We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view on Railay West”
Review of Sand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sand Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best view on Railay West”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

How often do you get to enjoy breakfast by the sea with the sound of lapping waves? The location of Sand Sea Resort gives you just that, and a bird eye's view of all that is going on along the beach on Railay West.

Sand Sea Resort is fortunate to score well for its location.

We stayed at the Grand Deluxe building, and agreed that the second floor gives you more privacy that the first if you would like to rest on the balcony. The room was very new and had a clean feel, but unfortunately there were way too many mosquitoes. It was an uncomfortable stay. Coupled by the extremely limited channels on tv, we didn't enjoy our rest in the room.

Like the rest of the reviews, the breakfast and service was mediocre.

We engaged them for the transfer from Ao Nam Mo Pier and it was well executed.

Room Tip: Go for Grand Deluxe Building and choose the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelgoGetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    622
    286
    101
    104
See reviews for
272
763
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great location on the West Railay Beach. The Sand Sea Resort is right smack in the middle with a restaurant overlooking the beach. We visited during off peak season and it was perfect. We took a long tail boat from Ao Nang to West Railay Beach. As soon as we arrived, we were greeted with welcome drinks. After checking in, the golf carts and people were ready to transport us and our luggage to the room. We stayed in the Grand Deluxe room and it was perfect with a soaking tub and outdoor patio with seating area. Breakfast was okay, dinner was good Thai food. We had a great time. I would highly recommend staying at the Grand Deluxe at Sand Sea Resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funshinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Location is the best on the most beautiful beach in Thailand, stay close to nature with sandy beach. If you are the rock climber, this is really the place. Room was new and clean. Travel agencies are available. What I don't like was the food in the hotel, which was too expensive and what I like most is alcohol was not allowed here. Will come back here again

Room Tip: Tip: Only 2 sea view bungalow rooms are available in this hotel. You can't see the sea from you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

What can I say.....the location is paradise....one of the most beautiful and scenic locations you can find! When you wake up in the morning and look outside you will be amazed. I am surprised that the hotel does not have better reviews. The rooms were lovely and big. Us - 2 adult and 2 kids fit without issues into the giant king bed. The bathroom was huge. Breakfast was just fine, with plenty of selection. Some reviews mentioned a smell coming from some rooms. We noticed that, and I believe it is a drainage issue, but it did not really bother us. The hotel restaurant is great, with lovely fresh seafood selection. Overall a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Choose new rooms and not the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarOmsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is outdated and service is terrible. We sat at check in for almost two hours trying to coordinate between expedia and Sand Sea for an upgrade that we had. Staff could have cared less, and we had to take all initiative to sort it out and not pay the full difference in room few for the upgrade. Only redeeming quality is the beach.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kellyb1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Railay Beach hotels

Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

If you would like to stay at Railay beach, the best beach is on the west. This hotel is direct on a postcard beach. We stayed in a deluxe room which was big and with great comfort.

Swimming pool was perfect for our young daughters.

A tip is to use the transfer service of the hotel. its is affordable and very well run.

Only bad thing I can say is that the 3rd bed we asked for was a really crap bed. The normal bed was perfect.

Room Tip: Take the new deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights to do some rock climbing in Railay. It's very luxurious compared to where I normally stay, but well worth the money. The staff were friendly, the bungalow/hut was gorgeous with a really nice bathroom. The are 2 pools to choose from if the beach isn't your thing (it's a stones throw away! ). I had some good sea food in the restaurant and the breakfast is decent. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.0 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
781 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,422 reviews
2.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Sea Resort

Property: Sand Sea Resort
Address: 39 Moo 2, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's stunning views across majestic limestone outcrops, golden sands and the beautiful clear, turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea it's easy to see why Railay Beach is regarded as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. And with our choice of private, luxurious bungalows and suites you can be sure your stay at the Sand Sea Resort will be a holiday you'll never forget. Experience for yourself the beautiful smiles of Asian hospitality whilst you dine at our beachside restaurant where we offer a choice of the very finest Thai cuisine, famed throughout the world, or alternatively choose from our wide section of delicious Chinese and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Sea Hotel Railay Beach
Sand Sea Krabi
Sand Sea Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing