We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good vaction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Railay is a great place to go.We have had a privacy cottage and it was very good to come back refreshing outside into the jacuzzi. The personel of the hotel need some more training but all in all it was a very great vacation and the hotel was good for the the money spent in december. I reccomend it.
The only thing to suggest is to to change the matresse: it is too hard!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fedesilvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 2,127 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have mixed feelings about this place. My husband and I stayed at Railay Bay Resort & Spa for 7 nights during our Honeymoon. It was our first time in Thailand and we were really looking forward to some relaxing beach time.
When we arrived, the hotel claimed that we didn't have a reservation. A travel agency booked our room for us and everything had already been paid for. We even had a confirmation email, but they still seemed very confused. The staff didn't speak English that well, so that made things more complicated. After 15 minutes of debating, we were finally told that we did have a reservation, but we were a day early. It was fine though, because our room was all ready. The entire check in process didn't make sense to us, but we eventually were taken to our room. We did not receive a warm or welcoming feel from the front desk staff.
When we arrived to our room, there was a fun and pretty flower display on our bed to celebrate our Honeymoon. It was a nice surprise, since we had a disaster check in process. The privacy cottage was spacious and very private, but the room could use some updates in the bathroom and the bed was rock hard too. The AC worked well and it was cool within 5 minutes. We had to ask for extra bottled water daily.
The breakfast buffet was fine and the complimentary WIFI is mediocre. We were only able to receive a signal in the restaurant and it was usually slow. There is also a mini mart and pharmacy close by, which was our savior. We both had 2 days of bad food poisoning. The pharmacist spoke excellent English and was very helpful! There are also a lot of stray cats that wander around the property. We never ate lunch or dinner at Railay Bay, but we did enjoy a few other hotel restaurants that were close by.
The view from the Restaurant and Pool was stunning. We enjoyed the sunsets, watching the longboats and kayaking. The beach and pool was fairly crowded, so you need to claim your spot early. We did take 2 day trips during our stay, which we were very glad that we did. It was absolutely necessary to get off the island. We would 100% recommend doing that!
We were very surprised how different and unpleasant the East side was. There was a lot of construction and garbage. We only visited that side a handful of times.
We would love to visit Thailand beaches again, but we would not stay at this hotel. It is expensive and I think you could find something better. We still had a wonderful Honeymoon, but we were very glad that this wasn't the only place we visited during our trip. I think if they improved their customer service and updated the facilities, it would make a huge difference. The website is misleading.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon in a privacy cottage (7007) - very large room, lovely outdoor area with 2 sunbeds, a jacuzzi, outdoor shower and an outdoor seating area. The location can not be beaten, the beach is surrounded by limestone cliffs and you have many outdoor activity options which include kayaking, snorkeling, rock climbing, scuba diving tours or hiring a longtail boat for the day to take your around to all the other scenic little islands. Heaps of wildlife around which we found very entertaining.

The staff at this resort were all very helpful, although their English can be limited, they always to try assist where they can with a smile. The food was very good, breakfast buffet was impressive and a fruit plate was placed in our room every afternoon.

The rooms - certainly needs a little updating in the bathrooms but overall it was comfortable & relaxing. Powerful ac in the room and pretty good shower water pressure.

Although we were on our honeymoon, I would highly suggest this resort for families with kids - the local Thai people adore kids and there's just so much for them to do. There will not be a second of boredom.

Room Tip: Privacy cottage was perfect for our stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Start with the positives. We stayed here as friends of ours picked this hotel to get married in. Great time with the wedding party, fab wedding and the bride looked fantastic. Had we not been staying here for the wedding I would not have unpacked my bag.

I don’t think I’ll add a great deal to the reviews already on here and whilst I’m fairly picky about where I stay this place is very low down the scale - pretty unpleasant.

Check in process terrible with extremely surly staff. The room itself was large and probably nice back in 1984 but clearly had not been maintained to any degree. Lighting is very poor, décor extremely tired and I was extremely alarmed by whatever it was that came out of the Jacuzzi bath when turned on. The outside shower initially looked quite good and fun but I think the shower experience in Pulp Fiction may be more pleasurable. The hotel grounds are clean but not nice looking at all. The hotel decided to pick the day of the wedding to start strimming the patchy grass which created a lot of noise and dust, not great when people are actually trying to dress up.

The Spa was equally as tired as the room and the treatments very average but very expensive. The pool area was OK but really didn’t feel too clean. The pool towards the back of the complex was nicer and a bit quieter.

The food was OK. A good variety for breakfast and we had lunch and dinner there a few times and it wasn’t bad at all. I think if we were not with our young son we would have tried a few more of the local places which were meant to be a lot nicer and far cheaper.
As the focus was the wedding we didn’t really see too much of Railay itself. The beach on the West side is very picturesque with amazing sunsets. It is a very busy beach though with long boats arriving constantly so not really relaxing beach. It wasn’t that clean either.

The East side of Railay is mainly made up of mangroves and I thought it was very unpleasant. I’ve seen some random timings in reviews about how far it is from East to West but I’d say 5 -10 minutes. More bars and restaurants but very dirty, neither the locals nor tourists look after it. A couple of the bars are good fun but I thought the area itself didn’t have a good feel and there were a couple of incidents with the locals and the wedding party guests which would deter me from visiting again. Machete and gun threats should not really feature in a holiday.

If I were in the area again I would stay in Ao Nang and come in for the day (800 baht for a private long boat, good if there is a few of you, or 100 baht pp but you need to wait for a full boat). The rock climbing and trekking are meant to be great but we didn’t get a chance to do this. You’ll get some good photos here but if you have to stay here do not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PSDUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is the best located 4 star resort on Railay. We booked it as the second stop in a tour of the region put together to my requirements by Andaman Sky Adventures (just google them), who got us a good price on the hotel plus put together a great holiday that worked seamlessly.

The service is an issue at this resort, as we had been warned by our agent. I would not want to come stay at this place with kids to be fed, but we didn't mind the lengthy wait for food to be served, as the restaurant is located in an unbeatable place, right on the beach. All in all a good place, we liked the Deluxe Cottage, liked its price tag too. Our agent requested one for us that was located furthest away from the pedestrian thoroughfare that splits the resort, which was a good plus, as it was quieter that way.
Railay is a stunningly beautiful place and this hotel has an awesome location right in the middle of the west beach. The view from the restaurant of the karst rock faces behind the beaches with the sea in the background was one to take your breath away. It’s maybe even more beautiful at night, when the karst formations in outline looks really great.
I had a go at rock climbing while staying here so got to see the rock faces close up. I had never climbed anything except at an indoor rock climbing gym before, so it was a memorable experience to get amongst the cliffs, totally recommend this experience to anyone. We also booked a snorkeling trip to Phi Phi, which was enjoyable, in spite of the fact that the boat was rather over-crowded – there were enough seats and life jackets to go round, but there were certainly a lot of people on board.
The rooms in this resort are simple but nicely decorated. Most importantly they are totally clean, particularly the bathrooms. There is also a bit of luxury, with a tub as well as a shower, so while not a 5 star resort or anything, we were well happy with our choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kabir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was meant to be our luxury stay as part of our final week of honeymoon. We booked 7 nights here in a deluxe cottage, but there was nothing deluxe at all about this place. On arrival the staff werent particularly friendly, surprising when everywhere else we have stayed we have been greeting with a warm reception. We got taken to our room, and we were shocked and horrified. They hadnt even bothered to clean the place, the bath, the floor, the shower, and it stank. The whole place was dated and it looked like they had never bothered to take care of it. The photos they put up are nothing like the real deal. We got taken to another room as they at least acknowledged that the room was not fit to charge people £100/ night. So we went to another room that wasnt much better, stains and marks all over the floor and walls. We knew at this stage we had no hope, so had to call the people we booked through and got our money back on the remaining 6 nights. Due to the location and time of day we were stuck so had to stay one night. The french door didnt even close properly, so had a gap at the bottom, A gap big enough to let nasty creatures in and we found cockroach and lizard crawling about. Getting to sleep was hard knowing what was lurking about in the room! The pool wasnt great and the beach was full of motor long tail boats, not the kind of water that you would choose to swim in so here a pool is key. People use the hotels ground to walk from West to East Railay, there's families and people everywhere so dont be fooled into thinking this would be a quiet, relaxing romantic place as it wouldnt be.

On the web site it says free internet, however we were only given an internet 5 day code when we first checked in despite booking for 7 days. The whole place is designed to rip you off as much as possible. They know they can charge what they like as Railay is a popular destination with limited space and they were fully booked so know they will always get people willing to stay as there is nowhere else to go. We heard lots of people complaining to the reception when we were there. The breakfast was ok, pretty standard to any hotel.

Luckily for us, we found a great place in Tonsai Bay. We only knew about that place through someone we met in Koh Lanta. Much cheaper and much nicer with a decent pool, and that area has a nicer vibe/ feel. You can get a long tail boat or walk round at low tide, or walk round the back through the jungle.

Unless you are into rock climbing, 3 days would be enough. The scenery is truely beautiful, and you get to see 2 different of monkeys there too. This area gets very crowded and the nightlife is poor. Tonsai Bay much better.

For the price of this place, we got 3 nights in an amazing bungalow in Koh Lanta. They need to have a complete revamp, until they do I really would avoid.

Room Tip: Dont stay here - choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bongoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Where to start... Rooms are outdated, outside jacuzzi didn't work, beds are horrendously uncomfortable, Wi-Fi is a joke, had our room made up once in 5 days even after numerous requests, the service in the restaurant is shocking and the food is average and overpriced, plus it's not exclusive to the hotel guests. Stayed in nicer hotels for a lot less per night. The word Spa in the hotel name depicts a tranquil place to relax- Reality is anything but. Used as a walkway by anyone from one beach to another. Not the hotels fault this point but Railay Beach on which the hotel is situated is packed daily by tourists not staying in Railay. The pool was full of children daily. No help with luggage to and from the boat, or any boat service arrangements. Laundry Service is daylight robbery.

To sum up, if your looking for a relaxing spa type hotel overlooking some of Thailand's amazing scenery don't be fooled by this Hotels 'Spa' title and the pictures showing a deserted Railay Beach and look elsewhere.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank JackdWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.1 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#6 of 13 in Railay Beach
923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
812 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 110 in Ao Nang
1,534 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railay Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 145 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Amphur Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: $62 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A pearl in the Andaman for you to touch." Railay Bay Resort & Spa is part of an exclusive group of resorts that have beach front access to the renowned Railay Beach, which is perfectly located in Krabi, a most picturesque province. You will find that we are the only beach resort that has a West to East orientation at Railay Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Railay Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Bay Hotel Krabi Town
Railay Bay Resort And Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing