We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst beach in Thailand”
Review of Railay Beach

Railay Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.73*
and up
Half Day Rock Climbing Tours at Railay Beach in Krabi
More Info
$55.32*
and up
Full Day Rock Climbing and Caving Tours at Railay Beach in Krabi
More Info
$23.05*
and up
Phuket to Railay Beach by High Speed Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst beach in Thailand”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Wewere expecting the best beach in thailand, please dont go here when there is rain and dont go here during low season, it was a horrible construction pit, with mess all around, no beach, noise and people working.

We have left the day aft arrival, that bad it is.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,098
    1,129
    469
    168
    107
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Haven, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Railay Beach is a beautiful beach, very clean, clear water. We had our grandson with us and he was able to venture into the water without any fear of being knocked over by waves, while at the same time being able to play on the sand. The beach has lovely cliffs and forests surrounding it and with restaurants facing onto the beach it is the perfect combination for a lovely holiday.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“quiet”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

when you visit you will see why this is #1 beach in thailand!! we stayed here for quite a few days over songkran.

i got to see sunrise and sunset; v lucky

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LozH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Scenic, beautiful beach, not as crowded”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This beach is beautiful and you really feel like you are in Thailand when there. Surrounded by tall cliffs, rain forests and gorgeous sand. It's not an island, just a peninsula from the mainland. Much nicer beach than the main Ao Nang beach and quieter.
Railay beach can only be accessed by long tail boat. From Ao Nang, there is a ticket hut at the far western end of the main coastal road. Tickets cost about 100 Baht each one way which is about £2 GBP. We were told to get a one way ticket rather than a return as if buying return it sometimes means that you have to get the same boat back as you got there which restricts you in terms of freedom to come and go as you please. There are plenty of boats to return on - you just speak directly to the men on the beach when you want to come back - it's very obvious when you are there.
We were also told to make sure we come back before about 6 as boat drivers can dictate price as it gets later when they know you have no alternative.
From Railay, I would recommend going round the corner to see Phra Nang Beach which is just stunning. We hired a kayak from Railay and paddled round, however you can walk. From the western side of Railay beach, you will see large signs saying 'Walk Street' - you can walk across to the eastern side and continue to follow the path which leads you to the northern point which is Phra Nang beach - it's stunning and worth visiting. Approx 10-15 scenic walk.
If we were to return, we would look to stay on Railay Beach for a night. There are resorts on the island and along the beach the restaurant/bar has lanterns hanging from the trees. It would be stunning at night and I can imagine the sunsets looking across the water from there would be a different level. So peaceful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So beautiful!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We ended up staying here 5 nights instead of the originally planned 2 because we absolutely fell in love with Railay. It's very small and compact but the beach is gorgeous and the viewpoint is worth a visit too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railay Beach also viewed

 
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 

Been to Railay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing