We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sand Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Joshua Tree, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“What a Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

We spent four nights at the Sand Sea Resort in December 2010. We booked rather late and were only able to get a bungalow with a fan. We were slightly worried that the fan would not be enough to cool down the room, but this turned out not to be the case.

The detached bungalow (#110) was roughly half way between the West and East Railay beaches, which was perfect for our needs (we were there to rock climb). A beautiful brick path leads from the main portion of the resort on the West Railay beach to the bungalows.

Breakfast came with our room rate. It was buffet style and great. You simply cannot beat the view from the tables on the beach!

We also had lunch and dinner at the resort several times. The food was good, but the service a bit lacking. Despite ordering both meals at the same time, one would consistently arrive 15-30 minutes after the first was delivered and not without a reminder to the server. In each instance it was a different server, so this seems to be a systemic problem rather than that of one poor waiter.

The hotel does not serve alcohol, but you can walk 50 yards down the beach, buy it at the nearby mini-mart and bring it back to have with your lunch or dinner (Singha does not go particularly well with pancakes, so skip bringing beer to breakfast) .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmarieJoshuaTree_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    592
    279
    94
    101
See reviews for
256
720
58
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed here and have enjoyed it just as much this time. We opted for the fan room, which was fine at this time of year. Even though the rooms are basic, you come here for the amazing location, one that cannot be beaten. The staff were friendly and helpful but the breakfast was a little strange. I would come here again as it is value for money and as I said, an amazing location!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomfoster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

This was in the perfect location on the west side of the island. It was absolutely fine and I recommend it for anyone who has emphasis on what they do in the day and just need a sound, comfortable room at night. The room was perfectly clean, bed comfortable and had a well-stocked mini bar, and the pool was great. Restaurant food was so-so but being located next to everything else that s pretty much irrelevant. I stayed in the superior AC bungalow. It wasn t fancy but good value for money.

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank merial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aksai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

The resort is located on Railay west beach.
The bungalow was well comfortable.
The personnel is well mannered and helpful.
The breakfast included was great, variety of fruits and cakes!
The pool is very nice.
Phranang beach, view point and Tonsai bay are at walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serik1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

Air con Bungalows are comfortable... good location, but when they say they have hot water they really mean it. Damn hot!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HugoAndres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

We visited a few areas in Krabi, and this was the worst. We entered West Railay by ferry, transferred to a long tail boat which took us to shore. The entrance was truly stunning - the bay and cliffs are gorgeous!! Unfortunately, that was the only good part. Upon check-in at Sand Sea Resort, we were taken to our standard fan room which was really quite terrible. It smelled like a sewer, and soon found that there was an open sewer hole behind the cottage! We were travelling with our one year old and three year old daughters, and were shocked that this room would be assigned to anyone, let alone a family with small children! When we complained, we were told all the rooms were full, but upon asking to talk to the manager, we were upgraded to a standard air-condition room at no charge. This was better, but still very poor quality for the price, especially compared to places we stayed in Ao Nang and Koh Lanta. One may have better luck with one of the more expensive rooms, as they did look much better from the outside, but stay away from the standard rooms. Sand Sea Resort calls itself "family friendly" but while baby cots and high chairs are provided, the ones that we received were either filthy or broken. We found Railay in general to be very expensive, crowded and dirty compared to other resort areas in Krabi. We would not recommend Sand Sea Resort (or Railay) for families with young children, and we won't be visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy_0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Railay Beach hotels

India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

Good value for money if you are looking to stay on the West Railay side. The best part is that most rooms are just 2-3 mins walk from the beach so you can make multiple trips - very helpful when you are traveling with children. Rooms are clean and comfortable though not luxurious - you get what you pay for. Restaurant is on the beachfront so makes for lovely romantic dinners though we didn't find food at most restaurants on Railay to be very remarkable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank himrahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
6.6 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#7 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#9 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Sea Resort

Property: Sand Sea Resort
Address: 39 Moo 2, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's stunning views across majestic limestone outcrops, golden sands and the beautiful clear, turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea it's easy to see why Railay Beach is regarded as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. And with our choice of private, luxurious bungalows and suites you can be sure your stay at the Sand Sea Resort will be a holiday you'll never forget. Experience for yourself the beautiful smiles of Asian hospitality whilst you dine at our beachside restaurant where we offer a choice of the very finest Thai cuisine, famed throughout the world, or alternatively choose from our wide section of delicious Chinese and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Sand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Sea Hotel Railay Beach
Sand Sea Krabi
Sand Sea Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing