We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamim
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Excellent resort which deserves its number 1 status on tripadvisor. Rooms were clean and well appointed with spectacular views of the desert. We ate in the buffer restaurant every evening and was surprised and impressed by the variety of food on offer. Everything was very tasty. We did consider the a la carte restaurant however decided that it wasn't worth the extortionate prices. Only slight criticism of the hotel was the price of the transfer from the airport. This seemed grossly disproportionate to the journey time and the cost of taxis generally in the UAE. If we returned again we would probably hire a car as it seemed a relatively straight forward drive from the airport.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob7488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Rob7488,

We thank you for your lovely review and for having chosen to spend your holiday with Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests. It was thoughtful of you to inform us of this great news which always serves as an encouragement and motivation for our team. On the other hand, your comment about the transfer cost is well noted and will be reviewed accordingly.

We are glad to hear that you intend to stay with us once again and looking forward to welcoming back to the resort soon.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,516
    268
    74
    21
    27
See reviews for
868
1,466
66
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We went to Qasr Al Sarab to get away from the city, and we certainly did that! Surround by beautiful desert, it certainly feels like you are away from it all. The service was excellent - every member of staff did their utmost to make us feel welcome. We ate at Suhail restaurant both nights - the food was delicious - try the truffle mash! The only reason I haven't given Qasr Al Sarab a 5 is because, for the price we paid (it's not cheap), we were a little disappointed with the spa; it wasn't quite what we were expecting from an Anantara. The treatments were fine, but it was a little lacking in facilities. We also found the breakfast buffet a little noisy. All in all though, a great weekend!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Alison H,

Thank you for having taken the time to review you stay and sharing your feedback.

Indeed, we always welcome guest comments and find it extremely valuable in our efforts to maintain the standards of service which our guests have come to expect of Qasr Al Sarab. Moreover, we have taken good notes of your observation about spa and breakfast which will surely help us in the continuous improvements of our product and services.

On the other hand, we are glad to know that some of the aspects of your stay were pleasant. We will certainly recognize our associates for the excellent service rendered to you.

We look forward to greeting you again one day in the not too distant future and to the privilege of extending to you once again Anantara hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

THERE'S getting away from it all...and then there is this place.
A small road leads off the highway to take you through mountainous dunes and then suddenly this stunning resort appears as if out of nowhere.
It's fairytale stuff in the middle of the desert. Qasr Al Sarab seems to grow out of its surroundings, but what you find is anything but basic. This is five-star luxury in what can be a hostile environment - and you'll never forget the experience, from the moment they hand you a date and camel milk drink while checking in.
There's a mix of private villas for a truly luxurious and private getaway and a selection of rooms around the main hotel, all of which give a view of this incredible scenery. The restaurants also give great views, but one of the best ways to take it in is via a morning camel ride or an evening guided walk.
Several other activities are available so you can sample the desert at close quarters - or there's complete relaxation on offer in the spa or by the pool - a genuine watery oasis in the dry, golden sands.
Few resorts can offer such pampering in one of the world's most dramatic, natural film sets. Stunning.

Room Tip: We checked out the spa (looked stunning) but didn't indulge. From what I've seen, there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear David D,

Thank you for sharing such lovely comments.

My team and I are thrilled that we have exceeded your expectations and we have made you leave with an amazing story. I will certainly share your beautiful message to the team.

We are looking forward to being of service to you once again and assuring you of our best efforts to make your every stay an unforgettable experience.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Qasr Al Sarab is the perfect combination of relaxation and adventure. You feel as if you've stepped back in time to a more refined way of travel. Everyone is so welcoming, kind, and gracious, and the accommodations are spectacular. You have to make this a travel priority, whether for a relaxing spa getaway or an adventurous desert safari.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Melissa P,

Thank you for the amazing review you have put for us.

I am glad we were able to provide you a tranquil and relaxing break. It sounds like you had a very pleasant experience with all of our staff, and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful compliments, please do visit us again and we will be more than happy to ensure that your next stay will be as memorable as the recent one.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Having driven 250kms from Abu Dhabi in order to dine at Qasr Al Sarab it was with a great deal of surprise and annoyance that we were told that it is no longer the policy of the hotel to serve non-residents in its three on-site restaurants. We were only informed of this upon arrival by a very rude gate house guard and subsequently as well as by an equally rude receptionist who we phoned in order to ensure that the guard had not lost something in translation. What is annoying about this is the fact that this policy is not noted on the hotel's website and nor is it mentioned in guidebooks such as Lonely Planet, which waxes lyrically about the three restaurants on site.

Frankly, this is a marketing and PR disaster in the making - I for one would now never stay at the resort (no matter how good the hotel is) and will advise my friends of the same thing. Whoever has made this decision needs to seriously rethink or at least advertise that the resort is open to resident guests only.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent 4 nights over the Christmas period at Qasr Al Sarab. Obviously a very busy period and the complex was at full capacity. With a couple of minor exceptions, the staff coped remarkably well in difficult circumstances. Special mentions go to Elmer in the gym (fantastic instructor), Tharancer and Sher the housekeeper who made a good stay really great. This is a beautiful resort with some amazing restaurants. The Wagyu is the best beef I have ever tasted. Attention to detail in all areas is very, very high and the staff are genuinely pleased to help you. Only problems we had were a couple of biggish groups of guests and you can't blame the hotel for the way others behave. We had to move rooms to get away from the screaming of two South African families. They were Skyping for a lot of the day and constantly screeching, blissfully unaware of any disturbance (and they really were loud!!) or discomfort they were causing others. Changing rooms was handled with a great deal of sympathy and a minimum of fuss.

Overall a really lovely break and a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaBear10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear PandaBear10,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.

I am grateful that you found everything was perfect and can only hope that we exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to personally thank the team and pass along your great comments most especially to Elmer, Tharancer and Sher who I understand made your stay a memorable experience.

With regards to the level of noise disturbance created by your fellow guests, I do concur that in this kind of situation, we do our utmost to minimize such, often with success, but at times it is indeed challenging. We thank you for letting us know your concern and regret the inconvenience caused.

I do hope that you have the occasion to visit us again in the near future and the opportunity to be at your service once more.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

While this resort is quite expensive (especially if your travelling solo) it is one of the most memorable places I have been.

From the minute you pull off the highway towards weaving through the sand dunes and get your first glimpse of Qsar Al Sarab - you know it's going to be a detonation unlike any other.

The rooms are large and well appointed, design to echo the environment and provide an luxurious Bedouin experience, meeting my high expectations.

Three days and two nights was probably just the right amount of time to spend here and you MUST do the hard drive sunset dune bashing. Not only is it a great adventure activity, you also get to experience one of the most beautiful sunset locations in the world - it was breathtaking.

Highlight - you go there for the location and it doesn't disappoint.

Lowlight - sometimes the service just isn't at the level it should be for a 5 star hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kane1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB77, General Manager at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Kane1978,

Thank you for visiting Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara and for taking the time to share your thoughtful review.

We always pride ourselves on ensuring that our guests leave with a fond memory and few wonderful stories of their stay at our resort. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience thus your feedback is extremely valuable. We take your observation to heart and assure you to guide and support all our associates so as to maintain the consistency in the service delivery to all our valued guests.

Apart from the points you have mentioned, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to greeting you again one day in the future as well as the privilege of extending to you once again a unique Anantara experience.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Both
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamim
0.0 mi away
Century Hotel Apartments
Century Hotel Apartments
#106 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
110.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Residence Abu Dhabi
0.0 mi away
Pearl Hotel
Pearl Hotel
#2 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queen Palace Hotel
Queen Palace Hotel
#88 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barracuda Beach Resort
Barracuda Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
106.0 mi away
Danat Capital Hotel
Danat Capital Hotel
#5 of 31 in Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara

Property: Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara
Address: 1 Qasr Al Sarab Road, Hamim 131277, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Liwa Oasis > Hamim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where mystic charm, cultural passion and unparalleled luxury evoke distinctive memories. Set in the middle of the Rub' al Khali or Empty Quarter, the largest uninterrupted body of sand in the world, Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resorts by Anantara is isolated from the world, yet is less than 200km away from Abu Dhabi. The resort brings the mysticism of this eminent location to life, inviting you to discover the unique appeal of its surroundings. Enjoy an array of facilities and immerse yourself in the wonderful splendour of an eternally changing landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort By Anantara Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing