We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bring mosquitos repellent with you... a lot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“bring mosquitos repellent with you... a lot!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I picked this hotel because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor but....I was actually expecting much better.
The most annoying thing is that doors and windows in the room were not closing well.
For instance: once the door closed, there was still a small split where the mosquitos were easily passing through.
There is no mosquito-net around the bed and it's not very comfortable to cover yourself with mosquito repellent before going to sleep.

The cottage room was ok but the Jacuzzi/hot tub in the backyard was not very clean.
In general, I believe this place looks a bit old and not well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    736
    447
    203
    169
See reviews for
377
1,079
57
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Railay Bay has one of the best spots on the beach, but the hotel is a bit outdated. We were upgraded to the Privacy Cottage, which was a very nice size, but the bathroom definitely needed some improvements. We also had ants everywhere in the bathroom!

The breakfast was nice - there was a good variety, and it was nice to enjoy breakfast outside on the beach.

We ended up not spending much time at the hotel. We found good restaurants on the East side and enjoyed the beach just on the other side (near Rayavdaee). I think if we were ever to return to Railay, we'd stay at Rayavadee - it seemed like it would be worth the splurge!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We made our reservation in August and specifically asked for villas on the West side of the resort. We ended up almost as far as you can come on the East side. Completely opposite of what we requested.
The cleaning of the rooms is very poor. Towels missing, no replenishing of soap etc, etc. It seems the the staff can not cope with a fully booked resort. The waiters in the restaurant forget orders and we had to wait for almost 20 minutes for our drinks. We were here two years ago and it was much better then. We will likely not come back a third time. Pity because the beach is really nice.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanielHoltsjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Railay Beach hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Excellent place for R&R! Nice, clean rooms. Could use a little updating of rooms and bedding (pillows, especially). Great pools and beach--something for everyone! Breakfast was great each morning. Super place to spend 10 days unwinding!

Room Tip: Privacy Cottage recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beej2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 days in this great resort, situated right on the beach in beautiful Railay! The resort is great, there is a pool overlooking the beach, the breakfast was enjoyable, staff were helpful and friendly, rooms very comfortable and clean, the restaurant was very average but not a problem as there are numerous places to eat within walking distance that are delicious and very cheap! I recommend the traditonal Thai restaurant located halfway down walking street, between east and west Railay. I forget the name but it has a drink stand out the front and and a wooden sign that say 'organic Thai food' out the front. The place is always busy and the food is the best on the island and unbelievably cheap! Don't miss it! While on the Island we hired our own longtail to take us to Poda, Tup and Chicken Island and it was the highlight of our trip! Forget "the Beach' at Phi Phi Le (thousands of tourists and boats) go see these islands instead! The beaches are heavenly and the snorkelling is fantastic! There is a bit of nightlife on the other side of Railay, we had some fun at the 'Last Bar' and 'Why Not Bar' but it is nowhere near as hectic and boozy as Phi Phi Don! Don't miss the caves and beach on the Rayavedee side of the Island, this place is paradise!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissOs82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived @ Ao Nang after an 13hr flight from London where we immediately got on a long tail boat bound for Railay. Scenery was spectacular and the boat trip was an experience. You have to get out of the boat and into the sea so I wouldn't take a large suitcase. Upon arrival @ reception we did the usual drill of passport numbers etc. The staff weren't overly friendly. We were then taken to our room (306) which was quite near reception. The bellboy showed us where everything was.
The room was nice with a large bathroom( large walkin shower & bath). I didn't like the frosted glass panel from the bathroom into the bedroom.
There were some really nice touches in the room - they provided you with a beach bag & mat to take to the beach. Unfortunately we had a really hard bed though which wasn't so nice.
Breakfast was really good with all usual food - egg station, fresh fruit, croissants, cereal,waffles & much more.
We didn't eat lunch or dinner in the hotel but went to the local Thai restaurants which were only a 5 min walk away where the food was excellent and very cheap.
All in all a nice hotel but the staff do need to be friendlier & more welcoming. The beach is beautiful & the backdrop is amazing!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Railay Bay R, Manager at Railay Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Melanie B

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and that you were overall very happy with the service, facilities and with our excellent location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next time your travels take you to Railay Beach

Warm Regards,
Sales & Marketing Team, Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 weeks at this hotel resort, if you just want to sunbathe, swim this is the place to be.
Stayed in a luxury cottage which was adequate for us. The hotel need to spend a little money on updating.
All the staff are very friendly as long as you make the effort as well.
All in all a fantastic relaxing 2 weeks.
Thank you.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Railay Bay R, Manager at Railay Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Chris R

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and that you were overall very happy with the service, facilities and with our excellent location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next time your travels take you to Railay Beach

Warm Regards,
Sales & Marketing Team, Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.1 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
895 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#3 of 13 in Railay Beach
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railay Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 145 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Amphur Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A pearl in the Andaman for you to touch." Railay Bay Resort & Spa is part of an exclusive group of resorts that have beach front access to the renowned Railay Beach, which is perfectly located in Krabi, a most picturesque province. You will find that we are the only beach resort that has a West to East orientation at Railay Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Railay Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Bay Resort And Spa
Railay Bay Hotel Krabi Town
Railay Bay Resort & Spa Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing