We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious foodie experience: SO worth the trip!”

Al Gatto Nero Da Ruggero
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Burano
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Delicious foodie experience: SO worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

My lunchtime plans in the city suddenly changed, so I trundled over to Burano to join some friends at Al Gatto Nero, with no idea what to expect. Burano looks a bit like Murano without the glass studios: very cute. This is a proper destination restaurant, set on a canal full of brightly-painted houses (looks a bit like Hillgate Village in London W8 but, er, with canals). The seafood & saffron "special" pasta we kicked off with was just unbelievable; I'm still dreaming of it 6 weeks later. The crab pasta would have been considered a corker anywhere else, but underwhelmed in comparison. We then shared a magnificent wild turbot and some delicious puds (tiramisu, panna cotta etc) and vin santo. This is an awesome place to while away a few hours on a sunny terrace, with stunning wines and fabulous, friendly service. I didn't eat anywhere in the city of Venice that could hold a candle to this place. Do book at busy times, it's a very popular spot. Did not go inside so have no idea what it looks like.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleNay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    924
    314
    70
    46
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal so far in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

After 10 days of either overpriced or mediocre meals in Venezia (or both) we were resigned to either cooking in our holiday apartment, or eating pizza (much of which is excellent, especially in neighborhoods like Dosodurro and Canareggio). Our experience at this lovely restaurant turned that view around - there is indeed good seafood to be found in Venezia. In fact my husband and I liked it so much, we booked for a 2nd lunch later in the week, and will happily take the more than hour long trip (2 vaporetto rides and 1/4 mile on foot) to enjoy their seafood again. A lovely lunch with 2 drinks, desert and coffee came to 88 euros, and worth every penny!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Venetian experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

My guide Francesca took me to the beautiful island of Burano and led me down colourful canals, like I had never ever seen to the local restaurant of il Gatto Nero. We enjoyed the local seafood, amazingly fresh and delicious. The standard of local fish was better than anything I have tasted in Venice. Service, ambiance were also special. A must for a unique Venetian experience!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Contesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We arrived on burano ,with the intention of going to another restaurant , but it was closed, lucky us .we knew of Gatto Nero but had never been . We had to wait a while for a table but were given a glass of prossecco . The owner served us and we talked about Edinburgh as that is where he learnt his English . Soft shell crab and Frito misto beautifully light doesn't appear it's been deep fried. Chatted to the waiter who offered us grappa on the house . What a welcome back to venice

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cardiffwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Everything about this place is perfect: the food, the atmosphere, and the service are all top notch. I can't recommend it too highly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edmund B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Gatto Nero Da Ruggero also viewed

Burano, City of Venice
 
Burano, City of Venice
Burano, City of Venice
 
Burano, City of Venice
Burano, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Gatto Nero Da Ruggero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing