We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Musango Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I recently stayed at Musango as part of a 17 day African Adventure and this camp was our last stop before heading home. The experience was unlike any other and I am glad that we ended our holiday on such a high note. Steve and his staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome. The sunset cruises are a must! Fantastic food, hot showers and falling asleep with the lake waters lapping at your tent door - what could be better. Musango is a great place for both the romantics and the intrepid adventurers. If you are going to Zimbabwe, Lake Kariba and a stay at Musango is a must!

Room Tip: All rooms have a million dollar view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug6016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
45
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zimbabwe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We've just had the best time at Musango - thanks to Steve and Wendy and their great staff! They organised the most incredible evening for us! We were moored in the middle of a bay, surrounded by hippos and elephants and the stunning stars in the Kariba sky. A delicious 3 course meal accompanied by fine wine and champagne - all gently lit with fairy lights intertwined in mini baobab trees!..what an amazing way to start this life journey together. Steve is an incredibly knowledgeable host (he can mimic bird sounds better than an electronic bird book on the ipad!!!) and Wendy ensures that absolutely nothing is a problem.. what a pleasure!

Room Tip: All the rooms have stunning views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level Contributor
134 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Recently spent 3 nights at Musango. Steve Edwards (Owner) is a great guy and his staff follow in his footsteps. Very comfortable, excellent food and hospitality. Tiger Fish and Red-breasted Bream abound and you can enjoy both. My wife even caught a 4kg Tiger Fish!! Some good birding in the area and also game and a Fossil Site. So enjoyable we are going back for 5 days at Xmas.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, tents under thatch. Comfortable beds, bathroom and there is good hot water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

The Camp is located spectacularily on an island in Lake Kariba. This makes for a very romantic and in tuned with nature experience in itself. Everything is very quiet an pristinely set in the middle of nature. We were very well taken care of by Steve the host and his staff. Everyone is very knowledgeable and serious about guiding, tracking and serving their guests. The atmosphere was casual, relaxed like being invited into someones home, complete with very nice dinners and enlightning and honest discussions about Zimbabwe. Some of the highlights were lion tracking on foot and observing the fish eagles air diving for fish. Another very enlightning half a day was spent visiting a near by fishing vilage. It makes all the difference on Safari in Africa when you experience it with people who are pasionate about guiding, wildlife and their country. This is what you will find if you stay at Musango. Thanks! B&C from Germany

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Incredible ! Steve was inspirational and each and every one at Musango made two old ladies feel agile !! We were assisted off landrovers onto boats and received the most incredible welcome ,genuine hospitality and a truly wonderful four days.
Fishing was fascinating with personal instruction from Chrynos.
Sunset cruises watching the most spectacular sunsets and birds.
Musango is a magical island and would highly reccomend anyone to experience the expertise
that Steve and Wendy have achieved in this paradise
Thankyoul

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Never mind the honeymoon suite! When two over 70's from the U.K. arrived the staff must have heaved a sigh! but we could not have had better service - or game. (the birds are wonderful too!) The camp has an electric fence round it - so no hippos grunting outside your tent at night - though masses to see during the day. Lovely food served by friendly staff, VERY informed guides - especially the owner Steve - and Forrest. But a totally relaxed atmosphere - your wish is their command. There was a "slight hiccup" when the President grounded all of the aircraft - so it was quickly arranged that we should leave the camp and go to Kariba by speedboat! So, as rachel 5810 says - "excellence and high quality" If you want a "tented hotel" run by a large company this is not the place for you - but if you want a friendly family atmosphere that will share their ardent view of Africa - with plenty of game drives where you can stop for half an hour (or longer!) to just view the game i.e.a relaxed bull elephant having breakfast and washing the grass before he ate it (expalantion given by Steve) This is the camp for you

Room Tip: Lower numbers are nearer the hub of the camp
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penelope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

The family of staff at Musango know what it takes to host guests with a standard of excellence and high quality. My husband and I stayed in the honeymoon suite and enjoyed every minute of our safari experience. From the pebbled walkway to the delicious dinners under the stars every night (Angelo's favorite time of day)...Musango staff pay attention to the details involved in making every aspect of this adventure amazing. We thought we would see animals and we did but we've taken more than pictures away with us. Steve & Wendy made us feel like we were guests in their home and welcomed us into their Musango family.
In four days we did it all!!...Fishing out on the lake while watching the buffalo close-by on the shore, canoe trip to find the elephants and have a nice cold beer watching the beautiful sunset, game drive to track lions and having an up close encounter with a pride (thank you Conrad, we loved that adventure)!
No one can match the Musango experience!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachel5810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Kariba
20.8 mi away
Changa Safari Camp
Changa Safari Camp
#2 of 4 in Lake Kariba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zimre Lodge
Zimre Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Kariba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Amalinda
Camp Amalinda
#1 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Rhino Safari Camp
Rhino Safari Camp
#1 of 4 in Lake Kariba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Musango Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musango Safari Camp

Property: Musango Safari Camp
Address: Musango Island | Lake Kariba, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Lake Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lake Kariba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Musango Safari Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Lake Kariba situated just off the shoreline of the Matusadona National Park is Musango Safari Camp, an exclusive 16 bed, owner-run camp. Just a short flight away from Victoria Falls or Kariba, Musango offers an abundance of both wildlife and bird life, with a large selection of activities available, or the option to simply relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Musango Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing