We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay in Railay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Herriman, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved our stay in Railay”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I loved our stay at Sunrise Tropical resort. Railay was definitely my favorite spot in Thailand so that may have to do with it. Upon arrival at the hotel we were offered a cold towel and a cold drink of OJ. The hotel staff was very friendly and it only took a few minutes to get all checked in. Our room was amazing! We stayed in one of the villas and it was so nice! The only complaint i would have is the hard bed. But you wont really find anything else in Thailand. It wasn't bad at all. Sunrise Tropical was definitely our favorite spot we stayed. definitely stay here if you are deciding! There is construction going on at some resorts by the hotel. But not at Sunrise and we didn't hear any noise from it. Just when you walk through it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindseyRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    347
    141
    48
    23
See reviews for
132
384
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel is nicely located in East Railay and that is it. No wi fi in the room, rooms out dated, stained bed sheets. The room is spacious, however maintenance is bad. It could have been a great hotel if run properly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlineRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed for three nights before heading south to Phi Phi & Lanta. Rooms are fairly standard but nice nonetheless - setting & restaurant really make it...try the crab! I proposed at a restaurant called the Rock further inland toward the Tonsai backpacker village & have incredible memories of this lovely Boho area...climbing is also superb but bring tape for your soon to be shredded fingers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattS_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have to point out that right next door to the property is a building site, work starts about 8am and goes on until 10pm. The hotel are upfront about this, see note on website and offer price deals because of it. To be honest we didn't really become affected by it as spent most of our time away from the room.
Away from this very good stay. Price of the hotel is cheaper is it is on the worst beach in Railay, however this should not put anyone off as you 10mins walk away from 2 fantastic beaches. The breakfast buffet was OK, nothing spectacular, omelletes nice though. We stayed in a chalay room, accessed through walking through the forest type resort. Room was large & very clean, had a few issues with the shower not always running hot. Swimming pool is in a secluded area, so able to escape the sun for a while. We had one evening meal in the hotel, service was a little slow but food very good. As with many places on Railay, the resort is "dry" but there is no issue with you BYO alcohol.

Room Tip: We stayed on left hand side of the resort, right next door to the construction site, so would stay o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canarytraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hi, we arrived at the Sunrise Tropical hotel in a pouring rain storm. Totally drenched. Our luggage and back packs drenched, too. Our plane arrived from Bangkock, Thailand at the the typical time that the plane arrives every day, around 4:30 p.m. It took us 10 minutes to deplane and get our luggage. As instructed by travel books, we went right to the taxi desk, first in line, booked our taxi which took us to the boat dock at Ao Nang. BTW, Ao Nang does not have places for tourists to stay. We asked the girl at the taxi desk to ask the taxi driver to take us to the big dock and she did ask but the taxi driver took us to the local concrete dock. The boat people waited on other people to arrive in order to get ten riders and a storm apparently was coming. Most people had back packs only but bc we had been in Thailand and Luang Prabang for eight days previous, we had some small suitcases and back packs. There was not enough room under cover of the boat and several of us had to sit outside the cover as well as the luggage and the cover is just a top boat shade so not much cover unless you are sitting in the middle under the cover. The rain was pouring and by the time we arrived at the Sunrise Tropical, we were drenched and so was our luggage and backpacks. We would have gladly paid for a boat for only the four of us. As we stayed at the resort, we learned that all the boat people and resort people, as one would think in fact, do know each other. A bigger boat could have been called and we would not have been drenched. The resort check in staff took one look at us and were not helpful until my husband asked for help to get our luggage to the rooms. Guys arrived and covered the luggage with plastic bags to prevent any more damage from the torrential rain and we were given umbrellas to get to our cabanas and the cabanas were very nice and spacious. The resort staff should have taken our clothing and washed and dried it for us but instead, we had to hang the clothes all over the room using opened umbrellas turned upside down and bring in the towel bathing suit rack from outside and hang the clothes anywhere else that we could find including the walls in the bathroom. We had clothes hanging everywhere. The resort does have construction going on as the some of the cabanas are being redone and some constructed and since reviews that I have read complained about some of the resort needing updating , one has to expect some construction occurring. We did not find the noise of the construction invasive. The pool liner needs to be redone but is still a nice pool hidden away from view by the luscious greenery which the whole resort has surrounding and through. When booking a hotel on Railay be sure to get the hotel to book the taxi and the boat in advance. Maybe this would have helped. Don't book from the airport. The resort staff is young and doesn't seem to have training with a propensity to stand around and do nothing. Railay is small so getting around the resort and back and forth from East to West is easy as a sidewalk path runs through the middle and makes access very easy and a sidewalk runs all around the peninsula anywhere the beach does not go. The eastside has a breeze and most of the nightlife which is within a short 5 minute walk but the noise doesn't effect the resorts. The east side also has within a 5 minute walk, the caves with the monkeys which leads to a great beach area. The west side has more beach but not much of a breeze and can be very hot. Since Railay Beach is a beach, the tide does recede on both sides leaving mud flats but the beach area is still there but not the water but this effect doesn't last long. When the water is out, Railay Beach has what I call tractor ferries, covered carts/ wagons pulled by tractors to bring people back and forth from the boats to the resorts. We got up early and watched the sunrise and realized that these tractor ferries are the taxis for the resort workers. The eastside also has a quarter mile side walk running through the middle of the mudflats right out to the boats that people can walk down out to the boats; very interesting. Of course, the sidewalk can only be seen when the water has receded. Other than the stupidity and non-caring attitude of the boat transport people, we had a great time.

Room Tip: Might could ask for a newer cabana but we found that all were nice. We were with a large group of f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancerg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed in a villa, in a room that had not undergone renovations. As a result, it was a bit crumbly in parts (literally--wall tiles in the bathroom were crumbling a bit). You get the sense it was really lovely a few years back, but it's hard to maintain things with the sand and saltwater attacking. As it is, it's large, which is nice, and has a fridge/minibar, consistent towel service (including replacing the beach towels as a matter of course), and a lovely outdoor patio to sit on. Plus, air conditioning, which is heavenly. The bed was hard (not a problem for me, may be for others) and on an elevated platform that i was convinced was going to lead me to stumble and crash into the coffee table in the night, though I survived. I really liked the daybed and chaise in the room. They never did fix the light over my desk, which went out two days in, but I only mentioned it once. I have to say that the breakfast buffet isn't great--baked goods are awful, coffee is mudlike, the omelet bar produced a cross between an omelet and scrambled eggs (typical of the region), and the hot food includes odd little pancakes and french toast which are not, in fact, particularly warm. I did enjoy the fresh fruit and yogurt, though, and they'll make you fried eggs instead of the omelet, so one can easily make do. I also think--and this is critical-- that this is actually pretty good for Railay. This is not a peninsula with great food (though the fruit smoothies are awesome). You're there for the beach and/or climbing, and having a pleasant place to stay, with plenty of room and decent service, is icing on the cake. Especially if you can get a good price. I'd shop around.
And yes, it's on the East side of the peninsula, so you have to walk over to the West side for the beach (or the south-west for Pranang cave/beach, which is the best one), but it's not like it's all that far.
Also, there is construction going on now, but I can't say it bothered me. I was out most of the days, though, so that might skew my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinggrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Overall we had a great time here. Stayed both at the chalay and villa. Both are good options, depending on your budget. Compared to other Railay hotels, this one offers great value for the price. The Breakfast buffet offers a good selection. One thing going against the place - the maintenance level of the rooms and pool (facilities in general) isn't always amazing. Some of our villa walls were partially eaten away by water leaks, and the poolside easy chairs weren't all usable. That being said, we had a great time here, and would easily recommend it to friends/family.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Igmuthebrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.2 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
903 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,445 reviews
1.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
2,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Tropical Resort

Property: Sunrise Tropical Resort
Address: 39 Moo 2 Tambon Aonang | Railay Beach, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunrise Tropical Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Tropical Resort, an exclusive resort on Railay East Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunrise Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Tropical Hotel Railay Beach
Sunrise Tropical Krabi
Sunrise Tropical Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing