We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for new parents”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caserio del Mirador
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for new parents”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Just back from a long weekend at Casiero del Mirador with hubby and little one (18 months) and did not want to return. I can’t praise the hotel and owners (Sarah and Johnny) enough; it was just so so easy it actually felt like a holiday. I’ve been a bit torn writing this review between wanting to shout from the roof tops (as it rightly deserves) or keeping it my little secret so it doesn’t get too busy! In all seriousness, if you’re in any doubts at all about booking this hopefully this review will put you straight.

So, I travel A LOT and have travelled all over the world by a variety of means. I would consider myself well-travelled & I even work in the travel industry, but for some reason travelling abroad with a baby/toddler just brought me out in a rash. It was only as hubs had to go away for business that we decided to make a long weekend of it. Any fears I had about being away were banished the moment we arrived at the hotel and the whole break just got better.

Cdm is located about 1.5 hours from Alicante and the journey in the hire car was really easy – tip, allow time and a bit of frustration fitting your hire car seat. Recommend bringing your own if possible. Once of the main roads, you head through a few small towns and villages, then up a hill to Cdm. Follow the signs to the Donkey Sanctuary and you’ll be fine.

Accommodation is in one of 5 apartments all part of the one big house. The apartments all have their own private entrance, living space, bathroom, cooking area and outside area (terrace & 1 with balcony). They do feel incredibly private despite all being part of the one house and actually being part of the one house is nice as you don’t feel like you’re stuck out on a limb.

We had a lovely 1 bed apartment, which had everything that we needed – cot, highchair, changing mat, nappies, wipes, baby monitor. DS was kept happy with a box of toys (owners think ahead and provide stuff that is just the right level) hubbie was happy with the wi-fi and I was happy with the view! There is a little hob, & fridge and you’re greeted with a welcome pack full of tea, coffee, wheat-a-bix, bread, biscuits and the fridge has proper milk in it. That’s really all you need worry about, because other meals come provided by Sarah the owner – who popped down shortly after we arrived with dinner and wine. Including a special toddler meal for DS. What’s not to like??

Next day we were greeted with fresh croissants and as we ate breakfast we regretted not booking for longer. We spent that day mooching around the grounds admiring the views, DS enjoyed the ride-on toys and the climbing frame and swing. Oh and feeding the resident pigs and goats was a big highlight! There is a lovely shared pool at the hotel and plenty of space to catch some sun – alas in Feb it was a tad too chilly!

Dinner on our second night was a communal job with the other guests, which actually works really well. After DS had his supper with the other kids (I’ve never see him tuck in so well) we popped him to bed & just walked up stairs for our dinner and perhaps a little too much wine. You can choose to have your meals delivered which if I was there for a week I probably would do once – who say’s romance is dead! Two nights a week the kitchen is closed, which is a great excuse to head down to the local restaurants


Next day we wanted to head out to the beach so Sarah and Johnny made sure we were armed with a map and recommendations on where to eat, and a basket with beach mat, buckets, spades, ball etc, I think there was even some sun screen packed for us! It was probably about 30/40 minutes to a beach. Lovely family friendly beach with restaurants right on the promenade, little play areas and then sand – no roads to cross. Again the drive there was super easy and fab lunch too.

I would absolutely recommend this property to anyone travelling with babies or toddlers. I really can’t think of a nicer place to spend some time. It’s like going to stay with very good friends: everything you need is there & the owners are great company (but don’t follow you around). As parents themselves they know what you’re going through and didn’t bat an eye-lid when food flying from DS plate across the floor, or he hit one of his tantrums – in fact, I think they just filled up my wine! Everything you need is there – buggies, back-packs, monitors, toys, high chairs etc & if they don’t have it or you’ve got some random requests, they’ll sort it out for you.

When DS was 6 months we stayed at Center Parcs, which was lovely and also v baby friendly, but this felt much more like a holiday, for reasons I can’t quite put my finger on. I think it was something to do with the Mediterranean way of life, the sun, the fact that we were “away” from the UK whatever it was, we loved it and we’ve already booked to go back for a week this summer.

Room Tip: Email sarah and she will sort you out with the best room for your family
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bellski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Caserio del Mirador (www.villajalon.com) sells itself as a baby friendly holiday which we found via the appropriately named website, Baby Friendly Boltholes (http://www.babyfriendlyboltholes.co.uk/) and it certainly lives up to its reputation. My husband and I along with our 21 month old son had a fantastic two week break (August 2010) and would not hesitate to recommend it for young families seeking a relaxing holiday where everyone’s needs - children and adults - are catered for.

Set in the mountains, an hours drive from Alicante airport (nice cheap easyjet flights from Gatwick) it is a beautiful location nestled amongst olive and almond groves and not much else. The remoteness of the location means kids can roam freely from the pool to the trampoline to see the horses, goats or rabbits without the fear of passing cars yet it is only a 7 minute drive to the nearest bar/restaurant/supermarket and 25 minutes to our favourite beach ( Calpe ).

Although you are not smack bang in the middle of a holiday resort, so a car is a must have, there are plenty of things to do both on and offsite. Onsite activities are mainly relaxing for the adults and swimming, playing in the sandpit/trampoline/playground/ping pong table or feeding the animals for the little ones. Within a 25-45 minute drive there are a number of lovely beaches, some nice little towns to visit (Moraira and Altea) or bigger more touristy cities (such as Denia or Benidorm), Aqualandia - a fantastic waterpark suitable for all ages from walking onwards, a funfair in the evenings (most suitable for ages 1 – 8), waterfalls and even a few mountains to climb!

The owners, Sarah and Johnny along with their children Poppy, Florence and Charlie give you just the right mixture of presence and privacy and the Robinson family are a big part in what makes this such a friendly and relaxed holiday. Sarah (the cooking) and Johnny (the drinks pouring/local history knowledge) cater for guests - kids and adults separately - each night (except Mondays and Wednesdays) and as someone who loves food I was happily impressed with the quality of both the ingredients and the cooking and, whilst all of it had a Spanish influence, there was enough variety to not get bored of eating there every night. In fact, my husband and I didn't even take advantage of the babysitting service, as we would usually, to go out for dinner. Dinners are served communally on the upstairs terrace (within baby monitor distance) or privately on your own terrace, although we ate communally both with guests and with Sarah and Johnny as it was such a nice event and a lovely relaxing evening - especially being able to stumble 5 metres to bed after all the beer, wine and desert wine served every night!

Kids teas were a nice event each evening with kids being fed a range of foods and any special requests - early feeding, fussy eating - were catered for alongside a glass of beer/wine for the parents.

Our apartment (Nina) was a large one bedroom with room for a cot or toddler bed and a small kitchen. A small TV is in the living area which sporadically picked up UK channels and in any case there were enough to keep our son entertained while we had a lie in. There was no bath but a large bucket/bowl is provided which is not ideal but fine for a holiday (and big enough for our son to sit in). Great power shower! Although this is a self catering holiday the apartments are cleaned every other day which is lovely to come back to and towels/sheets etc changed after a week if you are staying on.

The outside areas of the property are well kept, the pool is well maintained, sunloungers are freely available and there were the most comfortable outdoor sofas (perfect for a glass of wine and a book after kids are in bed!). There is an honesty bar with soft drinks, beer, wine and ice creams by the pool. There is no need to bring your own toys, books, inflatables, parasols, beach blankets/towels, buckets/spades etc as there is a communal area to borrow these and a really good selection to choose from. There is a ping pong table onsite which was a fun alternative to the pool and beauty treatments are available on site once a week.

If it all sounds good, that’s because it really was and we look forward to returning to Caserio del Mirador soon.

http://chocorangecitymum.com/2012/02/16/caserio-del-mirador-review/

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChocOrangeCityMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Throughout the holiday we were so well looked after by the owners. Everything has been thought out so carefully to make sure that children are entertained and happy and as a result parents can relax and recharge their batteries. From the basket of toys and books in the apartment when you arrive, suitable for your child's age, to the daily communal kids' supper served early evening - chicken, pasta, vegetables for example - and a beer for parents. Caserio del Mirador is a beautiful place, the food is delicious, but it's the people who run it who really make the holiday special. We've been twice and are looking forward to a third visit. I recommend it greatly.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I would echo the positive reviews below. We had a fantastic holiday here in mid-September with our very active 15 month old, who absolutely loved it. The whole place is designed to make a holiday with children as relaxing and stress-free as possible. Sarah and Jonny provide cots and high-chairs and stock the apartment full of toys for the age of your child. You can also order in advance a welcome pack of things your child likes, such a weetabix and yoghurts and the right size of nappies, so there is no need to rush off to the supermarket straight away.
The baby-tea cooked by Sarah is perfect for the kids, offers a nice environment for the parents to share a beer or a glass of wine and, most importantly, means you don't spend each of night of your holiday scrubbing the floor after food has been flung everywhere!
There are loads of toys and inflatables for the kids to play with around the pool and lots of very well-thought out touches, such a plug sockets outside so you can plug in baby-monitors while sun-bathing. There a slides, swings and a huge trampoline, which our little boy loved, and pigs, goats, rabbits and horses for the kids to stroke and sometimes feed.
The apartments themselves are very nicely done. We had the smallest one, Nina, which was absolutely fine for the three of us. We had a nose around the others on the last day as they were being cleaned and some of the others are huge.
In the evening, you can cook for yourself, go out to a local restaurant (baby-sitting is available) or, on five of the seven nights, eat a fantastic Spanish meal cooked by Sarah. We had three meals outside on our terrace by ourselves and 2 upstairs with all the other couples, which was a lot of fun. On the Thursday night, Sarah and Jonny stayed up with us until the small hours, although I suffered for that the next day. It is great having someone else cook wonderful food for you while knowing your child is sleeping soundly just a few metres away.
In terms of location, you definitely need to hire a car as the place is up in the hills. We went to Valencia (about 90 mins drive) one day and the beach at Arenal (about 45 mins drive) for another day, but were generally very happy pottering around the pool most days. Some days we made ourselves lunch and others we asked Sarah to rustle something for us (you chalk up what meals you want on a blackboard each morning) and it was always delicious.
We generally don't go to the same holiday destination twice but may be persuaded to make an exception this time. Would very strongly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We recently stayed at this beautiful place in the hills above Jalon. With a 15-month old baby, we found little there that would induce stress and in fact, spent seven glorious days relaxing, reading, eating well and going for (very short) walks punctuated with spells of monkeying around the pool. This is a very, very nice place to visit and Johnny and Sarah are great hosts. In between cooking for the kids and the adults, Sarah found time to train the horse and feed the other animals. One guest remarked that perhaps on her quieter days, she also fights crime in Valencia.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We spent a wonderful week with Sarah and Johnny in their incredible house enjoying the most amazing views. Our apartment was great, spotless, really comfortable and stylish and filled with toys and books suitable for our children's ages. The pool is heavenly and there are lots of wonderful places to escape to to curl up with a book while the kids roam free.

Sarah's cooking is divine - and it's a truly wonderful thing to be able to feed the kids in the evening, put them to bed and then have a fabulous meal brought to you on your terrace. No babysitters, no listening, no worries (and no washing up). A proper holiday. We loved it.

Sarah and Johnny's hospitality even continued after we'd left their place as they sweetly set us up with all the kit we'd need for a day at the beach with the kids, on our way to Valencia - going out of their way to make our holiday as hassle free as possible.

A cheap week away it's not, but if you want to invest in a proper wind down and to come home really relaxed, Caserio del Mirador is perfect. Everything a holiday should be.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceaupheee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed here in July this year (2011) and also August 2010, breaking our 'never go back to the same place twice' rule - and doing it one year after the other, no less. We found this place after an extensive trawl through the travel websites for something that would suit a family of three, wanting other people around but solace if we felt like being quiet. We looked for a communal pool (tick), other children for our only child to play with (tick), a quiet setting, beaches not too far and a whiff of a White Fluffy Towel experience (tick, tick, tick).

The Robinsons have created a holiday paradise from a sprawling but picturesque complex, putting their family home on the top floors and five self-catering rental apartments below. Rooms come with small kitchens, a welcome basket and the option of dining in or out. Sarah cooks local recipes including paella and tapas, and she also turns out yummy kids' meals (both Spanish and international), lining up the high chairs beneath a big awning at 6pm-ish. Parents can enjoy feeding time in the company of other mums and dads, and most importantly with a glass of wine in hand.

On both trips we alternated spending relaxing days by the pool (don't miss the beauty therapist who is on hand once a week to tickle your toes) and venturing out in the hire car (essential - you are in the mountains, which is the beauty of the place). Head one way and you are climbing winding roads en route to swimmable waterfalls; go the other and you're lining up for the water-slides at the mega splashparks in Benidorm, rubber ring in hand. We saw this as a good way of passing the time on our last day, enjoying the sun before our night flight from Alicante.

The beauty of this place is its laid-back charm. The children (and adults) are left to discover things in the extensive and well maintained grounds. There's a trampoline, swings, climbing frame, sandpit and plenty of animals: goats, pigs, a couple of adorable horses, some rabbits and three cats, at the last count. Sometimes guests can join in with feeding, but even if you don't manage that there is something about simply living with all the animals that's just very relaxing. We spent whole days listening out for the lazy tinkle of goat bells while enjoying cold beers or ice creams from the pool fridge (just fill in your tab on a slate).

Best of all our son could dip in and out of friendships as he chose. If you want to hole up with a book then find a quiet corner and do just that; Sarah provides a box of toys to cater for your children's ages. If you prefer to come out and chat then there's usually someone around.

This is one of the few places that we've returned to, and indecently quickly to boot. We just love it and can't recommend it highly enough. If you want tranquil days with beautiful views, a very friendly family running the place, other kids and adults to chat to, outstanding food and nice beaches around 40 minutes drive away, then this is the place for you.

Gorgeous!

Room Tip: The website gives useful information that helps you choose which room suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l0nd0nm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jalon
11.9 mi away
Ona Ogisaka Garden
Ona Ogisaka Garden
#11 of 34 in Denia
478 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel La Madrugada
Hotel La Madrugada
#1 of 5 in Benissa
69 reviews
2.9 mi away
Castell de la Solana
Castell de la Solana
#1 of 1 in Alcalali
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
1.9 mi away
Cuatre Finques
Cuatre Finques
#1 of 5 in Jalon
74 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casa de Pozo
Casa de Pozo
#2 of 3 in Jalon
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caserio del Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caserio del Mirador

Property: Caserio del Mirador
Address: Apartado 180 | Jalon / Xalo, 03727 Jalon, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Jalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Jalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Child friendly holidays in Spain- A country retreat with magnificent views to the Mediterranean. Discover one of the finest child friendly holiday destinations in Europe. Set amongst peaceful olive and almond terraces in rural Spain, Caserío del Mirador is ideally suited for child friendly, toddler friendly and baby friendly holidays. The family run country retreat is the creation of Johnny and Sarah Robinson and was inspired and influenced by their experience of their travels with and without children. It is a shared home, a place where people can relax and be together to give a warm and friendly atmosphere. The dramatic setting often makes an impact when guests first arrive, the terraces, gardens and grounds give a wonderful sense of space. There are lots of play areas for the children and pet animals to meet. The house is designed to have generous, comfortable family friendly accommodation, and the breathtaking views will give you a sense of magic the moment you arrive. We love Spain, the people, the food, the landscape, the Mediterranean and of course the beautiful weather. It is perfect for holidays with babies and toddlers and in the cooler months walking amongst what must be one of the most beautiful landscapes in Europe. We welcome you to Caserío del Mirador, where we hope you will discover for yourself why this is such a special place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Caserio del Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caserio Del Mirador Hotel Jalon
Caserio Del Mirador Spain/Jalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing