We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday we have ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caserio del Mirador
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best holiday we have ever had”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks last year with our 14 month old daughter.
Sarah and Johnny was the best hosts and looked after us very well - they were on hand to help/answer any of our requests.
The views from the apartments are spectacular and you feel like you are away from it all.
Sarah's cooking is great - and it was brilliant being able to put our daughter to bed and then relax out on the terrace with other guest whilst Sarah cooked us dinner.
We have never gone back to the same place twice - but we will here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyageLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Perhaps we were unfortunate that we were the only family staying that wasnt part of a wedding party, but we really felt like we were in the way. The day following the wedding my 7 year old daughter was playing by the pool and told by Sarah to "keep it down, people are sleeping", I mean come on! It is advertised that you can order dinner to have on your terrace, well we asked to have this on one evening. After the kids were in bed, so we could have a "romantic" evening.... At 21.30hrs we were summonsed to the communal area to have dinner with the wedding party....not what we had in mind!! At the end we were billed for the highchair and cot usage! We were so looking forward to our first family trip abroad, we worked hard to get there and were left feeling unwelcome and beneath our hosts. Never again!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sydskidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah R, Owner at Caserio del Mirador, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
The last correspondence we received from Sydskidney was a thank you email saying 'we really enjoyed our stay with you all and hope to visit again some day. thank you for everything' dated 10th September 2006 referring to your stay here 5 years ago!

We answer your points as follows:

1. Before accepting the booking, it was made clear the status of the wedding party and in hindsight it would have been better to suggest an alternative week. Any wedding or party now has to book the whole property to avoid this type of incompatibility the in future.
2. Clearly the reprimand around the pool has been upsetting and could have been dealt with in a more sensitive way. For this we are sorry. However, it is sometimes difficult finding the balance of spoiling the fun of an individual and disrupting the rest of guests. We have guidelines to help everyone enjoy their stay, there are times to let off steam and other times when people may be resting. Perhaps we made the wrong judgement this time.
3. Cots and highchairs, childrens robes and bedding, bibs beakers toys and teddies, books and puzzles are now provided free of charge
4. The event regarding your romantic evening was initiated by the wedding party who wanted you to join in their festivities. We are again sorry that this disrupted your evening.

It is surprising to receive this review 5 years after your visit, especially as your last correspondence was positive. However, we can see there were shortcomings and we have worked hard to avoid these situations and improve our guest experience. One issue you highlight is the general compatibility of guests, and this is something we pay a great deal of attention to, such as children’s ages, etc. so that guests can feel more at home with likeminded parents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We had a fab weeks holiday here. Sarah and Johnny are excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome. It was great for holidaying with a little one. We had our 17 month old son with us and he throughly enjoyed all the toys round the pool, the sandpit and visting the horses and goats on site. The apartment is well equipped with a cot, highchair, plastic plates and cups and toys etc. so we only needed to take the bare minimum with us. The location is beautiful and we loved sitting outside our apartment every evening with a view across the pool and the Jalon Valley whilst Sarah brought us a mouthwatering meal. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamieandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We booked last min for a long weekend at Caserio del Mirador and were so pleased we did! Even as a couple without kids we had a great time at this divine hotel. The location could not be bettered - set high up in the hills only about an hour from Alicante airport and just 30 mins from the sea.

Sarah and Johnny were charming hosts. On arrival at 11am in the morning it was only moments before we had a large jug of red wine and some cheese and chorizo to sedate us! The stress of the working week melted away and within half an hour we felt a world away from home.Sarah cooked for us the first night - delicious. And there is an honour bar should you need topping up.

The gardens are well kept and there is plenty of walking that can be done in the local area.

The apartment we had was clean, spacious, cool and well appointed. Even though the hotel was full with families, small children and babies we never heard a peep out of any of them and the whole weekend was restful, low key, relaxing, quiet and dare I say...romantic. When we booked we had no idea the hotel catered especiallty for families and children, we might not have got around to booking if we had opened our eyes and noticed this on the webiste. But we were so glad we went. Great retreat from the world.

Would love to hire the whole thing out!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulumcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed here for a week in June, based on reviews we had read on babyfriendlyboltholes website. Obviously we were concerned that we had never been to this area of spain before and the villa is located in quite a secluded spot. We need't have worried, we had such a lovely holiday. The accomodation was clean, spacious and toys were left for our little girl ( almost 3) to play with on arrival and were added to throughout the week. There were 4 other families staying and the fact that the children were in and around the same age made a great difference as they all had little friends to play with. There is a lovely swimming pool with sun loungers around it, a sandpit nearby, more toys outside for the children to play with. There are swings and slides, Trampoline, and numerous different animals/pets that the children can feed and generally torment !!
In the evening time, the children can all have their tea together which they love and it is is nice time for adults to have drink and a bit of chat.
Once the children are in bed, Sarah then cooks for the adults ( this can be a communal affair- Great for a bit of adult company but not so great for the head as although they say the wine is organic, its a false safety net because they dont tell you that it has to be consumed in moderation !!!). You can also have a meal outside your own appartment if you dont feel like joining the others. We were a tiny bit nervous about leaving our little girl but their are monitors and we checked on her regularly. It was a really nice part of the holiday to be able to have dinner with the others where the food is as good as any restaurant you will go to in the local area and very good value for money. The food was delicious.
There are plenty of places to visit nearby all within about 40 mins, some are prettier than others but nice to be able to go out for the afternoon or to go to a beach etc.
We have stayed in hotels previously with our daughter, and really it has been more stressful than relaxing, so Caerio del Mirador really is the best of both worlds, once the children are happy then it leads to a stress free environment, my husband commeneted that we had only spent 4 hours apart in the week and we had no major agruement !! so thats a plus in itself ! Also everyone looks out for each others children which really helps you to feel that they are ok.
I would highly recommend it for families with small children looking for somewhere off the beaten track away from high rise package holiday land. We loved it so much that we are hoping to go back next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBENDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Caserio del Mirador is a dream for kids who love cuddly and fluffy animals, there are rabbits, baby goats, ponies, a gorgeous cat and there's a pool of course, a trampoline and seesaws, slides and amazing views all the way to the ocean.

I think as a child I would have loved this and certainly all the kids I have met there did, how could you not. Johnny and Sarah are passionate about what they do and they love seeing the kids and their parents happy. Which means the adults have a great time too, from lazing by the pool and getting a massage to drinking organic wine and enjoying superb food while chatting to other families about the joys of having kids.

Truly a gem and I'd be happy to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filmingholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jalon
7.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
19.6 mi away
Servigroup Montiboli
Servigroup Montiboli
#1 of 5 in Villajoyosa
589 reviews
2.9 mi away
Castell de la Solana
Castell de la Solana
#1 of 1 in Alcalali
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel La Madrugada
Hotel La Madrugada
#1 of 5 in Benissa
67 reviews
13.5 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
1.9 mi away
Cuatre Finques
Cuatre Finques
#1 of 4 in Jalon
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caserio del Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caserio del Mirador

Property: Caserio del Mirador
Address: Apartado 180 | Jalon / Xalo, 03727 Jalon, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Jalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Jalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Child friendly holidays in Spain- A country retreat with magnificent views to the Mediterranean. Discover one of the finest child friendly holiday destinations in Europe. Set amongst peaceful olive and almond terraces in rural Spain, Caserío del Mirador is ideally suited for child friendly, toddler friendly and baby friendly holidays. The family run country retreat is the creation of Johnny and Sarah Robinson and was inspired and influenced by their experience of their travels with and without children. It is a shared home, a place where people can relax and be together to give a warm and friendly atmosphere. The dramatic setting often makes an impact when guests first arrive, the terraces, gardens and grounds give a wonderful sense of space. There are lots of play areas for the children and pet animals to meet. The house is designed to have generous, comfortable family friendly accommodation, and the breathtaking views will give you a sense of magic the moment you arrive. We love Spain, the people, the food, the landscape, the Mediterranean and of course the beautiful weather. It is perfect for holidays with babies and toddlers and in the cooler months walking amongst what must be one of the most beautiful landscapes in Europe. We welcome you to Caserío del Mirador, where we hope you will discover for yourself why this is such a special place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Caserio del Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caserio Del Mirador Hotel Jalon
Caserio Del Mirador Spain/Jalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing