We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once Paradise…. Now gone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Railay Beach

Railay Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.88*
and up
Half Day Rock Climbing Tours at Railay Beach in Krabi
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
464 reviews
255 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Once Paradise…. Now gone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Once Paradise…. Now gone!
Once it must have been like paradise but now it seen to be over crowded with people everywhere.
Try to be there in the morning before all the longtail boats arrives with loads of people.
It is still very nice, if you don’t mind being on a beach with lots of people.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,990
    1,093
    459
    163
    103
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mallorytown, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun for a swim stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was our last stop on our five island tour. Busy with lots of longtails and tourists, but the swim under the overhanging cave was fun and the water was nice and calm. Definitely worth the trip. Hotels looked crowded and the beach was full of people, so wouldn't want to stay on the island for my vacation. My companion climbed to the 'viewpoint'. Said the climb was mildly difficult but the view was great. Glad we stopped at Railay, but don't need to see it again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne-Fletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

It always amuses me to see the traveler reviews moaning about paradise lost because of too many fellow travelers. Railay is special, and as of two years ago was busy, but not overwhelming (get out of Phuket ASAP). If you avoid doing what everyone else is doing, have a fairly unique and curious attitude towards travel and appreciate the journey as well as the destination, then this is a really remarkable spot on the planet. Just the fact no cars can get to the place makes it unique. Sure, there are islands with greater isolation, if that is what you want at the moment, but Railay is incredibly gorgeous, and when you visit again 10 years from now, you can moan yourself about paradise lost, because there are more people, and greater exploitation than when you visited so long ago, with stars in your eyes.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bwshaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Of course it's overdeveloped but it's still awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I read a lot of reviews bemoaning the development in Railay but all whining aside this is happening all over Thailand and has been for the last 20 years if not longer. Yes, there are longtails. That's how most people travel here. Yes, you can taste fuel if you swim right by them but why would you want to do that? There is plenty of room to swim on the North end of the beach not to mention some world-class limestone cragging. There are no pushy vendors and despite the fact that the peninsula is now wall to wall hotels you can stay there for a week and not feel hemmed in. Try to get out to Phranang Beach instead of just Railay West and take a moment to look around and truly appreciate the beauty of your surroundings. Swim out a hundred meters or so and turn around - This is one of the most ebautiul beaches in the world and I can say that with some authority as I've been to most of the "World's best beaches". There will always be development and it will always sadden those who remember when things were a little less crowded but on the balance Railay is still a very laid back place to hang out on the Andaman.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MyKidsAreCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“WEST IS BEST!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We visited Railay beach twice during our stay. You can only reach Railay Beach via a long tail boat from various departure points in Ao Nang. The long tail boats stop at “West” beach. This is the best swimming beach with shaded areas. There is a selection of beach facing restaurants attached to hotels, as well as a unique little alley way called “Walking Street” leading off West beach filled with lovely little restaurants, pubs; shops… piped reggae island type music ….. Loved it! Had the most wonderful “Tom Yam Goong” (spicy Thai soup with shell fish) at the Railay Beach Resort & Spa Restaurant … it was so wonderful, we went back the next day for another bowl!
The next day we decided to do the short easy walk across Railay from “West” to the “East” beach area. Disappointed with the state of this side of Railay (East side). Dirty & polluted sea water, dilapidated & neglected areas & lots of building construction. Noticed that this side of the island is where most of the “rock climbing” took place at the end of the East beach against the rock cliffs. We headed straight back to the West side and spent another idyllic day on the beach and had another delicious bowl of Tom Yam Goong.
In our opinion ….. West is best!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 682Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railay Beach also viewed

 
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 

Been to Railay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing