We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“West is the best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sand Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“West is the best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked a week here as part of our babymoon and we're so glad we did. First of all, staying on west Railay Beach is definitely the best. The resort is right on a beautiful beach and it's way quieter than party-central on east Railay. We stayed in a Jr. Suite Cottage which was right by the front pool but not close enough to feel like there was a lot of traffic right outside our front door. Plus there's some foliage to block the view, which is well-manicured. There's a cute little porch in front with two adirondak chairs. Inside was sufficiently nice, certainly a great value for the money, although the decor appeared to have primed 10-15 years ago. The bathroom had a two-person jacuzzi tub, which was fun and we did use it. The shower was awkwardly RIGHT next to the toilet without any kind of surround or curtain. It got everything wet so we ended up using the sprayer from the tub and kind of sat in the tub to "shower" instead. The air con, lights, etc. only turn on when you put your key card in a slot inside the front door, presumably to save electricity. It was fine because the air con cooled the room down quickly anyway. The breakfast buffet each morning was generous and all the tables have a fantastic view right on the beach. Get there early because the food goes cold! We didn't have any of our meals there otherwise due to other reviews and the fact that they don't serve alcohol (for my husband). We enjoyed splitting our time between the front pool and the beach, just steps away from each other. What a life, right? I'll echo other poster's comments about subpar service, that was our experience as well, and also the same as the place we stayed in Bangkok so maybe it's a country-wide thing. No friendly greetings, hard to get their attention in the restaurant, they just kind of stand around in clusters and talk to each other ignoring guests. I asked for another towel one day and was denied, too.

It's a five minute walk down a well-lit path from the hotel to the boardwalk of east Railay which has lots of restaurants, bars, a couple mini marts, etc. But it's all mangroves over there, no swimming beaches. On west Railay a 2 minute walk down the beach there's a cute walking street with some cafes and shops. I'll let you in on a secret one of the shop owners told us -- the absolute BEST food came from a little shack of a place called something like Local Thai Food. If you walk down the Walking Street away from the beach and you keep to the left, the path ducks under a downed tree and right after that on the left there are two little open-air places. It's the second one. Great food and super cheap.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SuperZuber34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    605
    282
    96
    103
See reviews for
264
737
59
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Don't believe the bad reviews!!! We stayed for 5 days in February (5th to 10th) and for the location right on Railay West beach this is the best value hotel. We had 3 bungalows between us in the area behind reception up to the new pool at the back of the resort, both the pools are really nice, the one by the beach has a green hoarding up but you don't even notice it, but anyway we were out all day so didn't need a pool but we did swim in both as they were so inviting. The bungalows were clean enough and had very good aircon and no mosquitos if you keep the door closed. There were times when the water wasn't hot but to be honest you don't need hot water as you need to cool off most of the time and the water was always at least a bit warm not like cold water in London!
Breakfast was pretty good when compared to other places we stayed in Thailand, you can't expect western sausage and bacon, the Thai option was always good, good coffee and variety of fruit. We didn't eat in the evening so restaurant untested but Railay has so many options including Utopia Indian which is worth finding.
We did 2 boat trips booked through the hotel both of which pick up on the beach, Phi Phi by speed boat and 4 'islands' by longtail, both excellent days out with good food, ask at the hotel activity and travel office.
We would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Bungalows between reception and the rear pool have the prettiest location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for 14 nights and we really love the place. The rooms are good and clean enough. The only thing that really turned us off is the (un-) friendlyness of some staff. There were really nice people but these were the exception. In the restaurant you had to fight to get a waiter to take your order (the only good thing was, that you did not get bothered while reading a book drinking your own drinks). In the attached mini mart you did not even get a 'hello' when coming in and if there was something wrong (an order in the restaurant for example) you felt like this was your mistake.
So we mainly enjoyed the scenery and the pool with the kids, but most of the time went to other places at the east beach for lunch or dinner. Here staff is much more friendly, food is the same quality and the price is 30-50% off. One prominent example of this: The minimart in the walking street sells a large Singha for 130 Baht, while the minimart on the east beach sells it for 90 Bath....

Room Tip: We liked it close to the first pool (Room 201 and 202). However, the new build rooms looked very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jochen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in the Grand Deluxe in the new section of the resort next to the second (new) pool. Rooms were amazing. Big bathtub for two :) Big bed for 3 :) Balcony was big enough for a morning yoga and right by the second pool. This is an amazing place to stay when on the island. Hotel had great water sports opportunities and right next to the bar and restaurant. Also they managed to move our booking at no extra costs. Very professional, clean, organised, right on the beach. Basically its perfect. If feeling lazy with luggage or walking about you can call the front desk and they send a golf buggy :)

Room Tip: Dont book ongoing travel through the hotel travel centre as its double the price of what it is on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chirakli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the Sand Sea Resort in Febuary 2013. We had 3 rooms between 5 people, and had NO HOT WATER Half the time, and often had to run the water for about 20mins the rest of the time waiting for hot water to come through. The cleaning service was also TERRIBLE; we had sand all over our floors and in our beds the staff never swept the floor once in the entire 5 days we were there! There was also NO BINS, and we put our rubbish in a plastic bag. After 5 days the rubbish had spilled out onto our floor in a huge pile because the Maids NEVER came and took it away! When we came to pay for our room and expressed to the staff that we were upset over their lack of service, they DID NOT EVEN APOLOGIZE, and instead just kept thrusting a calculator in our faces showing the amount that we owed. They also refused to give us a discount, and charged us full price. For the price we paid (Quite expensive), the service and rooms were DEFINITELY NOT WORTH THE MONEY. We also think we may have gotten sick from the breakfast buffet; as 3 of us got FOOD POISONING whilst staying there, and we were the only 3 who ever ate breakfast from their buffet. The staff who we explained our problems to were also extremely RUDE and ARROGANT. BEWARE this hotel, Take your money elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Railay Beach hotels

Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

A really marvellous stay. New rooms are very nice..top floor recommended. New swimming pool a definite plus very friendly Thai staff. Location is the key. Right on the beach.. Easy walking distance to everywhere. More bars and shops on east side. Nice little bars and restaurants between including cinema! See to believe . Down side: poor management, non Thai staff rude & unhelpful. No alcohol (not a major problem), food moderate. The beach round the corner well worth a look. Travel light as you need to lift your case on & off the boats. Best time on beach in the morning before it gets to hot and the day trippers arrive. Will be back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Huge executive bungalow, no alcohol but you can buy form mini mart and take to restaurant or room. Gorgeous beach with no one selling you stuff. Kayaking is amazing and only 100bht back to the main beach of Ao Nang one way. Breakfast was good. Recommend if you have the bucks to spend. Cost AUD $175 per night but worth it after the horrible places I stayed in in Ao Nang it was nice to feel the resort experience

Room Tip: Executive Bungalow if you can afford it! Can watch TV from the tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.0 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#3 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
6.6 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Sea Resort

Property: Sand Sea Resort
Address: 39 Moo 2, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's stunning views across majestic limestone outcrops, golden sands and the beautiful clear, turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea it's easy to see why Railay Beach is regarded as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. And with our choice of private, luxurious bungalows and suites you can be sure your stay at the Sand Sea Resort will be a holiday you'll never forget. Experience for yourself the beautiful smiles of Asian hospitality whilst you dine at our beachside restaurant where we offer a choice of the very finest Thai cuisine, famed throughout the world, or alternatively choose from our wide section of delicious Chinese and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Sea Hotel Railay Beach
Sand Sea Krabi
Sand Sea Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing