We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Calm and secluded setting”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sales De Llierca, Province of Girona, Catalonia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
fridafry2...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Calm and secluded setting”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week here and were extremely happy with the location and the property itself - so much so that we have booked to stay here again in the near future. Although there are three rental apartments in this old farmhouse, each has its own private terrace (Oak's is by far the biggest!) and entrance so the air of seclusion is maintained.

The three bedrooms are spacious, as are the lounge and dining areas, and six people could easily occupy Oak without feeling crowded. We were just one couple, so very lucky to have all this space to ourselves, but I should imagine a dishwasher would be pretty much a necessity if self-catering for six or more people.

The owners, whom we did not meet as they were on holiday, were very flexible about the timing of our visit, arrangements for our arrival and the means of payment and they responded fully and promptly to our numerous pre-visit queries.

There is a lovely little herb garden so fresh supplies were on hand.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquil setting
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2014
Thanks for your review and taking the time out. Installing dishwashers where on our to do list and they are now in all the apartments. Washing dishes while on holiday just doesn't sound like fun!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, seclusion, authenticity
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2014
Thanks for the review! Yes we are located directly in the protected region of the Alta Garrotxa so there is some nice nature to be enjoyed just on the doorstep of Can Cruanyes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sulman
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 for a stay in June 2012

We were disappointed in Can Cruanyes, The location is lovely, heading into the mountains in Catalonia, and the old, stone house is very attractive on approach from the drive. Facilities include a swimming pool, with a shaded seating area and a big, grassy area for ball games and for younger children, there is a sand pit and swing. Unfortunately the table tennis table which the owner confirmed to me was there prior to me making my booking, was nowhere to be seen for the duration of our holiday, which was disappointing for our teenage sons. When I asked about the absence of the table tennis table the owner advised that it had been broken by previous guests the week before we arrived. I feel that if I owned a holiday business and had paying guests coming and knew that they had specifically asked for a table tennis table and I had confirmed that I would provide one then I would have ensured that I had obtained a replacement in time for their arrival, or at least for a time during their stay. It is simply good customer service.

The accommodation itself has so much potential to be a top notch holiday rental, but unfortunately it was let down by easily rectifiable mistakes. The apartment we rented was very quaint, on the lower ground floor of the building. It had a nice, tiled large patio with a table, chairs and parasol and on entering the building there is a very attractive room with a curved ceiling which comprises the kitchen/diner/living area. Whilst an attractive shape, the paint on the ceiling was peeling here and there which was rather unsightly and slightly surprising as we visited in the early part of the season, and would have assumed that such maintenance would have been taken care of in the low season in preparation for summer visitors. Furthermore, there was a slightly musty smell which we assumed was perhaps because the apartment had been closed up for a few days, but the smell lingered during our stay and we came to the conclusion that the removable seat covers on the dining chairs and sofas in the lounge area were simply in need of laundering. Another simple housekeeping issue. The kitchen was fairly well kitted out in terms of equipment, but many of the dining plates and bowls were chipped which wasn't nice and again could have been easily rectified. There are three bedrooms, one en-suite and one shower room. The tiling grout in both the en-suite and the shower room was black in several places, and the plaster on the ceiling in the shower room was peeling badly. The shower tray in the en-suite also seemed to leak somehow, so the floor was always covered with a few millimetres of water after every shower. Again, all easily rectifiable housekeeping issues, and issues that should have been dealt with prior to the summer season.

I discussed these issues with the owner on the day of departure and he said he would take them on board. If he has rectified these issues, then as I said, Can Cruanyes has the potential to be lovely holiday rental and I would recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shabby bathrooms, chipped crockery, musty smell
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2013
We were obviously very disappointed when we received Sulman's review and of course very sorry that Can Cruanyes didn't meet the standards she was expecting. Regarding the table tennis, when it broke we immediately ordered a new one online but was only delivered after she left. We realise that the table tennis was meant to be a big hightlight for her family while here and can understand the upset was caused.

We are constantly maintaining / upgrading our 3 apartments and grounds here and have noted all the things said in the above review. Finally we would like to thank Sulman for her feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 20, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2014
Thanks for the review and see you again hopefully.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
zhenya1
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Really-really good!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed there for a week and enjoyed every day of it. The owners are very friendly and offer helpful advice from where to shop to what places to visit. There is so much to do there: you can have a barbeque, splash in the swimming pool, play volleyball, go walking in the mountains, drive to various places of interest or simply relax outside drinking spanish wine. We travelled with young child so the owners kindly provided us with cot/highchair at no extra costs, there also have swings and sandpit there. The air around the property feels so clean - it is simply perfect location for quiet family getaway. The only disatvantage I would say is inability to access Internet via iPhones because of the location. Also, electrics went off twice at the property. But it didn't really spoil our holidays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the mountains
Liked least: unavailability of internet via iphone
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2014
Thanks for the review. Since your stay accessibility to the internet has improved greatly and you can connect now from all devices. The electricity was a pre planned cut off for a few hours by the local energy company. It was unfortunate it was during your stay particularly as you had a baby. Sorry about that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzdal777
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best place I`ve been”
Reviewed May 7, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

despite we arived late at 01.00 we were nicely greeted by housekeeper, the place inside is like a pure vintage fantasy, and the environment around is amazing; perfect place to relax or to work online in isolation; recommended AAA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nature
Liked least: no additional service, like breakfest, vine to buy
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2014
I'm sure you have been to some great places but thanks for the comments anyhow!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith987...
Sant Cugat
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Todo, imposible escoger
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
Muchas Gracias!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing