We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Railay Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Railay Village Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel is just perfect! We stayed here for 4 nights in a Jacuzzi room around New Years when the prices were very high, and I still think it was very good value for this hotel. The little villas are gorgeous, and they pay so much attention to detail! Like bowl with water outside your room so you can clean your feet, and the scale in the room so you can weigh your bags, the fruit bowl everyday, and all the vanities! It was also nice to rent free DVDs at night to watch after dinner. But nothing beats the location. I think it had the best location on Railay Beach. We were so happy with this hotel. But do note that Railay Beach is not that magnificent, and is actually quite unhygienic and smelly (particularly when you are off the resort). But this hotel is just beautiful and we highly recommend it, best hotel we stayed at in Thailand!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    345
    150
    59
    42
See reviews for
149
455
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed for three nights and this was by far the best hotel during the entire trip of two weeks in Thailand. Spacious and clean room, big bathroom and a jacuzzi outside. The entire complex is surrounded by trees, bushes and beautiful flowers, and is very quiet in the night. The two pools were always well-maintained and not busy at all. We also got a very good impression by the staff, especially the guy carrying our luggage to the room, who gave us a short guidance not only to the hotel complex but also to the island itself.

The only negative thing was the restaurant of the hotel. The service was very slow. We did not get any menus when we sat down, and after having waited at least five minutes we got up and looked for them ourselves. The same happened to two other companies at the restaurant. The waiter mixed up the order and we got the wrong food, after having waited for at least 30 minutes. The food was expensive and average in taste. Don't eat there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaaz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

They charge a premium because of the location - though I think it was worth it. The room was nice and spacious, staff were friendly, though the restaurant food isn't the best.

The beach here is really the selling point. They have a cool pool also, but don't get caught there...beaching is too nice.

It's not a 5-star hotel, so don't go in thinking that and the price is high for Thailand but again - still good value I think. Realize it's a local operation and there are the standard faults that exist so there might be a little bit of work on your end.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeDeBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We took advantage of their hotel transfer. Definitely the way to do it. They picked us up at the Krabi airport by van. We stopped before the pier and transferred to a golf cart (so we could drive on the pier)! It was so fun! They move all your luggage for you onto the boat and then to the hotel when you get to Railay Beach. We did get the welcome drink and a water. We stayed in the pool view rooms on the second floor. I think these are less likely to have the sewage smell. The whole peninsula has this smell. Not much you can do about it. The room we had was very nice. Air con worked great. Almost too cold at times. The staff was always very helpful and friendly. There is no alcohol served at this hotel but there is a bar right next to it (Flametree). I thought this would have been a problem before we got here, but wasn't an issue. We also bought beers, etc. at a convenience store to have in our room. The spa is definitely more expensive then elsewhere. We ended up going to East Railay for Thai massages. Only had breakfast in the restaurant. Pretty similar every morning. Overall, had a great time here and would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KJ7713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Clean resort and room, with friendly and helpful staff. Two pools which were both clean. We had a jacuzzi villa which was nice but had technical problems (no hot water in Jacuzzi, main control panel for electricity was broken one night, another night the AC water was dripping down like crazy!). In all cases we were helped immediately. Breakfast buffet was average. Acceptable though. The Thai massage in their spa was great (500 bhat for 1 hr).
Stay away from their restaurant though! The service is aweful - slow and incompetent! The food was OK but the whole experience too frustrating. They dont serve booze but you can bring you own which is fine. Anyway, dont waste your time there but go to the Thai Organic local food restaurant (continue the walking street only 300m further, it's on your left) or walk to Railay East and go to Mom's Kitchen. Prices are half and service is triple better, you dont need to wait for food for 1 hour and they actually bring rice and curry together... I would recommend the resort in general, prices were steep during NYE though.

Room Tip: As for a Jacuzzi Villa on the front if you dont like walking too far. Otherwise take a pool room, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FairReviewerDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived in the dark by Long Boat, which was an adventure in itself....be warned that you have to wade out to the boat and carry your luggage...luckily I had a strong man to help! The entrance to our hotel was beautifully lit, reception welcome was warm and we were shown to our lodge by a very friendly porter. The lodge was fabulous! It was quite decadent, lots of nice touches like daily fresh fruit bowl and bottled water. The lodge was clean and spacious. There are 2 pools, we sat round the small one most days to read a book in the shade! However the beach here is second to none, clear turquoise water and sand that felt like you were walking through flour! The restaurant was really good and we ate here the most as it was friendly with good quality food. There isnt alcohol available from this restaurant but it was acceptable to bring your own beer etc into the restaurant for no extra charge.The breakfast was buffet style and had a great choice inc an egg station. I highly recommend this resort, we LOVED it !!

Room Tip: In my opinion the Jacuzzi Lodges are the best!! they are secluded and beautifully landscaped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I came to Railay Village Resort with a reservation I did via booking.com 6 months before and they didnt have my reservation! No room was reserved for us... Every Hotel in Railay was reserved! I wanted Kill booking.com and KILL the reception people who the only thing that they did was laugh.... YES LAUGH! They tried to put us in another hotel which was horrible but we refused....
The worst thing is that we only came to Railay for 2 days and half our day ended up in a reception....
Please be careful....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
1.4 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#9 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railay Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Village Resort

Property: Railay Village Resort
Address: 544 Moo 2 Ao Nang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Despegar.com so you can book your Railay Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Village Hotel Railay Beach
Railay Village Krabi
Railay Village Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing