We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place, winter 2013”

Mangrove Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 24 Restaurants in Railay Beach
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Princeton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best place, winter 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Was being built just as I left, March 2012, my local (Thai) friends each and all steered me there Feb 2013, and it became my most frequented spots that month.
Restaurants have varied wildly over the past 14 years. This offered the best Thai food I've had there in the past decade, very reasonable prices.
My after-climbing mainstay, just walking back to Railay Garden View, was Mangrove's Mango Shake.
Mmmmmmmm!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank World_ER_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    201
    88
    35
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
333 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Good and very bad at the same time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We ate there two times, thus the poor mark : first time 4/5, second time 1/5.

The menu has a lot of choices, the food is quite good.

The second time we ate there, one of the shrimps in the plate was half green... we asked the staff, they said "it's shrimp eggs". We didn't eat this shrimp, but we found it at the end of eating the plate... too late, a few hours later, we were food intoxicated for the next 24 hours...just horrible.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Borissov06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sea Ranch, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We ate here one night and the Thai food was ok, not the best we had during our travels. Thought the reviews were very over rated.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank twickski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in Railay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

As mentioned before, the location and looks might look strange, but the food, the flavors and fruit shakes are awesome! The people there are also very kind (for e.g. we forgot a hat there and found it after two days).
Also, the prices are quite good when compared to other, maybe fancier restaurants in Railay, that do not serve such delicious thai food.

We would definitely return if we'll visit Railay again.

Thanks to the other trip-advisers that mentioned this place before! ;)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexandrumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This place is cheap and looks cheap but will give you the best food for your money. Everywhere else is overpriced for Thai standards with no quality to their thai cooking. I recommend this place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangrove Restaurant also viewed

 
Railay Beach, Krabi Town
Railay Beach, Krabi Town
 
Railay Beach, Krabi Town
Railay Beach, Krabi Town
 

Been to Mangrove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing