We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful white sandy railey beach only accessible by boat”
Review of Sand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sand Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful white sandy railey beach only accessible by boat”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was given a chalet type of superior room facing the swimming pool. The resort is beautifully located by the beach front and the beach is secluded and private and limit only to resorts' guests. Phi phi islands is just an hour boat trip away. We arranged from the hotel a full day 4 islands hopping trip which included snorkeling and lunch at phi phi island.We had our dinners at the beach front restaurant and the environment is so romantic. Highly recommended to those who is now planning a trip to krabi.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaunesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    622
    286
    101
    104
See reviews for
271
763
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
354 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in one of the garden rooms which was very clean and had good outdoor space. We arrived by longtail boat, which was interesting as we had too wade out to it, loggage held aloft. But the beach is right in front of the hotel which was great.
There are a couple of bars and places too eat close to the hotel, which served better quality food than the hotel.
There is building work taking place, but this does not cause any disturbance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

just some staff at reception and waitress that we can see they can do their job well, others were so so. The room was clean but once the maid cleaned our room already, I still saw rubbish in front of the room that she didn't take it away. It was still there until last day we checked out. The food is not that bad. Lucky that we chose the rigth side of Railay in this Western side, it has a lot better view than the Eastern side and more windy and we can walk along the beach in this side since the Eastern side we can just walk on the pathway and just only some parts of this side that we can see a wide view of the sea. Even the Eastern side has more restaurants and hotels, but it's not a problem because it takes just a few minutes to walk from the hotel. I'm still happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pan2328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in one of the new rooms which was very modern & clean. Only down point is the room did not have draws for storage apart from that no problems. Right on beach front with great view of boats coming & going. Great place for relaxing if you can block out noise of construction by the pool.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah n Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel staff accused my family of taking a Lipton canned drink from the mini bar in our hotel room, and insisted we pay for it, though we did no such thing. We paid for it because we didn't have time to argue.

They also charged an additional person for a buffet lunch, even though my mum only authorised payment for two people. The additional charge appeared in the final bill that my uncle paid for since he didn't know about how many of us ate at the buffet lunch.

There were also ants crawling all over the bathroom wall. The hot water was inconsistent. The food was awful and expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhysennKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Railay Beach hotels

HELSTON
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here in the cheapest room available which we thought would b basic and a fan for just over 30 a night. It was far better than expected and we had air con. The bungalow was perfectly situated and opened onto the pool and had everything you could want inside. ..tv, hanging rails, big bed, air con, safe. They had chairs and a table to Sit outside as well. Our only issue was with the shower and we couldn't get a continuous flow of the same temp. It continually went from to hot to to cold.
It was a short walk to either West or East Railay and near to a mini mart.
I have been to krabi many times and was disappointed with it this time. It seemed as a whole quite run down and not a picturesque as usual which could b due to poor weather. We were glad of the back pool with the hotel and this was amazing to relax in right by our bungalow.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REBECCAR141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Where to start...
Booked 6 nights at sand sea resort. Something like $68 per night. This was the reduced agoda rate from about $115 per night.
Arrived Railay east Beach and after a short walk found the resort On the other side of the peninsula. No problem...nice walk..Checked in and went for an explore.
The scenery is absolutely awesome from the resort open air dining area and it fronts the most magnificent beach and stunning limestone cliffs rising dramatically out from the sea.
The superior room I booked looked presentable, although later inspection revealed this was only skin deep.. Cracks in walls, telephone cables bared and spliced together by twisting the wires together and it appears the same has been done with electric cables under the bedside lamp table.
Bed was comfy..room service every day.
The pool was nice, and after exploring a little, found another pool at the other end of the property, which was just as nice, all set in a nice tropical feeling location.
Rooms are very quiet, which is nice if you don't sleep so well.
I'd have to be pushed to Say it was value for money even at the discount.
And this is where all the happiness ended.
Almost The entire compliment of staff had no grasp of English whatsoever, so this made it very difficult indeed for such things as enquiries about food, buying internet (I now have a bald patch on my head from tearing hair out with frustration over this...)...pretty much anything that required some type of explanation was met with blank stares and in most cases, staff just walking away.
Which would be fine, if I was in some remote village up in the far north of Thailand. I wasn't. I was at a major tourist destination, most of whose guests communicate in English. Im just at a loss to explain why no staff at the resort had any comprehension whatsoever of anything that was being asked. In fact, I'll go one step further by saying there seemed to be some smug satisfaction in being as unhelpful as possible while endevouring to make you look like an idiot. This is especially true of the young lady who operates the convenience store, who, when finished her lengthy conversations on her mobile phone, saw fit to routinely raise her voice and bark out the prices of things where it wasn't clear what the price was. And even then, what she was barking out was incomprehensible..except to someone who speaks Thai. But when it came to actually snatching money from my hands, and slamming change on the counter was when Id had enough of this place and its incredibly rude, smug, incompetent staff.
In summary, I would say that I have never had this level of widespread disrespect shown to me either in Malaysia or indeed other parts of south east Asia, as I have here.
In the context of an international, albeit budget resort, staff having no grasp of English whatsoever is unfathomable..especially in the event of a medical emergency.
This place (krabi),geographically, is heaven On earth. The resort is not. I wont be back until the management at sand sea resort figure out that the hospitality industry is about just that...HOSPITALITY.

Room Tip: A good room would be at the next resort down the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.0 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
895 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#3 of 13 in Railay Beach
781 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,414 reviews
2.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Sea Resort

Property: Sand Sea Resort
Address: 39 Moo 2, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's stunning views across majestic limestone outcrops, golden sands and the beautiful clear, turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea it's easy to see why Railay Beach is regarded as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. And with our choice of private, luxurious bungalows and suites you can be sure your stay at the Sand Sea Resort will be a holiday you'll never forget. Experience for yourself the beautiful smiles of Asian hospitality whilst you dine at our beachside restaurant where we offer a choice of the very finest Thai cuisine, famed throughout the world, or alternatively choose from our wide section of delicious Chinese and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Sea Hotel Railay Beach
Sand Sea Krabi
Sand Sea Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing