We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings but would stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings but would stay again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We only spent one night here on our way back from Ko Phi Phi. East Railay Beach is not immediately inspiring as its quite muddy with no real beach. Its not a major issue as you can easily walk to the two neighbouring beaches which are very picturesque and worth a visit. The hotel itself is quite nice. Checkin was quick and efficient once a staff member was located. Although it was not always easy using english, the staff appeared to make effort. Upon returning from dinner our side of the resort suffered a power cut so we were quickly upgraded to the pool bungalow with outdoor shower which was very nice. We left very early so did not experience breakfast. Overall not inspiring but a pleasant enough experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    344
    138
    48
    22
See reviews for
129
376
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This ace was appalling. It might be better in the high season but when we went the whole place was practically a building site. There was only one useless member on reception the whole time we were there, restraint was closed, spa was closed, pool was turned off, the wifi was turned off. Everything was shut down. There was building work going on which means you had to walk through a building site to get to your room.

The rooms were nice inside. But there was no warning that the place was having building done or would be partially closed. The price was still expensive, we would of expected a huge discount for what we experienced. I would avoid this place,bit obviously doesn't care about customer experience or it would be either closed or have warned guests about its condition.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in a tropical villa plus room and were very impressed with the size of the room (70 sq metres) and its tasteful furnishings. I was skeptical when I read of the outdoor shower it had, but really impressed when I saw it in person. The bathroom and its outdoor shower were good enough for our family of 4. we know this is not a 5 star resort so we didn't mind its bathroom's taps looking a little old and worn out. And yes....it's air conditioning was really powerful as well, great for a hot tropical country like Thailand. I know others complained about mosquitoes but an electric insect repellant was provided for us to use in door.

All around the resort, it's really green. We heard no noise even though there was construction work going on next door at railay princess resort. It's swimming pool was under maintenance, but we were informed of it at the time of booking and were allowed to use the swimming pool at sand sea resort. The highlight one day was that we saw monkeys playing and eating just outside our window!!

Breakfast was good enough for Thai standard..the chef was really good at making cheese omelette. Although the dinner was just basic; it's pad Thai was ok but it's 'kuay tiao' ( broad noodles that the Chinese would called as 'hor fan') was very disappointing as it came with very few lumps of noodles swimming in lots of gravy.

The resort's service was excellent! We booked transport (800 bahts) from ao nang and it was worth it. Timely pickup, coach ride to ao namo pier and followed by long tail boat directly to the resort! It was high tide at the time of our arrival so we didn't even have to wade! We were ushered to the reception desk and received our guava drinks!

Although I would recommend to check out the number of breakfast you should be getting at the time of booking. We booked a tropical villa plus room and specified 2 adults and 2 kids. On the booking confirmation, it wrote breakfast included (but didn't specify for how many people). when we arrived, the reception tried to charge us for our 2 children's breakfast saying breakfast was only provided for 2 adults.

In summary, We are very pleased with the resort. It's handy to pranang cave/ beach and railay west beach too. Yes, railay east beach where tropical sunrise resort is based is not for swimming but the west beach is only 5 minutes walk away. The view at railay east changes at low and high tides so it was interesting enough for us.

Oh yes, there were plenty of mosquitoes and house flies at meal times, but they are everywhere in railay, not just in sunrise tropical resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obiwan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Overall this hotel isn't anything spectacular, until you see the SHOWER in your villa room. It's an outdoor shower, with river stones lining the floor and walls, and a rainfall showerhead. I took pictures so that someday I can recreate it. Otherwise the rooms are spacious and clean, a little overpriced for Thailand (which seemed typical on Railay), and the lobby and pool are a bit worn. It's an easy walk to the "pretty" beaches on the other side of the Island, and breakfast is quite tasty. We'd linger at breakfast for quite some time. I'd have given 3 stars but as outlandish as it seems, the shower made the entire experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfran_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The bungalows are spacious and well furnished and the service about what you would expect. The location is adequate and reflects the price. However, the mosquitos are a big problem. Even with a coil burning in the bathroom, the bedroom and three on the terrace it was impossible to get rid of them. The stagnant water pool at the entrance didnt help. In. Four night stay we used over a pack of coils.....and still have a multitude of bites to show for it. Shame.

Room Tip: One without mosquitos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just came back from Krabi where we stayed in Sunrise Tropical resort for 6 days and 5 nights. It is NOT an exclusive resort and sunrise tropical resort doesn't pretend that it is. The price is cheap but the furnishings, surrounding and service is above average so you will get value for money. Lots of mosquitos so be forewarned. Bring extra mosquito repellant and lotion. Resident monkeys, squirrels and horn-billed bird so watch out for dropping poo! There is a construction just beside the resort but since we are out most of the time, we rarely heard any noise. The times that we did , the noise was not a nuisance.

The cost of food is, of course, expensive compare to the eating places outside of the resort. The food itself had been "Europeanize" so its not spicy and a little bit bland (I'm Asian, sorry) but it is still delicious and portion size is good. A wide variety of food offering.

Booked our transfer from the airport and back with the resort and it is hassle free. I didn't get my feet wet! They have these portable jetty to meet you if the tide is low but only if you book with the resort. Im travelling with a toddler and a huge bag filled with diapers and milk so the portable jetty really helps. Staffs are friendly and although their English is not good, they try their darnest to help you. The staff may seem disinterested or nonchalant at first but once they get to know you better, they will smile for you always. The resort is family-friendly.

There are 3 beaches on the West Railay and all of them are connected by concrete footpaths from the resort so don't you worry. There are atms too. With regards to food, there are a lot of small inns in the East side. One of my favourite is Mom's kitchen. Cheap and good. Be aware that diarrhea can happen. It happen to me and my wife and it disrupted at least 1 day worth of sightseeing and 2 nights of good sleep. We felt sooo ill and weak so please remember to bring medication.

For those who are new on rock climbing, it will cost you 3000 baht per person for a day course. Those who already know how to climb and lead-climb but just too lazy to bring your gears (like me), a guide and full gear are on offer for around 800 baht per person. For those who lead climb and are experience enough, please purchase a guide book for rock climbing routes. Then you don't have to pay for a guide. Rock climbing shops are all over Railay. Some shops look a bit unkempt while some shops look professional. To each its own I guess.

There are a lot of small shops that offer full day/half day trips for island hopping, snorkeling etc. or land transfer. What I notice is that they offer the same brochures from the same companies! So please haggle hard.

I hope all of the info help. Enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jinnssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed in a villa, which was so spacious with a wonderful bathroom. Breakfast was amazing, staff fantastic, and in a great location. Very clean. There was some construction happening, but it did not occur at night, and if you are out all day, then there is no worries...some have addressed it in their reviews, but fundamentally, it is a non-issue.

Highly recommended and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_CDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.2 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#3 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
1.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
1.6 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Tropical Resort

Property: Sunrise Tropical Resort
Address: 39 Moo 2 Tambon Aonang | Railay Beach, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunrise Tropical Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Tropical Resort, an exclusive resort on Railay East Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Tropical Hotel Railay Beach
Sunrise Tropical Krabi
Sunrise Tropical Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing