We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Exeter Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Exeter Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Excellent location for A38 or A30. Ground floor rooms and a motel style layout.
The welcome was warm and friendly. The receptionist was helpful and very efficient.
The room was cosy and the bar food was excellent as was breakfast.
I have already recommended this hotel to friends.
The price was exceptionally good value. Simple booking the day before via the internet.
The service was so much better than many other more expensive "pretentious" hotels.
I shall be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    205
    87
    35
    24
See reviews for
86
187
20
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for 1 night as we were going to a Wedding reception in Exeter, but had unfortunately left it too late to get a hotel near the reception venue. Be warned if you stay here and want to get a taxi into Exeter - it is very expensive! We spent about £27 to get there and back.

The hotel itself is nice - it reminded me of an American motel. The room was quite small, but had everything we needed and was fairly quiet, although if you are near the entrance doors, you do notice quite a bit of noise from them.

Check in was good - quick and we were given all the information we needed. Breakfast was ok - the food was nice, but it was very busy and the service was a bit poor (we had to wait ages for tea to be served).

In summary, this is a good hotel if you need a stop over - I would not stay here again if I was going to Exeter or for a relaxing weekend near the coast, simply because of the location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PookieBear2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Room very adequate and very comfy bed. Slight problem with the shower leaking at the head. The breakfast was okay but i felt that the ingredients were not of the best quality however for the price paid i am being a little picky. The staff were very good and helpful from all aspects.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed here as an overnight stop - the hotel is in a good position for travelling, near to road networks and the receptionist was helpful printing off maps for us as we did not know our way around at all!
Room was good for the price we paid, everything was in fine order, shower and tv fine. Breakfast in the morning was actually very nice for being included in the room rate, we both ordered cooked English breakfasts which were freshly cooked and we ate in pleasant surroundings in the restaurant.
All in all I would recommend for the price - however hotel is still some distance from Exeter city centre. (10/15minutes)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise_219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Comfy beds, clean rooms, friendly staff, excellent breakfast and very reasonable charges - what more could you want?
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose blocks furthest from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussJNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Great location for many local attractions, arterial roads and airport, racecourse etc. Bar is very good with a particularly poor real ale choice although they do have a 'keg' Bass product which is quite drinkable. Staff were very accomodating and gave us a warm, friendly welcome with an obvious desire to please. Bar snacks are absolutely fine, restaurant food is well worth a try and certainly not overpriced, even the wine list was very sensibly priced. Rooms are a liitle tired and quite small but clean and resaonably well found. The biggest problem with the accomodation is the noise generated by the door closers which starts around 5.00 am and continues untill you simpoly can't stand it any more and get up for what is a very good breakfast with everything and almost anything you may require. Overall very good but a shame about the noise(s).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onetonyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We picked this hotel mostly because it was easy access to the highway and the places we wanted to see. It is very much like an American motel near an interstate. The rooms were tight in space but very clean and appeared recently remodeled. The recptionists were always very helpful, even printing a map to help us find a laundry.
We had sticky toffee pudding at the bar, along with drinks, and found the dessert very acceptable. Breakfast was fine but often greasy.
It is not convenient to downtown Exeter but is not too far. The area was quiet and felt safe.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsEditor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennford
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
2.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exeter Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Court Hotel

Property: Exeter Court Hotel
Address: A38, Kennford, Exeter EX6 7UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Kennford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Exeter Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just off the A38 in the heart of Devon, this Exeter hotel is packed with charm, warmth and genuine smiles from people ready to make you feel at home. Unrivaled conference facilities, comfortable contemporary bedrooms and friendly service make the Exeter Court Hotel in Devon the perfect place to relax and unwind. Whether you are looking for a long leisurely stay, a place to escape after an intense business meeting or a room to unwind in after being on the road all day, this stylish Exeter hotel has a range of accommodation to suit all. Situated adjacent to the main reception area, the hotel’s 62 bedrooms are appointed with tea and coffee making facilities, luxury toiletries, LCD televisions and Wi-Fi access. Contemporary and comfortable, the hotel’s bedrooms offer the perfect combination for making your stay a truly relaxing one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Exeter Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Court Hotel Kennford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing