We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

A four night stay to celebrate our 30th anniversary. It was fabulous from start to finish. Staff are fantastic and cannot do enough for you. We had a garden terrace room which was stunning, biggest bath I have ever seen. We loved happy hour cocktails in the rooftop bar watching the sun go down. The dessert night walk and sunrise dune bashing was excellent. I had the best massage ever and the scenery is breathtaking. Yes it is costly but for a special occasion worth every penny. Fabulous

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jaquiwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Jaquiwel,

May we congratulate you again on the wedding anniversary, it is heartwarming to see such a lovely life event.

Thank you sincerely for the nice comments on the review and for your appreciation on the resort. We are humbled that we have been fortunate to be part of the celebration, and your kind words "fabulous from start to finish" really made us lost for words.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to having you back for the next celebration.

Yours truly,
Patrick Both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,494 - 1,500 of 3,232 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you want time off and really relax, go to Qasr Al Sarab. Located in the middle of the desert yes it is a long ride from Dubai or Abu Dhabi but it's worse it 100%! The rooms are spacious, the service is great and the views are absolutely stunning. You will not regret.

Room Tip: Get a Desert view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christophe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Christophe H,

Please allow us to convey our sincere thank you for your wonderful review.

It is always rewarding to see guests enjoying Qasr Al Sarab, and to see them setting aside time to share their feedback makes us feel very much appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing time at our resort.

We strive to ensure excellent service and will be more than honored to have another opportunity to extend the same service to you again. Please do return and we will ensure that your next stay will be as memorable as the last one.

With sincere regards,
Patrick Both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Have just spent 2 nights at this very impressive place set in the middle of the rolling sand dunes in the empty quarter (aptly named). The place is built to resemble a desert fort and cost over £600 million to build.
The first thing to say is that the place is bigger that you might think from the web site. Accommodation is low rise and is very spread out a mixture of rooms suites and villas with their own pools. Because the resort is large and it is so hot (was 43 when we left but can reach 50+ degrees) unless in a room near the lobby/restaurants/pool area you will need the golf buggy transports to and from any room at the further reaches of the resort, these are plentiful and are always available. We had a superior terrace room and these are lovely and large with a vast balcony with excellent views over the sand dunes on which you can enjoy sunrises and sunsets. Villas have plunge pools and open onto the desert - prices reflect this!
Our room had all the expected equipment FSTV DVD player mini bar, Nespresso coffee maker and tea and coffee maker, also a safe. All rooms are air con of course and there is fast WiFi across the resort - with single log on. Bathrooms are large with a massive sunken bath and a shower room - all marble of course. All in all very comfortable and well appointed. The terrace rooms are higher up and all have super views out over the dunes. We had 323 which had great views and was easily walkable to pool, lobby and restaurant.
The large pool is free form and well staffed with ample numbers of loungers, towels are provided and there is pool side service for food and drink. There is a wet bar which is nice and a kiddies pool with shade. There is a gym, spar and kiddies room and also a business centre and conference facilities. There is a self contained area for all the big nobs who visit from time to time - no doubt at the expense of their respective poor tax payers!
Food can be had in the lobby area (there is a bar also) and restaurants include the main restaurant which serves lovely and ample buffet meals for breakfast lunch and dinner. There are also 2 other eateries both excellent one all day and one evenings only on the roof top (with another bar). Bear in mind if you are on half board you can ONLY eat in the main buffet area unless you wish to pay extra.
There are activities every day at extra cost. We did the falcon display which was excellent and the dune bashing in a Toyota Land cruiser which is simply awsome and certainly both were worth every dirham.
Be prepared for the heat which is extreme although it is a dry heat which mitigates to some degree and take some sun screen as you will need it.
My advice would be to do a maximum of 2 or 3 nights here as that is enough to get the most out of it (photos to follow).

Room Tip: Superior terrace room or villa and get one close to the lobby/pool we had 323 which was just great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Nick W,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful yet candid review with regards to your stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to know that you found Qasr Al Sarab as impressive and that the activities were worth every dirham. We would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the accommodation and service. Your kind appreciation will motivate us to keep our dedication high towards our guests.

Thank you again for the review and we are looking forward to be at your service again soon.

With warm regards,
Patrick Both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were told, the morning of our arrival, by reservations that our rooms would be ready for an early-ish arrival and they weren't. When we complained we were sent 3 different levels of staff to explain the same story to us. No one offered to make the experience better. There was never an invitation to do something while we were supposed to wait for the rooms (90 minutes). Our only option was to sit there. We were not offered another room, a bottle of wine, fruit basket or complimentary sandwich. It seems they know there is no where else to go around them and they take advantage of that instead of trying to exceed expectations. The property is lovely, what a shame.

Talking with friends upon our return, they have had similar experiences at the property with check in. Your check-in process needs to be revised, seriously.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hvdvoorde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Mr. Vandervoorde,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write about your stay at Anantara Qasr al Sarab on Trip Advisor.

First of all I am sorry to learn that you left the hotel disappointed with the services received, after not being able to check in to your room until 12:50 pm, 45 minutes after your arrival to the hotel.

I sympathize with your disappointment having arrived at the hotel tired and needing to refresh after your journey from Dubai, only to find that a room was not ready immediately. We guarantee our rooms be ready for arriving guests at 3pm, as this ensures that rooms vacated by our departing guests at noon can be serviced. Of course we always endeavor to accommodate guests arriving before this time if possible.

We all at Qasr al Sarab take great pride in offering our guests the highest levels of service and as you can appreciate although we always endeavor to accommodate guests arriving before the allocated check in time, this does depend on hotel occupancy and the departure time of previous guests.

I am pleased to learn that due to the shortfall and inconvenience on this occasion, you were offered a complimentary dinner by my Hotel Manager.

Mr. Vandervoorde, despite the above I do hope the remainder of your stay with us was enjoyable and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us on Trip Advisor. My sincerest apologies for the shortfall on this occasion, however I do hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Qasr al Sarab in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We returned to the Qasr Al Sarab after visiting 2 years ago and stayed for 8 nts in a 2 bed villa.
The hotel is of a high standard, with the 2 bed villa a superb option for a family with 3 kids and outstanding service through out our stay.
You don't go here for an all action holiday but rather if you are looking for somewhere to unwind and relax its perfect

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolmarlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Lolmarlor,

Thank you for your beautiful review and for staying with us.

It was a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your visit and that we provided outstanding service throughout your stay. It is always nice to have a guest chooses Qasr Al Sarab for a first stay, moreover rewarding if the guest chooses to return for a second stay and still finds the resort as fantastic.

We appreciate your continuous patronage and please do visit us again.

With sincere thank you,
Patrick Both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

i was one of the guest with abu dhabi tourism board and i really enjoy the property situated in real desert with some fantastic and stylish rooms in pure desert one can get the feel of long long desert just from the balcony of room, enjoy swimming in desert with some equally good quality food. Best for a couple to hang out for at least one night in calm and comfort.

Room Tip: rooms specially located facing dunes in the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManojSogani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Manoj Sogani,

Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent stay.

My team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed the resort and have found it as a best place for calm and comfort. We would like to thank you for sharing with us of how impressed you were with the product and service, and your nice comments will only encourage us more to maintain the excellence of both.

Thank you again and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming again to Qasr Al Sarab.

Sincerely yours,
Patrick Both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Anantara Al Sarab for two nights and it was absolutely incredible.
I was afraid to drive from Dubai to there but it was very easy. We took three hours from Jumeirah to there. The road was nice but there's lots of speed control. It's better to fill the car gas tank because there's not so many petrol station after Abu Dhabi.
The resort is wonderful. The desert is breathless. Everything was perfect: Very good check in and out. Free valet parking. Free Wifi in the room. Beautiful and big room/bathroom. The room view was breathless. The swimming pool is great. Very nice service. The hotel is luxury decorated. Looks like a real Old Arab Palace.
There's a very good gym complimentary to hotel guests.
Very good breakfast. We had dinner in the Al Falaj, the desert one. We enjoyed so much. And in the Al Waha, the buffet one. Very good too.
I recommend this luxury desert resort. The resort and the nature are both incredible beautiful.

Room Tip: If you can to pay more, the varanda room is absolutely wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cred68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Cred68,

Thank you very much for your nice comments of Qasr Al Sarab being incredible.

It is a pleasure to read that everything was perfect, from the resort and the desert to the product and the service. Guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us and we are most grateful for your splendid review.

My team and I are delighted that you had a memorable stay, and are looking forward to having you staying with us again.

With sincere thank you,
Patrick Both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara

Address: 1 Qasr Al Sarab Road, Hamim 131277, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Liwa Oasis > Hamim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamim
Price Range: $350 - $816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where mystic charm, cultural passion and unparalleled luxury evoke distinctive memories. Set in the middle of the Rub' al Khali or Empty Quarter, the largest uninterrupted body of sand in the world, Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resorts by Anantara is isolated from the world, yet is less than 200km away from Abu Dhabi. The resort brings the mysticism of this eminent location to life, inviting you to discover the unique appeal of its surroundings. Enjoy an array of facilities and immerse yourself in the wonderful splendour of an eternally changing landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort By Anantara Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing