We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Railay Beach
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I recently returned to Sunrise and I felt compelled to re-review the experience because it was much less impressive then my trip last year. The restaurant and free breakfast remained good, but you can get cheaper and better food down the east side of Railay. There was ongoing construction, which caused loud noises throughout the day (not good for mid-day holiday naps). In a sense the place is an odd fixture in Railay because it is not nice enough to be one of the nice hotels and not cheap enough to be one of the budget hotels. Overall its definitely mid-range, but I suggest strongly considering spending a little extra money if you are already willing to pay enough to get out of the backpacker places.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money not to stay in a Tropical Chalay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 819 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, and booked 3 more while we were there, as Railay is stunning and the weather was great. We stayed the exrta nights in Sunrise as it was just convenient, and restaurants and bars are very close by (Railay itself is tiny anyway).
The rooms are clean, we slept well but there are mosquitos everywhere....
the breakfast is ok, not great.
But really, the staff were quite unfriendly. we had a 3 week thai holiday and found staff everywhere to be fantastic except for Sunrise.
The girls working in the restaurant were so unfriendly, I couldn't stop myself from asking one of them what the problem was.
One exception was that i binned my camera by mistake and the staff got it back for me from the big bins. I was thankful for that, but not much else from the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McCloudDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great value in low season - we took the cheapest room - "chalay". Spacious room, balcony with decent view over garden. Aircon is very noisy though even when not in use as ducts are connected to all the other rooms.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank dewbidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at the Sunrise Tropical Resort. Good location in Railay, but some downfalls-

1. No hot water in our first room 3006. Had to change rooms and they didn't offer a free upgrade for the trouble.

2. Noisy background noise even when air conditioner was off.

3. Breakfast was included, but was not great and service was lacking. Coffee was almost too bad to drink (Nescafé).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Nice place but not safe at all.I stayed for 3 nights. Unfortunately,the last day on Sept,30 2013at at early morning my iphone was stolen from room 1004 while I was sleeping.Until now, no any response yet from hotel,it seems that nothing happen. So disappointed ! Please be very careful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neng1335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We left Sunrise Tropical on September 16th after 4 nights at two Tropical Villa with a connecting door. We were there with our kids(13, 8, 4) for the third time. I think that Railay is a great place that lost his magic because of massive building and development. Since our last visit the Thais doubled the number of hotel rooms in this amazing tiny island. The environment is damaged and Railay has become more and more like other over developed island in Thailand. Sunrise Tropical is mor or less the same story. Nice place that lost the touch. We were acomadated in rooms next to construction site(you come all the way to Thailand to be acomadated on a construction site) with out even a worning. Yes they ofer to move us but not to the same room standart and with out even apologizing. Service in the restaurant is very basic, food is OK but with no inspiration or love. Pool is old, and you do not feel that someone care in the overall of things. Pity, after three time we are not about to come again neither to Sunrise Tropical nor to Railay - another spoiled great Tahi island.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rotem3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel arranged our hotel transfer from the airport. As we arrived in the evening we expected a more costly transfer, we were ok to pay 1200 bhts but in hindsight this may be on the high side. Upon arrival we could see that customer service at this hotel wasn't really their high point, however the villa plus / bungalow we booked and the location more than made up for this. The room itself was stunning, very spacious and clean . The outdoor shower was beautiful, however due to worries about mossies we only used this during the day. Breakfast was varied and tasty, a great range of European and also a Thai dish. However the biggest minus point was to be the lack of customer services and friendliness at this hotel. At breakfast, lunch and dinner the staff were not exactly friendly or welcoming. It's a real Shame as the location of this hotel is fantastic. Railay itself is lovely, abit on the pricey side but one of the highlights of our Thailand trip. Def visit pra nang beach- one of the most beautiful beaches in krabi! Beware of the mossies on railay, there's lot of them so be prepared. On our last night we visit diamond cave restaurant which served excellent BBQ food for just 150 bht! Well worth the visit and the staff were super friendly N happy to serve you.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winnie8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.2 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Railay Beach
926 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,568 reviews
2.4 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#20 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#3 of 12 in Railay Beach
1,534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
#4 of 12 in Railay Beach
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Tropical Resort

Address: 39 Moo 2 Tambon Aonang | Railay Beach, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: $84 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunrise Tropical Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Tropical Resort, an exclusive resort on Railay East Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunrise Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Tropical Hotel Railay Beach
Sunrise Tropical Krabi
Sunrise Tropical Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing