We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Bar Caffe Palmisano
Ranked #18 of 30 Restaurants in Burano
Price range: $14 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Bar Caffe'
Restaurant details
Description: Bar Caffe'
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
525 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stopped here for a quick snack lunch while on a short visit to Burano. The display of large, round, Italian flat bread type sandwiches looked enticing and there was a decent choice but they did not live up to expectations and were both pretty bland and pre-packaged; we had thought that they were made on the premises but they were not. That said, they were only Euro 4 each and were a decent size so with two small bottles of water, provided a quick snack lunch for the two of us for Euro 12. It's a decent enough place if you don't want a more substantial lunch while in Burano.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    53
    21
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tomball, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sat on patio for great people watching here Aug 21, 2013”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

It was late afternoon and we had a few glasses of Prosecco wine for only 3 euros each. Server was very attentive. The sidewalk was very busy with interesting mix of locals and tourists. We were visiting from Texas, USA

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Afternoon coffee after a day's explorations”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

On a chilly afternoon this was a great place to enjoy an espresso with a mini chocolate canoli. It provided a good opportunity to put your feet up and settle into 'Burano time'. The atmosphere was cosy with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pendooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,018 reviews
457 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 636 helpful votes
“Nice place for a spot of lunch”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a nice lunch here on our visit to Burano. We had expected to be able to find somewhere for a main meal on the island but most places we were considering prior to our visit looked disappointing in the flesh so we chose here. There is a good selection of light snacks and especially panini, which are reasonably priced. We had each had a panino and a glass of sparkling red wine and the total bill was €12, which was excellent considering how nice we found the ambience, food and drink.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stop”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had a quick lunch-time snack in the Bar Palmisano on Burano recently. The bar is set in amongst a number of other ‘Full Service’ restaurants in the street with their tourist menus and dinner jacketed waiters ‘enticing’ you to choose their full menu. The Bar Palmisano is not a restaurant, just a simple bar with Pizza and Panini snacks. What we had was reasonably priced, good quality and served by friendly staff to both tourists and locals. Sitting outside in the Spring sunshine at the plastic ‘garden’ table and chairs was both pleasant and very easy going and the selection of snacks inside was tempting. The waitress was very understanding after I knocked the table and sent my beer flying through the air, although I managed to catch the now empty glass to the delight of other customers, it was immediately replaced with a refill free of charge without any fuss or comment. If you are on Burano and just want a snack and a coffee or beer, then it is certainly worth a visit and if you’re not on Burano then you should be, it is just so different from Venice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZA47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Caffe Palmisano also viewed

Burano, City of Venice
 
Burano, City of Venice
 

Been to Bar Caffe Palmisano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing