We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sand Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 9 nights and we are happy. Nice room. Shower and bath. Clean and good room service (no room service with food). Excellent place. Next to the awesome beach. Good value for money. Bad restaurant but plenty around. Two nice swimming pools. Not selling alcohol here but lot of bars around...

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vitezslav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    606
    283
    96
    103
See reviews for
265
739
59
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
mpls
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our family stayed at the Sand Sea Resort for 4 nights. The location is really amazing with tall cliffs surrounding a bay with beautiful blue-green water. However, the whole area is over crowded and the beach is noisy with long tailed boats coming and going. The resort itself has a variety of rooms in bungalows and buildings going back from the beach (none of the rooms are on the beach). We stayed in one of the newer buildings in a spacious deluxe room with balcony. The room was nice with all amenities but the area is just so crowded and really not a lovely tropical setting. There is also a sewerage smell that pervades the area. The resort has two pools - one near the front of the resort by the restaurant and one near that back that is quieter and seems to cater more to families. The restaurant is mediocre and even the free breakfast was not worth it with watered down juices and other lackluster offerings. Better to have your meals at one of the other resorts/restaurants on the beach. The staff was fairly friendly and agreed to allow us to leave 2 days earlier than our booking without penalty (we stayed 4 of the 6 days we booked). There is just too much to see in Thailand to spend so much time at an average resort. All that said, if you can imagine the area without the crowds and boats, it is really a lovely beach and a picturesque setting. The best thing we did was hire a long tailed boat to take us out to the islands for snorkeling and a day on the water. Really, really beautiful and memorable! Our boat captain could not have been friendlier and we enjoyed the experience immensely. However, I worry about the strain on the ecosystem with so much over crowding.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms in the new buildings at the back of the resort are the best and are very spacious with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We arrived here after new years 2014 and we were so thrilled with our stay. The hotel was great location, right near the beach. The pool was lovely and we were able to get sun beds if we wanted them. It's a great location as you can walk all around the island and see lots of difference parts. The food was great and you can use any of the other hotels restaurants as well which is good. The only thing we were unaware of was they did not sell alcohol at the hotel, however there are minimarts and bars locally which you can buy and drink at the hotel restaurant.

I found the hut we stayed in lovely, it had a huge Jacuzzi bath and a wet room shower, the bed was comfy and they cleaned the rooms well each day. The rooms also had bath robes, beach bags and mats for you to use.

All in all I loved this holiday and I would recommend it to anyone and would most definitely go back and stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaEales100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Rooms were average the hotel does not serve alcohol so we did not eat there the location was good but the staff didn't understand English or choose to ignore any requests and were not very helpful the two pools are great if you can get a us bed which isn't in the shade I thought it was overpriced for Thailand I wouldn't be tempted to return

Room Tip: Need villa near middle and not on back wall which is public walkway to bars etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Wow of all the spots I stayed down south I found this to be the nicest area and nicest hotel i stayed in.. Beautiful area and friendly staff , great pool and great area on the beach.. Will stay there again for sure! Highly recommend !

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasonburk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Railey is the most overcrowded beach we've been to. More people than Cannes, France in July. Beautiful scenery, but in high tide the beach is 2 meters wide.
This hotel is centrally located. The balconies are nice but overlooking mosquito ponds. Room is clean, but it is like a terrible DIY project that got old and was never repaired. The towel rack fell off the wall, but is still hanging on by half a screw. The shower curtain has black mold. The shower head only points straight down into the wall, this could be a good thing though since there is only boiling hot or freezing cold water. Nothing feels better than scalding hot water on your sunburn after a long hot day! It took 10 hours to cool the room down from 35 degrees with the pathetic airconditioner. There are no lamps next to the bed, so bring a flashlight if you plan to read in bed. Not that cheap, so all in all I would suggest finding cheaper hotel on East Railay Beach.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Railay Beach hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is pretty good. The room was nice, clean, AC, beach towels, bottled water every day. 2 pools, both nice, relaxing. Breakfast was ok, lots of random different dishes, not many you really want for breakfast - tempura veg, noodles, spaghett bolenaise, garlic bread to name a few! They do fresh omelettes which were good and a good selection of fruit.

Railay is not the peaceful beach it once was, the long tailed boats are very noisy and run all day, at night if you choose to leave the beach for some decent Thai food you are looking at an expensive boat trip back home any time after 6pm. The food on Railay is all average at best and expensive. Railay east is such a dump I felt sickened every time we had to venture over, mangroves bulldozed through, litter everywhere, concrete right up to the waters edge, poor service. Ao nang has some charm but just so many tourists.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.0 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#3 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
6.6 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Sea Resort

Property: Sand Sea Resort
Address: 39 Moo 2, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's stunning views across majestic limestone outcrops, golden sands and the beautiful clear, turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea it's easy to see why Railay Beach is regarded as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. And with our choice of private, luxurious bungalows and suites you can be sure your stay at the Sand Sea Resort will be a holiday you'll never forget. Experience for yourself the beautiful smiles of Asian hospitality whilst you dine at our beachside restaurant where we offer a choice of the very finest Thai cuisine, famed throughout the world, or alternatively choose from our wide section of delicious Chinese and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Sea Hotel Railay Beach
Sand Sea Krabi
Sand Sea Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing