We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, bad location and horrible food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patuno Resort Wakatobi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Patuno Resort Wakatobi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice room, bad location and horrible food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are nice but this where the good things end: the hotel has no beach and snorkling is nearly impossible due to high waves on the reef. The staff is clueless and does not speak English even though the hotel pretends to be of international standing.

Finally: the food is horrible and made me sick. I threw up all night. My girlfriend dodged the bullet by simply not eating what was served (which proves that women are smarter than men).

Cherry on the cake: the hotel staff does not know how to handle a VISA card except for trying to overcharge by 3%! This is uncommon for high end hotels in Indinesia.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Manillagorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    48
    27
    6
    7
See reviews for
19
32
14
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at Patuno for 3 days, and we really love it! We got 1 big bungalow/villa, you will happy with the room size, the ethnic style that they applied on the room. I think its a perfect place for honeymooner because the lamp was not try to lightning our room :) Big bathroom, one shower room and one bath-tub. The restaurant, which is very close with the beach.. Superb.Romantic. They also offer a dive center services, which of course we can't resist it...because..its Wakatobi, what else than diving and snorkeling? The disadvantage...this place is very silent. Is it advantage or disadvantage?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gietsz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

stayed for 2 nights in this resort, we got sea-view rooms. the cottage rooms are big enough, clean and each has its own terrace. the television is too small, but it didn't really matter when you have sea in front of your room.

what impress me most is their diving service. they indulge us not only with the beautiful underwater scenery, but also their professional and amicable diving service.

a great stay, and would love to dive here again! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vyaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our only regret about Wakatobi is that it has taken us more than a month to write a review. We don't typically find so many pleasant surprises when we travel. We highly recommend Patuno -- especially its dive staff. It's worth the extra travel time once you get to Indonesia, and you get great value for the price.

One bit of advice is to plan ahead and give them enough time to respond. Wangi Wangi is still pretty remote, and Internet can be spotty. That said, we planned a last-minute trip from Hong Kong, and the staff at Patuno helped us pull together a fantastic trip.

We learned to dive with Bryony, who is experienced, patient and kind. She has to be one of the best instructors in the world. She provided plenty of adventure to two travellers in their early 30s, and yet she would also be an ideal teacher for a child. We felt safe with her, Iwan and the rest of the crew, even when surprised by current or ill-tempered trigger fish. They are also ecologically-minded and working very hard to protect the corals.

Bryony also went above and beyond in helping us plan our stay, for which we're very grateful.

For anyone interested in a PADI course, Wakatobi is an excellent place to learn. In our first open-water dives, we saw turtles, octopus, sea snakes, rays, puffers and many kinds of fish along the jaw-dropping coral reefs. Once certified, we took a trip by dinghy to Hoga after exploring a few of the sites near Wangi Wangi.

As far as the resort itself, we stayed in a standard bungalow, which was much bigger and nicer than we expected, with a comfortable bed. The food in the restaurant was excellent. We mostly stuck to the Indonesian fare, which was delicious, but they have a huge menu of world cuisine. The service was perfect. In fact, all of the staff members were impeccably polite and helpful. Winarno, the new general manager, was professional, friendly and very interested in ensuring we had a nice trip.

We're happy to share tips on getting there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TypingMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed for 4 days, pre-booked deluxe room with 3x dive trip package through the general manager, Pak Winarno who responded our queries very quickly. The service from arrival to departure are top notch, everything was well organized. Our dive master, Pak Amir is fantastic and has a very good eye to spot weird fishes during our diving trips. He also took good care for us, specially when we informed that we haven't been diving for 2 years. On the third day we went for dolphin watching and the crew really make an effort to find us group of dolphins. The restaurant serves western and indonesian food, we choosed grilled fish couple of times which was nicely cooked. Indeed the serving time tooks minimum half an hour, but we are at a remote island where things go slowly, so we just relax and manage our expectation. On the last day we have actually called the restaurant from our room and asked for grilled lobster to be prepared and ready for us when we get to the restaurant. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and looking forward to return to Patuno Resort Wakatobi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yulien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This resort has a superb location for beach lovers, divers, snorkelers. However, the hotel doesn't function very well. During our five-day stay, the restaurant was frequently out of many foods, sometimes did not have cold beer, and generally could not serve meals within a reasonable period of time. Given that there are no other eating options, this is a significant problem. The huge Executive rooms, while impressive, are poorly designed. There is no separation between the main room and the bathroom, the enormous bathtub requires 30 minutes to fill, and the a/c is not sufficient to cool the room. Diving is expensive, but the diving and dive sites are good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlmatyDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I spent last christmas holiday in patuno resort with my family. The service was good though the management of the staff was a little bit uncoordinated.
We booked 2 rooms and planned to have a diving and snorkeling trip so we wanted to arrange it with mr. Fajar beforehand. He told us that it would be better to book it on the day we arrive at patuno. So we arrived on 28th december and the staff picked us up from the airport. We searched for mr. Fajar but he was unavailable at that time so we arranged our schedule with another staff. We thought everything was fine and done. Short story, we were not told that we must book and arrange the diving trip at the dive center with mr. Iwan so our diving was nearly cancelled. they had only 2 boats and they were both fully booked. they then informed us that we should have booked before the arrival. *Duh* The staff was terribly lacked in communication so we were confused and transferred back and forth. We complained about the misinformation and the mess in our trip and fortunately the manager was able to solve it nicely. Finally *whew* we got the diving trip we wanted and everything else. A little bit of advice, you better book everything before your arrival at patuno.

Beside that incident, everything ran out smoothly. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It was my first time diving and the experience was exquisite. The ocean was wonderful, my family and i had a great time. The deluxe rooms were clean. The bathrooms were spacious and clean. The restaurant had lots variety of menus and you can order lobsters for cheap price. The food was quite good. I'd like to recommend mr.samsul as your diving guide for locals (i don't think he speaks much english but you can give it a go). He was totally friendly and experienced. you can communicate what you need and he would care and seek a way to fill it. Overall, it was a great experience in wakatobi and patuno resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ndreangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wangi Wangi Island
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Al Azizah Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wangi Wangi Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Kadidiri Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
#10 of 35 in Raja Ampat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#2 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patuno Resort Wakatobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patuno Resort Wakatobi

Property: Patuno Resort Wakatobi
Address: Jl. Raya Patuno | Wangi-Wangi, South East Sulawesi 93791, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South East Sulawesi > Wakatobi > Wangi Wangi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wangi Wangi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Patuno Resort Wakatobi 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patuno Resort Wakatobi is the Wakatobi's most accessible FOUR STAR Resort, situated only a 10 minute drive from the Matahora Airport in Wangi-Wangi. The Wakatobi National Marine Park encompasses over 12 thousand hectares of protected marine park and is made up of four main islands; Wangi-Wangi, Kaledupa, Tomia and Binongko. Patuno Resort stretches along a long white sandy beach which is ideal for sunbathing on, snorkeling from, strolling along, or organizing an impromptu barbecue on. A long barrier reef in front of this resort offers great diving and snorkeling opportunities. The breathtaking overhangs and steep walls of colorful corals are teaming with schooling pelagic fish and hammerhead sharks have recently been spotted here too. The resort is designed with natural building materials such as bamboo, teak wood, coconut wood, rattan and palm leaves, adding to the natural ambiance of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Patuno Resort Wakatobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patuno Resort Wakatobi Hotel Wangi Wangi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing