We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much choice in Railay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Railay Bay Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Perth
Level Contributor
119 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not much choice in Railay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here in second week of February. Perfectly positioned this resort compared to all the others in Railay. Our room was of average quality; fixtures falling off walls, toilet got blocked every morning, the bed was as firm as the floor, linen wasn't replaced so had to pinch it from the trolleys they left lying around. Had a few power cuts, the garden outside wasn't looked after (see photos). However the breakfast in the morning was fantastic... altho I did leave the area with Gastro so not entirely sure where that was picked up. Can't get past the smell of sewage every morning that swept through the resort... but there isn't much better choice in Railay... they all seem quite run down.

Room Tip: We had a private cottage close to the West Beach (the nicer side). Definitely ask for a room closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annmareef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    701
    431
    198
    162
See reviews for
365
1,026
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The location can only be described as paradise. Our room was clean and tidy and 30 seconds from the beach. However the service in the restaurant was extremely slow and staff made several mistakes with our orders. Romantic meals were spoilt.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed for eight days and had a wonderful time overall. The second-floor room in the building was large with a large bathroom and balcony. The bed was firm but to our liking. The breakfast was wonderful although the egg station was initially manned by one friendly but non-multitasking lady (this was remedied after complaints).

We (my wife, 4-year old son and I) loved the beachfront pool and amazing beach access. The staff were helpful and despite other reviewers' comments, did smile at us from time to time (a few consistently). The only complaint that my wife had was the smelly toilet which had the same "fragrance" as a public toilet upon arrival. We left the high windows in the bathroom open to outside air during the day which greatly relieved this.

Overall, this is a great place to stay if you can handle a firm bed and are not particular to having everything anesthetically clean like a chain hotel in the States or Canada. You pay a bit here but if you like to have close access to a beach with clean sand and incredible views, you are happy. Other hotels here on the West side offer similar, so they should also be good. We had sundowners here (fetching 100 baht Changs from the supermarket on Walking Street), and then went to dinner at Mangrove, and "Local Thai Food" in the jungle past the Walking Street.

Room Tip: Choose upstairs in the building if you don't go for more expensive options (There is not fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

we enjoyed railay bay but got spoiled when we spent the first 2 nights at railay village resort. this hotel has the plus of having a swimming pool right on the beach. had difficulty getting wifi. breakfast was great but had all our meals on east side. we had the privacy cottage rooms which were very nice. these beds might have been the hardest of our entire thailand vacation. perfect transfer to krabi where we had our flight to bangkok. highly recommend using the hotel. they carried our stuff from start to finish(not easy when you are transferring on long boats, etc). this resort is 2 hotels away from railay village which is a 3 min walk! they are on the most beautiful beach!

Room Tip: privacy cottage room was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonda_ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

It certainly helped that we must have been staying in one of the best rooms in the place. We were right by the beach and I loved lying in bed with the air conditioning on and looking out at the ocean. Our room was amazing with large glass doors for walls which maximised the amazing views. The bed was ridiculous and even though I am quite a large man I felt lost in it. The bathroom had a real modern designer feel and all the fittings felt expensive. I had a few long baths and they were so rejuvenating and relaxing in that space. The beach and restaurant is totally idilic and would have to be the best resort that I have ever stayed at. I loved that the resort could only be accessed by boat. This place had the WOW factor for me. It is very isolated and it is totally worth upgrading to the best room you can get to gain the full luxury resort experience. We do not normally stay at places like this and were only here to attend a wedding but it was totally worth spending a bit more on our room and seeing how the other half live... even if only for a few days. Reality did bite a bit when we got home after this experience ha ha ha :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masterjasonwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

very busy, a little claustrophobic and relatively noisy with lots of little kids (and their parents) splashing away in the two pools and storming up and down the pathways between the rooms. Railay West is not really a swimming beach with loads of sharp coral all over and the tide pulling out completely in the afternoon, so swimming is best done at the pool which becomes crowded and have no loungers available due to the 'reservation by towel for the entire day' mentality of the guests which is allowed by the resort. The restaurant's food is good but the service is awful - the waiting and bar staff seem untrained and their grasp of the English language is very limited. A real pity and a plea to management to invest some time in these youths' training and improve your customer service and awareness. Also found the spa to be very expensive compared to similar treatments offered on the East side. I understand that a premium is charged for the superior facilities and the fact that the spa is situated on the West side - but more than double the cost? I don't like to feel like I'm being exploited so stayed away completely. The sunsets from the restaurant is amazing though and the setting of the resort is spectacular.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fofalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
199 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Booking through decolar.com was made, but they wouldn' t reply our questions about airpot pick up. So we cancelled our reservation and made it through their website - in a more expensive room. WE paid US$170 for a room that was decent, but with a bed that had a hard matress - we asked for a change, but it got just a little better. My wife had no sleep on the sofa. Ac ok, "jacuzzi" ok. Good breakfast, good food on the other meals. Nice drinks. Ok prices. Airport pick up worked out fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erasmo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.0 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railay Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 145 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Amphur Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A pearl in the Andaman for you to touch." Railay Bay Resort & Spa is part of an exclusive group of resorts that have beach front access to the renowned Railay Beach, which is perfectly located in Krabi, a most picturesque province. You will find that we are the only beach resort that has a West to East orientation at Railay Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Railay Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Bay Hotel Krabi Town
Railay Bay Resort And Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing