We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dutchies at Rhino”
Review of Rhino Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhino Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A more than wonderfull experience, home away from home.
Warm, welcoming, beautiful and adventurous.
Exciting until the last moment.
We would definitely go again..
Amazing food. Splendid tours, wonderful walks.
Good laughs. Beautiful eli's.
All of the team at Rhino: thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms superb location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 166 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

this camp is a must for everybody, who is interested to see the animals and especially the birds around lake cariba. Our guide, Steve, is very well trained and he has a lot of excperience. So he is not fixed only on the "big five". He knows really every animal around and he can tell, how they are living. He was the best guide, I ever had in Africa.
An other highlight in the camp is the familiar athmospere. We had dinner together with everybody, living in the camp. Jenny and her daughter Megan were very pleasant hosts to us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernhard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed in Rhino camp for 3 days in august. What a stay is was! Rooms with great views on the lake and incredibe sunsets!
Hospitality beyond any imagination. Thanks Jenny and staff! Food was great too! Thanks to the chef
Thank you guide Andrew Smith (Young Andy for us) for not giving up until the last second tracking down lions. The big tuskers were great!

We would love to come back some day. Will recommend Rhino camp to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lookingforlions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had an amazing time at Rhino Island. Watching the sun set over the lake after a superb game drive with Steve - what can I say! The huts are great, as is the hospitality.
Would thoroughly recommend the whole experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were fortunate enough to be the only people staying at Rhino Safari Camp. And what a treat that was! We were even more fortunate to be guided every day by one of the part owners who knows that area remarkably well. We ate well and were made to feel at home; like part of the family. So lovely. Matusadona NP is an amazing place, and to have the facility to go on land or via the water makes it so much more versatile for safaris. We recommend this place hands down for a no-frills but superb safari.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vidi_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Huge thanks to the staff at Rhino Safari for a wonderful time away with our 4 New Zealand friends. Living in SA we have experienced game parks and lodges on many occasions but I would go back to Rhino Safari Camp tomorrow if I could. Our accommodation was suitably rustic. The outdoor ablutions and shower and open bedroom made you feel as though you really were in the "wild" but with all the comforts. Steve our guide was outstanding. His knowledge of the bush and generally was better than I have ever experienced and we saw a lot of game. Of course our NZ friends were blown away by the whole experience. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank medicinebuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Awesome experience! Up and close to the wildlife that frequent the safari camp including hippo, elephant, lion, leopard, etc. During one of our tours, we successfully tracked and observed a very rare (for north Zimbabwe) and endangered black rhino.

Truly a magical place!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are adjacent to Lake Kariba, so all of them provide an awesome view of the lake alo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Kariba
22.2 mi away
Lake Safari Lodge
Lake Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Siavonga
65 reviews
23.3 mi away
Eagles Rest
Eagles Rest
#1 of 6 in Siavonga
108 reviews
7.3 mi away
Musango Safari Camp
Musango Safari Camp
#3 of 4 in Lake Kariba
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Changa Safari Camp
Changa Safari Camp
#1 of 4 in Lake Kariba
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zimre Lodge
Zimre Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Kariba
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhino Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino Safari Camp

Address: Muuyu Island / Elephant Point | Matusadona National Park, 0000, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Lake Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lake Kariba
Price Range: $398 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhino Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An luxury rustic bush camp, situated within the Matusadona National Park on the shorelines of Lake Kariba. Guests are accommodated in seven twin bedded stilted wood and thatch chalets, each with its own en suite open air shower and flush toilet. Each chalet is on the edge of the jesse bush, facing the lake so they benefit from the cooling breeze from the water. It is not uncommon to have the wildlife walking in front and around the rooms, which allows for "close and personal" encounters with the game. Game viewing activities include drives, walks and tracking, and sunset cruises all in the company of a professional guide. For those guests who like to drop a line in the water, we also offer fishing for bream and the world renowned tiger fish, and Elephant Point is regarded as an excellent area to fish in. The Matusadona National Park is home to the Big Five, being lion, elephant, buffalo, leopard and the endangered black rhino as well as a host of smaller plains game and over 350 species of birds recorded in the area, making it a birders paradise. Rhino Safari Camp can be accessed by speed boat transfer from Kariba or from the nearby Kiplings/Rhokari and Bumi Hills airstrips. Meals are homestyle and freshly prepared at camp and meal times revolve around the game viewing needs of our guests. The guides and camp manager/owner host guests and offer them a relaxed homely environment in which to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the wilderness of the Matusadona National Park. We look forward to your visit....NO FENCES - PURE NATURE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rhino Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing