We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Trip to Burano”

Martina Vidal Venezia
Ranked #1 of 12 Shopping in Burano
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Formerly known as Martina Lace, now known as Martina Vidal, this legendary lace atelier is located on the Burano island, famous worldwide for its amazing hand-made production.See our collections and our lace artists at work at “Palazzo dei Pittori”, the typical meeting point and inspiration for many artists of the Venetian painting school starting from the 1900s.Lace art is bequeathed from mother to daughter for generations. Every day this amazing manual skill draws in visitors from every part of the world. Many heads of state, princes, actors and celebrities have come to our shop. Let the Martina Vidal shop assistants and design office help you select or have unique and inimitable products tailor-made, to make your home, your yacht, your dress or just any one accessory even more elegant and refined. Our collections suit the best mansions with their typical elegance, reaching every corner of the planet.
Rocky River, Ohio USA
Level Contributor
299 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip to Burano”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were not sure if we would like the trip from Venice to Burano and would it be worth our time but the ride there was nice and when we got there we were in awe with the houses and how they are all painted. Such a cute little island and so easy to walk around. The people there are so friendly and so use to people taking pictures of their homes. So peaceful and quite and nice quick trip to get away from all the husle and crowds in Venice. This is a must if you have time to walk around and see these beautiful homes. The island is small not a lot to do but it is so nice to see and to have lunch when you are there as well. One of our favorite thing we did on our trip!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Sinatralis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    7
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Martina Burano: The place is indescribable, scales with antique lace crystal embedded on the steps”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Tired of the confusion of Venice, my wife and I decided to take a trip to Burano. We had lunch at black cat and after eating the best fish of our Italian vacation, we thought our day was already satisfactory. But the best was yet to come. We entered in to the atelier of Martina, and here we were greeted as if we knew for many years. As if we were old friends. The place is indescribable, scales with antique lace crystal embedded on the steps, a garden that looks like a park, household linen of high quality, with with a museum with lace of 1700, and staff ready to help you choose the best products for your house. If you go to Venice you should definitely take a trip to Burano and take a tour by Martina and the black cat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank ami s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“burano is fabulous dont miss it - but be prepared for very pushy lace vendors in Martina!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

burano is beautiful and in my opinion definitely a must when travelling to venice.

the colourful houses are just so pretty and lace a treat.

however i found the super pushy nature of the staff in both of the martina lace shops to be far far too pushy! which completely turned me off and soured my visit.. and we were purchasing from theur store it seemed they wanted.. practically demanded you buy more more more.

hope other folk have a better experience.

Helpful?
4 Thank cindi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Martina Burano: more than a shop”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have been to Burano, but we will never have thought to find a place like Martina's showroom. More 'than a shop, looks like a house furnished with great style, where you will surely find something that fits your home. Ask to take pictures from the terrace you can enjoy a unique view of the lagoon and the roofs of Burano, and see the garden with plants typical of the lagoon.
Enjoy your visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Merletti d'Arte Martina in Burano”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Here quite simply is pure "haute couture" in terms of lace of Burano. All the products are very high quality and moreover you will find dresses, skirts and long-line bras there made entirely out of lace or decorated lace of Burano. One can really speak about creation, elegance and refinement in this spellbinding shop by the beauty of the products which are sold there.
In short, if you go to Burano, it is absolutely necessary that you go to Martina’s before buying whatever it is elsewhere. Certainly you will fall under the spell of her creations!
In a descending line of Vaporetto, follow the quay towards the left across the small park and to the end take the tiny via in front of you, it is the Calle San Moro and Martina is one of the first stores on your right.
Opened every single day from 9:30 AM – 6:00 PM.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Sergio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martina Vidal Venezia also viewed

 
Burano, City of Venice
 

Been to Martina Vidal Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing