We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Room in a Perfect Location”
Review of Bougainvilla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bougainvilla Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Clifton B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable Room in a Perfect Location”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Bougainvilla is a great hotel located next to Clifton, Union Island's main village. Despite the few negative comments - I must say the rooms are very nicely decorated and comfortable. I've stayed several times and loved it ! The rooms have A/C which really make a difference on extra hot days and nights !
If you are coming to Union Island to kitesurf, it is only a short walk from the kitebeach making it extremely practical ! Even if you don't kite, head to the kite beach at JT Pro Center where you can see kiters and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Pure Paradise!!
The hotel has it's own restaurant which serves nice food and worth a visit. Nearby you can find many excellent restaurants to try out too.
I definitely recommend staying here if you visit Union. It is safe, perfectly located and the staff are happy to help with whatever you may need ! Will be back again and again !

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are best !! If you want one with a kitchen, make sure to ask !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZSJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
3
46
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our suite overlooked a graveyard and a scrubby bit of land.
The smell outside on the balcony was like sewage and there was a strong smell from the kitchens.
Dirty dusty rooms with cobwebs on the bedside lamps.
On the plus side lovely reception staff who went out of their way to provide an hair dryer by sending a taxi to their home to bring one to us.
$120 US a night which I thought was a little steep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayed2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clifton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went to the restaurant for dinner. The food was really delicious. Especially the pumpkin soup and lobster pasta. Really good fruit punches. Nice decor and relaxing seating. Only letdown was the staff that seemed to lack communication skills and people skills when it came to being welcoming and service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is the worst hotel you can imagine. I can't believe that I paid for my room! I was there with my family in July 2012. Here are the problems: 1.)The room smelled like a toilet. They said they needed to change the toliet water (I have never heard of this before) but they never did it. You had to hold your breath when you were in the bathroom and the sitting room. 2.) The "view" from the terrace/balcony is a graveyard and empty area with overgrown weeds everywhere. There are so many mosquitos that you can't open the door to go out there but who would want to look at weeds and two graves anyway? 3. The room was supposed to be air conditioned but only the bedroom area was. The stinky sitting room and bathroom had no air conditioners. 4. The sheets were dirty. 5. There was a small kitchen but it was not operational and just looked like a mess. Funny enough, the attached restaurant (L'aquarium) was really good. I would recommend the restaurant for those on a boat because you certainly don't want to stay at the hotel. (By the way, the hotel next door -- Anchorage Yacht Club -- is very rundown and I wouldn't stay there either. Frankly, I think you should skip Union Island all together unless you're on a boat and can eat at L'aquarium.

Room Tip: There is no good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
0.8 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Clifton Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
12 reviews
2305.7 mi away
Kings Landing Hotel
Kings Landing Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clifton
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
9.2 mi away
Hotel Laurena
Hotel Laurena
#3 of 3 in Carriacou Island
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvilla Hotel

Property: Bougainvilla Hotel
Address: | Union Island, Clifton VC0470, Union Island
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Union Island > Clifton
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bougainvilla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bougainvilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvilla Hotel Union Island/Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing