We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rhino Safari Camp
Nearby Hotels
Lyawa Lodge(Sinazongwe)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Musango Safari Camp(Lake Kariba)
$900
$746
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Relax Guest House(Southern Province)
$26
Priceline
View Deal
Tiger Bay Resort(Lake Kariba)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
151
18
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
18
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson footrhino safarifunny boymatusadona national parkafrican bushgame drivesopen airwhole experienceshores of lakeland roveroutdoor experienceexcellent staffkariba townhis knowledgefriendly placeunique atmospherehour boat trip
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 170 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2011

If you're a nervous traveller seeking carpeted luxury and air conditioning this is not for you. This is an authentic and rustic bush camp for those wanting to get really close to nature and who have the spirit of adventure and don't get terrified of sleeping on raised wooden decks under thatch but with no sides. You're near the waters edge of the most unique lake on earth and can relish the openess and literally lie on your bed and watch the elephants and other animals at close range.

Elephants and other animals - even lions and rhino on occasion - often impede your walk back to your room and you must be accompanied. The camp is owner managed and the delightful Jenny Nobes makes a huge difference to your stay. We were also privileged to have the legendary Spike Williamson as our guide.

I was with eight overseas colleagues on a nine-night safari that took in five locations and Rhino was their favorite. All are extremely well travelled and senior figures in the global tourism industry, well used to five star experiences and pampering. They wanted the real Africa and loved it. Rhino Camp is wild and wonderful but not for the feint hearted.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThamMpofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Recommended by former guests for our party of three friends for three nights, Rhino Camp proved to be a unique place that I will be raving about for a long time. In a remote location and with only seven huts, a small number of staff and owner Jenny on site, our stay was very personal. The huts are open to the breeze coming off the lake they overlooked, clean and tidy, and spaced apart enough to give privacy. A lounge area, bar and evening campfire provided alternate places to relax and each meal was delicious and fresh. The huts do not have electricity however staff can charge cameras/phones via solar power. Elephants stopped to graze right outside and impala and a hippo also visited the camp. I heartily recommend Rhino Camp for a relaxing safari experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samjay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The place is heavenly. A real gem. If u want to feel one with the animals and not like a tourist on safari, then this is the place. The treatment was 5 stars in a real bush camp.

Food. Well, I don't know how they do it, fresh rolls, fresh salad, and amazing cooking by the chef. We even caught our own fish and the chef served it for lunch.

Sleeping in the thatch room, elevated from the ground is fit for a romantic novel by hemingway. You are one with nature here, with comfortable beds, neat linens and great pillows.

Animals. We saw lots, I mean lots of elephants, impalas, birds, alligators. The big 5 are there. We even saw the a mother and father black rhino with there new borne.

Our guide was excellent. He was a real professional and the camp owner is always at the camp making sure everything is ticking impeccably. The staff are wonderful.

The safari car is absolutely the finest land rover u will see on safari. Comfortable and accessorized in south africa by real car enthusiasts. Its painted in army green, the seats are actually comfortable bench like with great cushioning so driving in the bush is almost as comfortable as sitting on a sofa. You are not on a zebra car and feel like a real explorer.

Overall, a safari to remember. A place where the animals come to you, and did I forget the boat that is at your disposal to tour the lake or go fishing.

Enjoy

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharonep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

our first safari experience was a total success thanks to the location, accommodation and service provided by this small family run safari camp. we stayed with friends in Harare and travelled up to Kariba to be met by Jenny the owner. A 1 hour speedboat trip took us to the remote island where we were shown to our huts. no electricty due to remoteness but this added to experience. hot showers twice a day. Camp not fenced in and wild african elephants roaming around everywhere, just feet from the hut. 3 good meals each day. Variety of safari activities, walking and driving safari and fishing for tiger fish all enhanced by experience of Funnyboy.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2008

This was my second stay at Rhino Island. I was happy to get to spend time again with Jenny and her wonderful staff! Funny Boy is still taking care of the vehicles- yes that is his name. Jenny runs a wonderfully comfortable, home-like lodge. The rooms are raised. It is on the banks of Lake Kariba (which is dammed up for electricity). So when the lake is flooded, the rooms are not . This however has not been an issue for a while- at least not in tourist season. The raised rooms do give you a great vantage point over the lake, sunsets and sunrises are to-die-for! I was there with a wonderful guide. We went out to find the black rhino who inhabit the area. We found a female and her one month old calf. She was calm, we spent about 15 minutes with her before she and the calf walked off into the brush. What an incredible experience! The second day, we saw the pair sleeping. The mum was laying on her side, she knew we were there, with the baby nursing and sleeping. The baby finally got up and began playing on top of his mum. We spent about a half an hour with them and then quietly walked out- as to not disturb them.

It is difficult to leave such a beautiful place, with the wonderful hospitality, and I just hated to say goodbye.

The beds are comfortable, the showers are hot, the food is great. The wildlife is not lions everywhere (they are here) but this is elephant and Black Rhino and Croc- big Croc territory! This is a great place to break up a camping safari- with comfort!!
Not to be missed if you are in Zim!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzic63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews