We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst part of my holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Diamond Private Resort
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst part of my holiday”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

After carrying our luggage a few kms along the beach to get to the hotel, and up hundreds of old wooden wet stairs that felt like they were to break at any moment we reached the resort. we were put into this run down dark room with broken tiles and toilet and dirty sheets. This was the most expensive room out of all that we had stayed in through out our travels through Thailand, and the worst looking. we demanded an upgrade and was sadly still disappointed. Because it was low season the resort restaurant was not open so we had to walk to another one for breakfast every morning :( This resort needs a serious upgrade and renovation!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allix5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    8
    11
    26
See reviews for
9
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We turned up at Railay without anywhere to sleep and we were walking along getting quoted 1400 baht for rooms and as travellers that was too much - so we braved the stairs up to diamond resort and it paid off as we got the room for a lot cheaper than that!!
Excellent that we could just turn up and them be able to accommodate us.
The room was good, clean, spacious and had a fan and the bathroom was good too.
We only stayed for a night, but the location was brilliant with it only being a minutes walk from Last Bar and the view was stunning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ry91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Bungalow #3 for 4 nights in mid August. We did not read all of the terrible reviews before our stay, and are glad that we didn't because we would have passed up on a nice place to stay on Railay East. This hotel is definitely a bit of a mixed bag in terms of pros and cons, so we would recommend not booking in advance (particularly in low season) just show up, negotiate a deal, and see for yourself if it fits your needs.

Pros:
-Great Views from balconies, pool deck, and lobby area.
-Spacious bungalow and patio that felt private but not too secluded.
-Good price break for multiple night stay lower to midrange rate for Railay of 700 Bhat per night (prices range from as low as 100 Bhat to as much as 5000 Bhat in Railay depending on which beach you stay at and how rustic or luxurious the hotel is).
-Very close to all of the restaurants, bars, and minimarts that are on Railay East Beach. Yes, you do have to walk up nearly 100 stairs to reach your Bungalow, buy who can't use a bit of extra exercise.
-The grounds were scenic and swimming pool was clean, refreshing and had an oceanview.
-A/C, Fan and Hot water all worked well

Cons:
-The bed sheets and towels had stains
-Our bungalow was not cleaned all week, we had to take out the trash and get new bathroom supplies from reception.
-Wifi only avialable near lobby.

Neutral:
-Cleanliness was OK. There was some mold in the bathroom and some small spider webs, but the room was in pretty goof shape otherwise, it is a budget resort in a remote area of Thailand afterall.

-The staff responded to questions and requests with a smile, but didn't go out of their way to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chamborres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

dirty bed sheets, bathroom vent covered in black mold, fan full of dust, and a dirty band-aid stuck to the ceiling over the bed. The cat sleeping at reception appeared to be the manager as staff were not to be seen. Read the reviews and pay the $$ to stay somewhere nicer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Railay Beach hotels

Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Very surprised at the awful reviews, resort is a bit run down and badly needs an update, but still offers plenty of good stuff.
The problem is people's expectations - this is certainly not Club Med, but is much cheaper than the West Railay hotels and still has a nice pool, views and is in a great location in the East side.
Room interior would have been super cool in the 80's as colour of paint and tiles are very old school, but now just look very dated.
The rooms however are clean with aircon/fridge/old tv, and the pool and views from the pool terrace are lovely.
Resort is on the East side of Railay, right above the East side "strip" of bars and restaurants. This makes it quite noisy until into the early hours, but this noise is common to all hotels/resorts in this part. For quiet - head to the West side (but be prepared to pay triple) or keep walking along the East side away from the action to the resorts 5-10 mins walk out of the action.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peazios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Dear potential guest,

I hope you're sitting down. This is the worst hotel in Thailand. We stayed there for 5 nights (the longest of our life). Room number 1 - mountain view bugalow - sounds nice dosen't it... wrong! unless you like snuggling up to bed bugs or termites gnawing at the bugalow (maybe it is a good thing, they are tearing the place down) or the discusting bathroom. We asked to move to the pool side room or should I say the house that rats built. You could hear them scratching skittering and fighting all night above your head. Also, the toilet likes to upchuck when someone else in the building flushes (nice plumbing). After telling the so called manager he said "if you don't like it go some place else, no discount". By the way, to get to this dump you have to climb 100 steps ( I counted) to reach your room...I mean doom! Oh ya, the complimentary breakfast, mmm... stale toast with palm oil. one more thing the bathroom locks from the outside, Creepy!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else. Or stay on Tonsai- get a better room for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Basically it's a dirty, broken down motel that hasn't been updated in years. It's way overpriced for what it is. The 'staff' is nearly nonexistent and rude. We booked for a week but only stayed one night. The only thing good about this hotel is the view. But to get to it you have to climb hundreds of rickety stairs. In other words, avoid this place at all cost.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midtownmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Railay Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.0 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#3 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Railay Garden View Resort
Railay Garden View Resort
#9 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Private Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Private Resort

Property: Diamond Private Resort
Address: 36 Mu 1, Tambon Ao Nang | Ampur Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Private Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Private Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Private Hotel Railay Beach
Diamond Private Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing