality and reasonably priced. On our last morning we over slept a were half an our late for breakfast, however the staff still managed to serve us with breakfast despite the fact that the kitchen had officially closed 30 minutes before. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as both a wedding venue and as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here when we were in Devon, we stayed at the Ashton Suite.

The room was very big, and for a hotel had some good lighting.

The WiFi was a bit of hit and miss.

Food was nice from the Bar.

Only let down was the towel rail in the bathroom could not be turned off, so it made the whole room on the warm side.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Reception staff very helpfull. Bar staff helpful. Room was damp with damp marks and mould on the ceilings. Very noisy due to a wedding takeing place and a fight outside our window. The bed was the smallest double bed i have ever slept in .

Room Tip: Breakfast was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rem29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennford
4.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#9 of 31 in Exeter
1,908 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
4.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Hotel Buckerell Lodge
#24 of 31 in Exeter
662 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
4.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exeter Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Court Hotel

Address: A38, Kennford, Exeter EX6 7UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Kennford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Price Range: $68 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exeter Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just off the A38 in the heart of Devon, this Exeter hotel is packed with charm, warmth and genuine smiles from people ready to make you feel at home. Unrivaled conference facilities, comfortable contemporary bedrooms and friendly service make the Exeter Court Hotel in Devon the perfect place to relax and unwind. Whether you are looking for a long leisurely stay, a place to escape after an intense business meeting or a room to unwind in after being on the road all day, this stylish Exeter hotel has a range of accommodation to suit all. Situated adjacent to the main reception area, the hotel’s 62 bedrooms are appointed with tea and coffee making facilities, luxury toiletries, LCD televisions and Wi-Fi access. Contemporary and comfortable, the hotel’s bedrooms offer the perfect combination for making your stay a truly relaxing one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Exeter Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Court Hotel Kennford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing