We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Maintained Grandeur from the Ancients”

Temple of Hathor at Dendera
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Private Tour: Dendara from Luxor
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Qena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the 1st century BC by Ptolemy 8th and Queen Cleopatra 2nd, this ancient temple is one of the most intact in Egypt.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Well Maintained Grandeur from the Ancients”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Let me start by saying that the Temple of Hathor at Dendara is lacking in hawkers, aggressive guards, and has a peaceful garden. For tourists in Egypt, this means that a trip here will feel like you're going to a resort. You won't be beset by anyone trying to get you to buy souvenirs. The walk through the 'gauntlet' of souvenir vendors can be easily bypassed. In terms of experience, this is already going to be the best in Egypt.

However, inside the Temple is incredible. Well preserved and filled with wonders from those times. There's a minimum amount of vandalism, unlike other places such as the Luxor/Karnak temples, and not only is there a roof still, you can actually walk up the steps and come out on the 'second floor'.

Getting here without a group is hard, so you'll likely have to take a tour. But for the quality of both the history and the experience, it's a must see.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SoaringCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    18
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“The recent clean-up has revealed the best open-air murals in Upper Egypt”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This wonderfully preserved temple used to be best known for the image of Cleopatra VII and Ceasarion on its outer wall. These are still exquisite carvings but now there is the additional glory of the revealed murals in the hypostyle hall.
Very few trips take you here, as it is an hour north of Luxor, but there is a new road on the West Bank which makes the journey much easier. Do try and find a trip that gets you down here as it is well worth the half-day which it requires.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FriskyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Temple - different style”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We did this temple on the way back from Abydos on the way to Luxor.
Dendera temple is modern by egyptian times ( 3-400 BC )
The carvings are different with the characters almost seeming more indian or oriental. At the back of the tomb outside you can see Cleopatra. Inside you can see the Zodiac.

Dont miss the crypt if its open, its very small but you can see the famous Dendera light bulb.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrsbotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great color still visible”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This temple is a large complex with lots of rooms and reliefs both inside and out. Don't bother with the reflecting pool, you'll be disappointed by how unkempt it is.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank janfrommichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Highlight of my visit: Temple of Hathor at Dendera”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This Temple must be my all time favourite (perhaps along with Abydos! ) I’d visited Dendera 29 years ago and was thrilled to return. My daughter and I booked this trip through Love Egypt Tours and were accompanied by Mohamed our guide. It is preferable to have a one-to-one guide rather than book with your tour agent and end up in a group – it is also less expensive! We started our day with a visit to Abydos and then on to Dendera. Mohamed takes you back more than four thousand years and listening to him makes you really feel a part of that ancient history.
The Temple of Hathor is one of the best preserved temples in Egypt. When we arrived, only the guards were there, there were no other tourists until two arrived as we were leaving. Mohamed explained all the paintings and reliefs. The paintings and carvings in the inner rooms, the pillars with their original colours, are all breathtaking. The ceilings have been cleaned of the soot caused by the Romans having lived in the temples and cooked there. The Zodiac on one of the ceilings is amazing. The Pharaoh’s dressing room is so full of character, and really appealed to me.
Mohamed led us along corridors and up the worn ancient steps, the depth of the carvings on the walls makes you realise the work that had gone into them.
One of the highlights here was climbing down a shaft and finding that there was only a square opening that you had to crawl through, and you were in the crypt. A narrow passageway leading to a ‘T’ shape and the crypt is on both sides. The wall and ceiling carvings were amazing. How could workers achieve this great art in such a confined space! A truly beautiful experience, and one we look forward to repeating on a future trip. I can't rave enough about this Temple, as you can see from the number of photos. Not to be missed!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple of Hathor at Dendera also viewed

 
Dendera, Qena Governorate
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Temple of Hathor at Dendera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing