We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional and inexpensive Thai food served in a bamboo hut.”

Mangrove Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 25 Restaurants in Railay Beach
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exceptional and inexpensive Thai food served in a bamboo hut.”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Railay is, like most of Southern Thailand, a bit cheaper than the rest of the country. This is also the case here. The restaurant has a simple decor and a laid back atmosphere, surrounded by jungle. They serve primarily Thai Food (which is less "westernized" than a lot of other places),and some international dishes (We did not eat any of these, but from what I saw o the next table you should stay away). The prices of Thai food usually range from 60-90 baht, so you can eat till you drop without making even a small dent in your bank account. Waiters are friendly and attentive and speak more than adequate enough English for the guest to make special requests or additions. We went here two times during our stay in Railay, and both times were great experiences. This is still the best Thai food during the first two weeks of our three week stay in the country.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank René A. L. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    210
    93
    37
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Dont let appearances fool you- this place is the real deal.
We had Chicken & Cashews - Penang Curry & rice
This is up there with the best I tasted in thailand - and Ive been coming here for 30 years
Delicious !!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snozzau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best food in a three week holiday to Thailand”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

if you are going to spend any time on Railay, you MUST visit this restaurant. It doesn't look much, but the food is the best Thai food we had during our entire trip around Thailand.

The meals are very cheap and you get quite big portions. I would recommend their fish cakes as a starter, for sure!


You must visit this place if you are on Railay!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mangrove never disappoints”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Best,affordable,tasty Thai food on Railey..a must visit if you are budget conscious . A big selection on the menu, quick service and excellent fruit shakes!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reuben59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great food and prices”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We ended up eating almost all of our meals at this restaurant during our five days in Railay. Not only were the prices reasonable, but the food was excellent and we did not get sick. We spoke to other travelers who did get sick from other restaurants so decided to stick to eating here. The waitstaff were nice, kind and helpful. While it is not 'gourmet', it was tasty. We tried almost everything on the menu without a disappointing dish. They even made sure to sit us at a table with a fan. And to top it off, the internet was speedy and consistently worked.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangrove Restaurant also viewed

 
Railay Beach, Krabi Town
 
Railay Beach, Krabi Town
Railay Beach, Krabi Town
 

Been to Mangrove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing