We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and charming resort but not fore everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Railay Village Resort
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We spent 3 days in Krabi around New Year's Eve. Railey beach was perfect for isolation and escape from touristy tropical Thailand.

Pros
-isolated and directly on the beach
-the grounds are beautiful
-rooms are clean and spacious (villa style)

Cons
-difficult to reach: only accessible by longtail boats from Ao Nang pier
-not many restaurants around on the beach
-concierge isn't always immediately responsive

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BagelsandBaguettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
There are newer reviews for Railay Village Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 920 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

First off all we got dropped of in the taxi from the airport at a beach and was then told we needed to get on a long tail woofen boat to get to Railay resort, little did we know that this ment carrying 2 x 30kg suitcases in to the sea, there was no warning off this when we booked up so wouldnt be good for elderly people or people with back problems but luckily we got some help from the boat man ( the tide was out also so had quite a way to walk to get to the boat) when we arrived the secluded beach area was lovely and you couldnt fault that, reception staff friendly and showed us to the room, first impressions was it looked nice, but then came across the fuse box which had wires coming out all over the place and plug sockets with loose wires which caused sparks to come out when plugged anything in, the shower had no power and was cold so had to use the shower head in the jacuzzi, the jacuzzi itself was discusing with greean limescale around the water jets, the same with the main shower head it was filfy, the power suply would cut out for ages then would start up again. The service in the restuarant was terrible, once seated you would be waiting ages for anyone to bring the menu, same again when waiting to place the order. Once the food was brought out it wasnt brought at the same time they would bring my meal then once i had finished my meal they would bring my partners out so we wouldnt be eating at the same time. The food was cold and the tables were not cleaned from the previouse customers. The resturants closed at 9.30pm and everybody seemed to go to bed so this is not the best place to stay if you are hoping for some night life but is more for relaxation. We payed alot of money to stay here and overall was disapointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rc87rachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Upon arrival at Krabi Airport, you may book the local bus that goes to Aonang pier but the bus may have two or more stops before reaching the pier, cost of the local bus THB150 only. Upon arrival at Aonang pier (40mins bus ride) we had to wait for more people to fill up the long tail boat, they need 10pax to fill up, after waiting for about half n hour we have 10 pax and each paid THB100.

This is the interesting part... Where you will get wet, so its best that you are wearing shorts and slippers/sandals. You can also forget about bringing luggage or trolley bag, bring haversacks, where you can be handsfree. From the beach to the long tail boat, you'll be stepping on sand and water, you will need to climb on the boat, so if you are travelling alone and carry a luggage, good luck. The boat man didnt help but the rest of the passengers did try to help one another... See if u r lucky. The boat ride was about 15mins from Aonang pier to Railay beach and it's the 2nd stop, but this also depends as where the passengers are staying. So Railay may be the only stop if all passengers are staying at Railay.

Upon arrival at Railay beach,you'll get wet again, from the beach to hotel reception is only 5mins walk... Railay village resort is located at railay west, along this stretch u'll get to see other hotels lined side by side... To your left is the walking street(shopping, cafes, padi dive, tour desks etc etc) and this walking street can lead you to Railay East(thats where you'll find shops, restaurants, bars and many more but the view of the beach nothing to awe about...u'll be glad that u r staying at Railay West, because the beach is swimmable and the sunset view is stunning!!

Our villa was near to the reception, so the wifi was somewhat ok, but not excellent as on certain days connection is slow. When we went to the pool which was somewhere further away from reception, the wifi connectivity was really bad.

Like all the feedback from here about the restaurant staff is being slow, thats true but they are friendly and helpful... Actually there are plenty of other restaurants around Railay... Just next to our resort lies another and another, so you can choose where you wanna eat...

To the left of the resort there is the walking street where there are restaurants and cafes too, but please be careful as we got food poisoning from one of the shops selling mango juice...

All in all it was a good experience, hotel staff was friendly and helpful. As for the choice of room even tho we have booked the jacuzzi villa, it was nothing to rave about, we should have booked the pool room instead...

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank KittyLiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

spent 2 days in this wonderful hotel on this stunning island. tried to stay another 2 days but was full and we ended up at railay bay resort (not nearly as nice)..stayed in jacuzzi villa room and it was perfect except for the hard beds which we became accustomed to traveling in thailand. lovely breakfast right on the beach. we had nice lunches but the service was very slow. dinners we ate on the east side, where you have tons to choose from! loved the pizza at joe's, sitting on pillows drinking chiang beer and mojito"s. take a walk to phanagan beach thru the caves, monkeys, watch the rock climbers..rented kayaks and took long boat to ao nang for some touristy shopping and more restaurants. dont miss the sunsets..absolutely breathtaking! would be back in a heart beat!

Room Tip: jacuzzi villa room
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhonda_ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Railay is a nice island. However, the food choince is very limitted and very expensive.

The Railay Village Resort is on the West side, very good to enjoy the sunset. The West and the East is link by the resort + 300meter small alley. The total distance is about 1km. If you stay at lagoon room at the very end, it will be more quite but it makes not much different if you choose to stay at the hotels on the East side, which has more activities at night.

The Resort did not refill the amenities till the fifth day until we run out and call them. It's not worth to pay that much money to stay at this resort with a dirty room and very poor breakfast, but I think all resorts in Railay have the same quality because they are managed by the Thais. Next time, I would choose to stay at Kabri or Ao Nang with the better resort and more food choices.

We booked the hotel car service to the airport one day in advance. They used the long tail boat to take us to their land office. They did not arrange and call the car from the car rental for us until we arrived the land office!? The resort didn't have their own car. Then we have to wait another 30 min for the car and we were almost late for the flight. The driver drove 140km/hour on the 45km/hour limit streets and did not stop on the red lights. We thanked god to save our life after arriving the airport.
However, I also advice to use the hotel service but don't listen to the receptionist to depart at 11am if your flight is 1pm. Reserve one more hour. The best thing is that they carried luggages to the boat for you. I appreciated it.

I will not stay at this resort again even though I love their warm pool.

Room Tip: Use their airport service to avoid carrying the luggages on the beach when you get on the boat. Stay...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azngrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was an unexpectedly good stay both in regards to hotel and location.

Arrival & Room:
Arriving from Phi-Phi on a boat took 1.5 hours and required transporting from a large boat to a fishing boat on arrival to get on the island. If you are coming this way, try to minimise luggage and be able-bodied otherwise it will be a little more stressful.

The Pool room was lovely with a small patio that faced the pool, along with all the other rooms. There is not much difference between top or bottom rooms apart from the obvious. We liked being on the bottom for convenience. The surrounding pool is beautiful, with relaxing chairs, nice lights and leafy plants. I loved this area although it got quite cold in the afternoon once the sun moved away.

The room was massive - absolutely adequate for 2 people. The bed was huge, large TV, side lounge (could double as a bed for a child) and plenty of space. The bathroom was clean with nice rain shower, separate bath tub and good amenities.

Overall, this is a great room.

Service:
We found the staff at the front desk the most polite and were always eager to help. Of course, any day trips costed a little more there however they were delightfully friendly. The travel agent in the alley day next door (first right) is also excellent and cheaper if you need to book trips.

Breakfast:
Was pretty poor and this was disappointing. Not sure if breakfast is run by the hotel staff. You are basically chased down for your breakfast voucher before you approach food or sit down. Not sure why Thai people are so mistrusting as we found this several more times on our trip? A reflection on themselves perhaps.

The eggs are your best bet, cooked fresh, or some pancakes. Everything else was quite tragic.

Location:
Is absolutely wonderful. Railay West has a beautiful beach until about 5pm each day (before low tide). It can be busy with trippers and others however there is plenty of sand. The skyline was quite magical at nights also and it was nice to grab a drink and watch the sunset on some nights.

Definitely visit Phra Nang beach which is a 20 mins walk to the other side of the island.
This is a sensational beach before midday and after 4pm when the day trippers have gone.
The water is clean and beautiful and the sand soft and white.
The kiosk boats made fantastic burgers and Western food if you need snacks.
This is one of the most beautiful beaches we saw in Thailand.

Food:
We stayed on Railay on 4 nights and ate at MANGROVE RESTAURANT on 3 of these nights.
This was the best food we ate on our 3 week Thai holiday. It was no coincidence it was also the cheapest. The local family who run it are lovely and the place is always busy at nights. The food takes a while to come out as I assume there is one cook but it is definitely worth it. We really couldn't believe how cheap it was each night yet tasted so wonderful. Check this place out early in your trip to Railay!

Overall a nice place with a good hotel.
We'd come back for the mangrove restaurant and Phra Nang beach - everything else is a one time visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Again, check in, then GET OUT and wander the 'hood. Lots to see at East and West Railay! Our room was a jacuzzi villa. A nice room, very spacious and well appointed.Jacuzzi was pretty sexy- they even provided a candle... mmmmmm nice touch! But the beaches at most of Railay look poor and I question the health of the ocean in the area- few sea birds, gray-ish water, too many people and attendant sewage. This part of Thailand is very very congested, although quite beautiful. No cars, no scooters, no land vehicles whatsoever! We found a most lovely bar at the very end of the road (south?)
We found much better food at the smaller local places. The hotels in East and West serve tourists typical food and service. Best food of the trip is near the Monkey Bar and is called "Local Thai Restaurant". Only place we returned to twice. Take a torch (flashlight) as many walkways have no lights. Get there early, seems the place is usually packed! And be aware, your order might get lost- so keep an eye and be aggressive with the staff necessary. Across the street is Albert's art studio- a trained Thai master at bargain prices!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleTravelLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
805 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
2,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railay Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Village Resort

Address: 544 Moo 2 Ao Nang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: $94 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Railay Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Village Hotel Railay Beach
Railay Village Krabi
Railay Village Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing