We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but poor service”
Review of Sand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sand Sea Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Excellent lication in Raily west, where the beach is better. Rooms perfect, specially in tne new buildings.people say that bungalows are quite old.

BUT worst service ever found in thailand.People from restaurant are simply rude, and people from reception not helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mendifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,494)
There are newer reviews for Sand Sea Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

I don't tell anything about the rooms in this hotel (a lot of people from Russia like to stay there), but after dinner in sand sea my wife was seriously poisoned with fish. Do not recommend to eat there if u do not want to spent some days in hotel roome

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bigkreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed in one of the new 'deluxe' rooms on the 1st floor and it was really very good. The hotel is ideally located, right in the middle of the beach. The room was clean, spacious and modern. The balcony was awesome for monkey watching! Pool was good. Restaurant looked OK, but we didn't eat there as there are so many other options nearby. Staff were all very pleasant.

All in all, I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yes_Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Sand Sea Resort is a decent resort with rustic cottages and a newer building that offers more modern rooms. We stayed in the Junior Suite Cottages which were sufficient, but if I were to return, I would try out the newer Grand Deluxe Building, probably one of the second floor rooms with a balcony.

Sand Sea Resort is located on Railay West Beach, which is quite crowded during the day but a nice beach early in the morning and late evening, definitely the best beach in Railay. It is also quite easy to walk to many of the rock climbing areas in Railay or you can rent a sea kayak to explore the limestone karsts that rise out of the water. The resort itself has 2 pools. The one that is closer to the beach can be a bit crowded and noisy, but the one near the back has nice views of the karst mountains and was never crowded, which made it a nice relaxing place to read a book or get a bit of sun.

The staff at the hotel are quite friendly, providing shuttle service with a golf cart to take you and your luggage to your room upon check-in and and check-out. They also helped arrange transportation from the resort to Krabi airport which went very smoothly.

The resort does not have very good food selections and was over priced, but we found some decent places to eat by walking about 5-10 minutes inland down the Walking Street, such as Mangroves and the Local Thai Food Restaurant where the food is delicious and very affordable. However, I think the food at most the resorts on Railay West Beach, including Sand Sea, is to be avoided. (See some of my other reviews of Railay restaurants for more details on places to eat and not too eat).

I am hoping to one day return to Railay and do some more climbing. I will definitely consider staying in the Grand Deluxe Building but will eat my meals at the smaller, more affordable and more delicious Thai restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flyingm0nkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

There are about 5 places to stay on Hat Railay West (the nice beach) of which this is the cheapest and best value. The other side (Hat Railay East) is a mangrove muddy beach and not very nice (with a lot of rubbish that never seems to be cleaned up by anyone.)

Our Bungalow was well equipped (bathroom was quite simple but ok) and there are two good swimming pools. Breakfast was eratic - omelettes were good as well as little cakes etc but the hot options were either good or very bad. They change each day and range from fired rice with chicken (which was nice) to very overcooked fish in a cheese sauce which was awful (I know - why eat fish in cheese at breakfast but it was there so I tried it!)

We tried dinner there one night but it was just ok and service wasn't amazing. I would eat elsewhere which we did the other nights (if you go down walking street and a little further on there are about 5 places together and we had some great meals from these quite simple looking restaurants.)

If you want to stay on the nice beach (and why wouldn't you if you are coming to Railay) then this place is a good pick unless you want to spend a lot more.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Francophile101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The arrival process and check-in went smoothly. Staff were pleasant and helpful from check-in all the way to arranging our onward travel from Railay to Krabi Airport.

We booked the nicer bungalows, and they were located nearer to the front of the resort. The shower in the bathroom was a bit odd, and yet it worked jus fine. Everything went well, no problems or complaints. If I were to return I would probably opt for the newer building, with a room that is not at ground level.

There are two pools on the property, and we always opted for the one further away from the beach. We never had difficulty getting sun lounge chairs, and the pool was never crowded. All in all, very nice. An added bonus was monkeys traveling through the trees near the pool during the afternoon hours. I do not know if they follow a schedule, but they came through around the same time on back to back days during our stay.

The beach in front of the hotel busy during the day, and very nice for relaxing in the evening. There are other beaches within walking distance that provide alternatives.

The (included) breakfast was highly disappointing. I've seen reviews here raving about the breakfast, so my expectations were high, only to be shattered by the experience. I've traveled extensively in Asia, and have had many experiences much better than what Sand Sea provides. The breakfast is adequate, and less than good.

We took all of our dinners along the trail that starts with the shopping street at the beach. I can recommend Mangrove, as well as the real Thai (organic) food restaurant next door. The food was fresh and delicious.

Finally, Sand Sea was a pleasant experience, Railay is uniquely interesting (compared to neighboring areas), particularly if you are interested in climbing, and less expensive than comparable options on Ko Phi Phi and (perhaps) Phuket.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank AtlantaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was our 3rd trip to Railay Beach in Krabi. It's one of our favourite beaches. We had previously stayed at Railay Bay during off-peak in August and Railay Village during peak at the end of January. We wanted to try another resort on West Railay and chose Sand Sea Resort based on previous reviews here. The check-in was smooth and they took us to our room. The room size is generous with a large bed, a lounge and a large bathroom. But the bathroom was not clean - the water stains were not cleaned from the shower stall and the sink. It looks like it hasn't been scrubbed in a long time. Housekeeping doesn't seem to replenish items like toilet paper and toiletries. They only provide 2 towels for shower, and 2 towels for beach, no hand towels. The breakfast was hugely disappointing. We love hotel stays as the breakfast is always the best part. Firstly, the hours are short 7am-10am only. The food was of poor quality. I would normally have both hot and cold but only ended up eating fruit and toast. Thankfully, there are other options for food on Railay for lunch and dinner and we were not succumbed to dining at Sand Sea Resort.
On another note, we have been here twice before, we noticed that the beaches are a lot more crowded than they used to be. Our next trip would definitely be during off-peak season as we still love Railay!

Room Tip: Do not choose a room to close to the beach as you're near the pool and you will hear the engines...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunithaDSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.0 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#6 of 13 in Railay Beach
920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
806 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
2,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Sea Resort

Address: 39 Moo 2, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: $47 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's stunning views across majestic limestone outcrops, golden sands and the beautiful clear, turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea it's easy to see why Railay Beach is regarded as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. And with our choice of private, luxurious bungalows and suites you can be sure your stay at the Sand Sea Resort will be a holiday you'll never forget. Experience for yourself the beautiful smiles of Asian hospitality whilst you dine at our beachside restaurant where we offer a choice of the very finest Thai cuisine, famed throughout the world, or alternatively choose from our wide section of delicious Chinese and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Sea Hotel Railay Beach
Sand Sea Krabi
Sand Sea Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing