We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real Gothic hotel, with the biggest room I have ever seen, and nice ghotic activities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kapitany Wellness & Conference
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sumeg
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real Gothic hotel, with the biggest room I have ever seen, and nice ghotic activities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Once upon a time, not so far from the lake balaton, the top of a hill, standing a big gothic castle. The captain of the castle get support for the castle renovation. When he finished the renovation, resolv to build a ghotic theme hotel near from the castle. And he did it. We spend 2 nigthts in this excellent theme hotel. 40 sqm room, nice furniture, good meal, gothic suited staff, nice spa.( indoor and outdoor pools, sauna world, jacuzzi, children slide). When you are siting in the indoor pool, you can see the castle. The price contains a ghotic show ( horses, troopers, knights,kings and princess. And after the joust, in a big ghotic vault we can spend a real ghotic supper. Meats, wines, spirits, and no table ware. You must use your hands, as the middle age. And the hotel price contains free ticket to the castle. There is many actor, who lives like the midle ages. There is a witch with python, knights, wizzards, ghotic suits everywhere. I recommend this hotel so much. The big room, the ghotic suited friendly staff, the good spa, the super activities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bence77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    51
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
66
49
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel looks like a fortier so it really suits the location, with Sümeg castle in the background.
The hotel rooms were nice, atmosphere gave back the "castle feeling" with comfortable bed and big bathroom.

There was free internet on a public computer!

The wellness was quite nice, although in September it was not warm enough to swim in outdoor pools - as they were not heated.

The choice in the restaurant was nice and tasty.

The "Knight program" with horses and nights was a great performance, and eating with hands at the dinner was nice experience :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunakeszi, Hungary
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent 4 days in the hotel with my 4 y old son and we enjoyed it very much. The whole hotel (room, restaurant, etc.) and also the pools are very nice and clean. The staff is also really helpful except some waitress from restaurant.
The saunas was also ok (could be bigger) except the cold pool where sometimes the water was not clean and fresh enough for my expectations. The only thing I missed some staff around the pool area who could make some order in the swimming pools, as for example sometimes in the children's pool there were more adults lying in the small water than children, and also when some older child gone "mad" between the smaller ones...
One more comment: it was really disturbing during our first night (Saturday) when we have to listen the hotel's singer till midnight - he was very loud and not so talented, and we could hear him through the closed door....
Summarized we enjoyed our holiday and the holiday very much, so thank you, and we will go back! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feketeszeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I strongly recommend this place for families with children under 10 yrs! Weather doesn't matter, there are nice pools inside and outside also. The food is very tasty, nice rooms, kind staff. Important: there is no room service, or they hide it very well. But you may not miss it. Interesting programmes for children in the castle and around! This is how it is much more than a simple wellness hotel.

Room Tip: It worths to pay the price for the rooms with balcony and castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Hotel is newly built under wonderfull castle berg.
Generally we were satisfied with our stay, but we did not like many small details which should not happend in a 4* hotel, like there was no information brochure in the room on hotel services / holiday tips, the minibar was not refilled the next day, and the biggest embarassment came one morning when we went for breakfast early at 7.30, and the breakfast buffet was not ready! And normally should be served from 7.00 - we had to wait until 7.45 until the buffet was ready.
I hope these are only "beginner mistakes" - the hotel is new and has a very good capacity and options to become an excellent hotel.
Otherwise the room was very nice, big, we had a castle view - but we paid for this view extra 11 Eur a night.
On Saturday evening there was a horse / knight show with dinner in big cellar restaurant, with gypsy band playing, what was very nice. We stayed in the hotel during Easter, and hotel had plenty Easter activities for kids, so hotel is definitely family oriented.
The wellness area could have been bigger, especially when hotel is called "Kapitany wellness hotel". The sauna area with 4 small (2-3 people capacity) saunas is not enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

I spent a weekend in this hotel and found it pretty nice. It is very close to the old castle of Sümeg and the hotel's concept is built around the castle/kinights idea. There is a wellness center with pool and a huge wine cellar style restaurant (with horse+knights show for kids mainly...). The hotel's rooms are large, and clean but the decor is nothing special. Breakfast is nice and generous. I think this hotel and the area is more interesting for families with kids.

Room Tip: rooms with view at castle are nicer than the ones facing the road and parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andras J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

This is a very nice, comfortable, high quality, newly built hotel. From outside it is like a castle. We received a really spacious room with view to the Castle of Sumeg which is beautiful. The breakfast was OK but a bit boring after a few days, but the dinner was always different and really delicious. The drink prices in the hotel are a bit high, but the waiters are gentle and fast. The pool is nice, could be bigger but when we were there the hotel was under construction so it's gonna be bigger. We had a wonderful vacancy here and we loved this hotel, so I can recommend it to everybody!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaddemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sumeg
15.3 mi away
Wellness Hotel Katalin
Wellness Hotel Katalin
#1 of 1 in Gyenesdias
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
24.0 mi away
Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa
15.5 mi away
Kolping Hotel
Kolping Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alsopahok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Sarvar Resort & Spa
10.2 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Pelion
Hunguest Hotel Pelion
#1 of 2 in Tapolca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#2 of 2 in Tapolca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kapitany Wellness & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kapitany Wellness & Conference

Property: Hotel Kapitany Wellness & Conference
Address: Toth Tivadar utca 19, Sumeg 8330, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Sumeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sumeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kapitany Wellness & Conference 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kapitany**** Wellness and Conference was opened in 2005 and it was built in the town of Sumeg, at the foot of the seven hundred years old Castle Sumeg. This is the place where 4-star quality is complemented by 5-star service. We offer exceptional services and a friendly and relaxing atmosphere to our guests. Our hotel built in historical surrounding offers a modern bath recalling the atmosphere of the Magical East, exceptional wellness services, traditional and lean cuisine and all year round a wide range of entertainment programs ensuring the luxury of peace and quiet and refreshment. The beautiful and tranquil natural environment surrounding the facilities offer excellent recreation and a journey back in time to enjoy the everyday life of the Middle Ages. The design and setup of the 4-star rooms offered by Hotel Kapitany**** Wellness and Conference reflect the spirit of the historical age in style. Most rooms come with a balcony with stunning views of Castle Sumeg guarding the town located at the foot of the Castle. Our hotel offers 154 air-conditioned rooms and suites with telephone, internet connection and television. Our bathrooms are equipped with bathrobes and hairdryer. The hotel's Wellness & Beauty department offers a swimming pool, wellness pools, children's pools, Jacuzzi, dip pool, outdoor pools, a Sauna Island with Infrared sauna, Finnish sauna, soft sauna, steam chamber and also a Techno Gym (cardio and workout equipment) ensuring the relaxation of the guests. If you wish to relax your body and mind choose a bath treatment, massage, facial or body treatment providing you with a guaranteed visual experience and ensuring a refreshing experience for your body and mind. In the year 2011 we also added an experience pool with a surface of 100 m2 equipped with various aquatic pampering elements, Jacuzzi and children's pool with a water slide. Our fully-equipped conference halls, with the Ball Room, which was opened in 2011 are able to accommodate up to 1000 people. Choose our hotel for the venue of your company event and write a poem to the Constable's Daughter or organise an agility competition for your employees and bosses and participate at archery games, battle star-war axe throwing competitions as part of a medieval team building training. The Historical Tournaments, a unique event to Hungary, is taking place just 400 metres away from our hotel, directly at the foot of Castle Sumeg in the Knight's Arena or in the indoor Historical Event Hall. This event is a tribute to the border castle heroes lost in the past. The fascinating event starts with a Spanish Riding School performance followed by an agility weapon show presented by knights (archery, battle star-, war axe throwing and jousting). The horsemen tournament and on the ground battle (using swords, shields, maces, jousts, etc.) is definitely the highest point of the entertainment program, which is followed by a Medieval feast, where according to the traditions of the historical age no cutlery is used. If you wish to leave the greyness of everyday life just for a few days or if you need relaxation and refreshment, visit our hotel because we are awaiting you with a new experience every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kapitany Wellness & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing