We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Railay Beach West is an AMAZING place”
Review of Railay Beach

Railay Beach
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$30.18*
and up
Half Day Rock Climbing Tours at Railay Beach in Krabi
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Railay Beach West is an AMAZING place”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Even though I was staying at Tonsai Bay, I would take the kie over the mountain to get to Railay almost everyday.

It is certainly more populated that Tonsai, but the beach is pristine, and not very crowded at all.

Although I did see a naked child walk up and pee right next to us without any course correction from the parents.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank xmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,052
    1,113
    465
    165
    105
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Topanga, CA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful strip of sand!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

... Railay West that is! We stayed on a resort on Railay West and enjoyed our breakfast each morning with a view of the beautiful limestone cliff rocks framing the beach on either end. A little hike through the "woods" takes you to Tonsai beach at the northern end. We also had a fun time sitting on the beach with a group of friends drinking beer and watching the sunset each night. It's really lovely there, has almost like a island feel as you are pretty much isolated from the "mainland" by these giant rocks and cliffs ...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Skinmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“try Railay as a base for part of your trip”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Railay is everything, Phi Phi isn't. Slow, not mobs of people pushing around, Certainly not as dedicated as a party place. Plenty of choices of drinking and food, all different prices. More mature crowd, not so many packs of young people partying. Laid back, you can find a lot of places just to yourselves. The main beach is why I came to Thailand, absolutely stunning at all times of day. Water is clear greenish and warm with great sand beach. Lots of side trips available if you want to explore other places, in fact, I wish we had just done a day trip to PhiPhi and stayed on Railay which is what a lot of people do. Had a great time on Railay and we too wished we could of stayed longer beyond our extended time of 1 week!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ohio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Chill and beautiful.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

It's true what they say about Railay (especially East Railay).. People here are so chill. My bf and I stayed here for 3N/4D.. We wish we could stay longer. Maybe up to a month, Haha! Seriously I love Railay!

Loved The Last Bar & Lucky Restaurant (no pork) on the East side. Our hotel staff mentioned that a lot of the stall owners and workers here are muslims so food was not a problem here.

Walking Street on West Railay in the afternoon was actually quite boring, maybe cause we went during the low seasons.

To get to West Railay to East Railay beach, you would need to cut through one of the hotels along the stretch of shop rows and hotel, look out for the signs!

There are 3 beaches that you can visit (read: sunbathing and swimming in the sea): Phra Nang, Railay West and Tonsai. Phra Nang was the best for us (during the low season), waves were massive though.. so be careful. Railay West was really boring.. We did not get to go to Tonsai, so cant say much about it.

If youre planning to go island hopping/snorkeling, you can book through agents on Railay (east and west). They are a few. I think about 5 agents? Price is about 900-1500 baht/pax. Meet an agent atleast ONE DAY in advance. We wanted to go to island hopping but we left the hotel at around 2pm (cause it was raining) and we tried our luck to find agents who were willing to bring us.. and we failed. They said we can go, but we need to rent a private boat (around 1500baht) and rent our gear (300-500 baht). Plus it was almost close to 3pm.

Other activities they offer apart from island hopping are ATV riding and of course - climbing.. Duh. There are no jetskis and banana boats here either. Just kayaking. Bring some games, maybe a deck of cards to entertain yourself..

Have fun!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank ShaaAbdullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krabi Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing stretch of beach!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This beach close to Ao Nang is only accessible by boat and it takes some 10-15 mins from the pier in Ao Nang.
This beach looks and feels like an island, clean and pure water and sand.
Many great restaurants and hotels here and the prices are quite affordable.
My children loved the beach, no jetski and other dangers to kids.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railay Beach also viewed

 
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 

Been to Railay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing