We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream in the Desert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamim
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
439 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“A dream in the Desert”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A good two-hour drive from AD airport, the setting of the resort can only be described as spectacular! Nestled at the northern end of endless and dramatic red sand dunes, the eco-friendly resort is the perfect get away from the bustle and chaos of the city!
We especially enjoyed the hike up the nearby dunes to witness the sunset, the changing colors and absolute silence. The villa, private and public pools, the spa and F&B facilities exceeded our expectations. The entire Anantara hospitality team did an outstanding job of looking after us and making this a most memorable 'dream-in-the-desert' come true!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,620
    276
    75
    21
    27
See reviews for
903
1,524
68
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have visited this hotel in February 2013, and I was completely surprised by its location, quality and service. The resort is based 2hrs and 30 minutes away from Dubai Airport, easily reached by car, but in the middle of the desert. Sunset is amazing! The pool is wonderful, and also the food. Staff treats the guests as royalty and the rooms are of an outstanding high standard. I totally recommend it and I will for sure return soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SerbanStoicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Beautiful resort in the middle of large sand dunes. Location and outlook is exceptional!

Loved the terrace room we stayed in - plenty of space, thoughtfully furnished, and an awesome terrace. No winding corridors to reach your room, just a nice stroll (or buggy ride) on pathways and an external entrance to the room.

Food was great, wine selection good.

Its a largish resort but still feels intimate and less touristy than similar places.

Room Tip: The terrace rooms are great! Spacious and well appointed with a massive terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place is good! I've travelled a lot and stayed in some nice places and this ranks up there as one of the best. It's the location that blows you away! It's one of those places that you can't believe they've built a hotel. Given the scenery shouldn't be spoilt, the hotel kinda doesn't spoil it. We went on the dune bashing experience. We've done it in Dubai a few times with guests so we were expecting something similar. No way! This is proper Dune bashing on a grand scale. And to get out in the dessert and the the scale of the whole thing was fantastic.

We travelled with 2 children (7) and (5). Kids club was great and they really enjoyed it. Staff were attentive.

All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe terrace room! Was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

You have read the reviews, you have seen the rating, you understand.

I will add that we talked to the staff in one on one situations and universally they spoke with high praise for their General Manager and loved working there.

Some minor niggles? Yep but I re-iterate, minor.
The lighting controls in the room are dumb, just give me a switch and preferably a dimmer please.
The lavatory has a public loo type door with gaps and a see through glass door... not cool unless you and your partner are into the 'toilet product scene'! I don't want to share any of that with my lady and this design was excrutiatingly embarrassing for a private person such as myself.
The food is eye wateringly expensive.
The outdoor restaurant seating is plagued with English Sparrows.
I rate the sleep as two star only because like every hotel in the UAE, the mattresses are too hard for me.
Google maps will take you nowhere near the entrance, it is poorly marked and has been shifted since that pin was dropped. Apple maps will see you camping in Saudi Arabia probably ha ha;-)

So, apart from that? I loved every second, I didn't want to leave and yes I will be returning.

Room Tip: Choose one near the pool if the weather is getting warm, some rooms are a decent hike away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wazza2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

absolutely loved our stay there - located in the middle of a beautiful desert landscape, with red dunes, the resort feels very authentic, with rooms in classic arabian style. it is the ideal place for a weekend escape far away from the busy cities of Dubai / Abu Dhabi

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hagi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had to leave the main road and travel for 10minutes cutting right through the desert... That was a wonderful experience.... The hotel is beautiful....you can see that planning has been done very carefully. We just came for the afternoon. The lunch buffet could have offered something a bit more spicier to suit Indian palates. The salads were good and so was the dessert. The customer service was excellent. Wanted to try out the various activities but maybe next time. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamim
0.0 mi away
Clifton International Hotel
Clifton International Hotel
#16 of 17 in Fujairah
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pearl Hotel
Pearl Hotel
#2 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
106 reviews
110.1 mi away
Century Hotel Apartments
Century Hotel Apartments
#101 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Barracuda Beach Resort
Barracuda Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Paragon Hotel Apartments
#14 of 32 in Abu Dhabi
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara

Property: Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara
Address: 1 Qasr Al Sarab Road, Hamim 131277, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Liwa Oasis > Hamim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where mystic charm, cultural passion and unparalleled luxury evoke distinctive memories. Set in the middle of the Rub' al Khali or Empty Quarter, the largest uninterrupted body of sand in the world, Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resorts by Anantara is isolated from the world, yet is less than 200km away from Abu Dhabi. The resort brings the mysticism of this eminent location to life, inviting you to discover the unique appeal of its surroundings. Enjoy an array of facilities and immerse yourself in the wonderful splendour of an eternally changing landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort By Anantara Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing