We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dream Wedding in Paradise at Railay Bay Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Railay Bay Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dream Wedding in Paradise at Railay Bay Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

We got married at Railay Bay Resort this month and we had the most incredible wedding thanks to Mr Timmy and the staff at Railay Bay. The wedding was perfectly organised and we really didn't have to stress about anything. Mr Timmy is an exceptional wedding organiser, and was willing to accommodate all our requests, which meant we could add our personal touches to the wedding. The staff were also very attentive all day.

The wedding took place on the beach in front of the resort and the layout was incredible with beautiful archways, candles and flowers. We had our wedding dinner on the beach, which was very special. We also had our own fireshow and set off fire lanterns.

We stayed in a Railay Suite Cottage, which felt very luxurious and special for our wedding. The room was immaculate and was decorated beautifully when we got there and also after the wedding, which made our stay even more special. We particularly enjoyed the outdoor shower and the jacuzzi bathtub.

Our friend also treated us to massages at the Railay Bay Spa as a wedding gift, and they were honestly the best massages we have ever had. You get a welcome drink on arrival and another one before you leave, and they play relaxing music throughout.

I would encourage anyone who is considering getting married here to go for it, as we couldn't have hoped for a better wedding, or a more perfect and romantic location. It really was the best day of our lives and we'll be returning here to celebrate our anniversaries.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pakipsy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    700
    431
    197
    162
See reviews for
364
1,025
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

We had our wedding at Railey Bay Resort 2011.
A full-day and long night with 60 guests.
This day was the absolute best in our lives (so far) with magical elements such as fire balloons, gorgeous beach dining and exceptional service.

We can highly recommend this hotel to everyone from the individual, to larger groups.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nikoandpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

Railay Bay is a beautiful area to visit in Thailand. Our stay was very pleasent but the price for peak season was high. I think I would agree with reviews that this is probably not a 4 or 5 star resort but it didn't seem like any of the other places were unless you stayed at the Rayeedee. Having said that, we weren't disappointed with our stay. Our accomodations in a privacy cottage was incredible. Our room was cleaned well daily and we really enjoyed having an outdoor shower.

The staff was wonderful and helpful. They were also accomodating for a late check-out. Special thanks to Noon (I hope I spelt that correctly) who was a pleasure to see daily. You were so helpful.

The pool was lovely and we had no problems getting beachfront sunbeds daily. Great location and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaliOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

I stayed here for the first part of my holiday and was not at all disappointed.
It wasnt the best hotel that i have ever stayed in, but was not the worst.
It had everything that you needed and the staff were friendly and helpful.
The food on the restaurant was great, with a great breakfast.
All in all i have no complaints about this resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adst73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

We spent Christmas 2010 at the Railay Bay Resort and Spa. We had already been to Railay Bay at Easter and stayed at another hotel next door, but although that was fine, we far preferred the Railay Bay Resort and Spa. We went with our three teenage daughters and took two privacy cottages. We had a fabulous stay. The location is incomparable right on the most beautiful beach, with two pools, a busy one right on the beach and a much quieter one further back from the beach where you could always find a sunbed. We found the staff to be very helpful, friendly and polite, from the cleaning staff and gardeners to the receptionists. We were particularly grateful for their extreme kindness and help when one of my daughters had to be hospitalised on our first night. They swiftly arranged for a boat to take us to Krabi town at 11.00 at night, and for us to be accompanied on the boat, driven to a clinic and then on to the hospital and were extremely helpful and cheerful which was just what we needed at a worrying time. The next day they sent another wonderful hotel rep to help us with the formalities and language barriers in the hospital, and on our return to the hotel presented my daughter with a beautiful basket of fruit and flowers to welcome her back which cheered her up enormously! The rooms were clean, and excellently maintained and the privacy cottages were just lovely - spacious and well appointed and each had a outdoor shower and jacuzzi, sunbeds, ponds with waterlilies and fish and chairs and tables in each one and of course complete privacy within our little gardens.

The only slight issue I could name was the rather slow restaurant service, but it was very busy at peak season, and anyway we were on holiday and had all the time in the world. I have to say that the Christmas music in the restaurant was rather loud, cheesy and repetitive, and the Christmas Gala Dinner on Christmas Eve was, shall I say extraordinary! It all looked extremely beautiful but was a very OTT experience with Thai Santas and Santarinas running riot and loads of very manic entertainment on the stage which was set up on the beach. I have to say the food, although extremely plentiful and varied, was not the greatest on that evening, but the overall experience was definitely memorable. We were, however, very relieved on Christmas Day when all the music and mania had ceased in the restaurant and peace and tranquility was restored (no more of that crazy Christmas music!)

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, lovely gardens and surroundings. True Railay is more expensive than other parts of Thailand we have stayed in, but I wouldn't hesitate to return the the Railay Bay Resort and Spa in the future. It's a wonderful and relaxing place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1busylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Surrey
Level Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

We got upgraded because it was our honeymoon, we got upgraded to a private villa and when we were taken to our room the spa was filled up and they showed us around. On closer inspection though you can see things aren't as clean as you think. I got really bad sunburn on the first day, stupidly, which resulted in me being very ill during the night. The smell around the toilet is horrible. They drained the spa on the 2nd day and various water features around the complex are either empty or dirty. Staff were ok, only ok, no more no less. Location is good for a lovely beach and quiet but it'sover at East Railay where the nightlife is, although you wouldn't want to stay overe there unless you were back packing. Eat at the little family run restaurants, so cheap but excellent food. Pool is nice and overlooks the beach, lovely view. Don't expect good service from the little poolside bar, grab a beer and that's it. On the plus side, there's a handy convenice shop on site and an Internet cafe.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duckett10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

The hotel is right in the very center of Railay Bay. We stayed for 3 nights at the privacy cottage. The room is very spacious, huge bed (though the bed is hard but it is completely fine with us! Still comfy), cable tv, jacuzzi with daybeds outside, mini porch. I love it!
We had our breakfast(with a view!) in their restaurant. So many to choose from the buffet. Staffs are ever so friendly. It is located at west side of Railay.

I was a bit disappointed when we ate our dinner at the restaurant. Their service is so slow. It took them 30mis to serve their dishes and they missed out 1 friedrice for my husband that took another 30mins to wait that i lost my appetite.

Overall i will still come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myh_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.0 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railay Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 145 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Amphur Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A pearl in the Andaman for you to touch." Railay Bay Resort & Spa is part of an exclusive group of resorts that have beach front access to the renowned Railay Beach, which is perfectly located in Krabi, a most picturesque province. You will find that we are the only beach resort that has a West to East orientation at Railay Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Railay Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Bay Hotel Krabi Town
Railay Bay Resort And Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing