We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Think twice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Think twice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Of all the places I have stayed in the last three weeks while traveling in Thailand, this place has been the worst. Dead ants in the shower, cob webs, brown and stained towels, terrible lighting in the room. The list goes on. The pool is not as great as it looks in the pictures and the bed was not comfortable. On the plus side, the room is spacious, closet is nice, breakfast was pretty good, and the grounds are pretty. Soo, I'd just think twice before staying here. I definitely will not be coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    344
    138
    48
    22
See reviews for
129
376
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were on a budget but we also wanted to stay for one time in a nice room. For our 'splurge' we used this resort. On Agoda we booked the biggest villa for 2100 baht a night. The villa had a nice veranda and a nice outside shower. Inside the villa was very spacious (60 sq, metres) and had all we need. A big bed, a sofa, a TV, a fridge, a big closet and an good bathroom. When we arrived there was a kind of an ant nest at our bathroom and after complaining they directly did something about it.

The breakfast was so so. It was nothing special. It was a buffet setting with some fruit, some bread and on the other side some warm dishes. It did the job but it could be ten times better. The swimming pool was over aged but also did its job. The hotel itself is good located although the swimmable beach is a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickzwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Visiting Railay is a must , one of my top places to visit in Thailand . Friends had visited before us and said to stay on the west side of the island , we did at the sand sea resort but was booked up for our last night so we booked into sunrise tropical on the east side and I wished we stayed here for all the time we spent at Railay it was wonderful . We booked into the Tropical villa which was massive ,such a wonderful villa. Nice and quite. The gardens so well looked after. Swimming pool ideal ,only a few minutes walk to the west side beach ,amazing clear water and loads of space to swim and sunbathe , not forgetting the wonderful sunsets. We had breakfast included all you could want . Friendly staff. Resurants and bars few minutes walk away, must try the fish. Relaxing visit for all ,family's with little ones,couples or groups perfect place to stay .

Room Tip: Tropical villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nofit Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The resort is lovely; the rooms (villas) we stayed in were superb. Big and well equipped.
We took two units with connecting door for 5 people family A bit expensive but gave us a lot of space, and we could not find a family room in Railay
The bathroom was not fully functioning but room service has fixed in after two days.
The location is excellent - less than 10 minutes from the west beaches. the east beach is a lovely scene for photographs but not for bathing. The swimming pool is a really nice place to end the day when returning from the sea. The included Breakfast was a very nice and rich buffet.
Their transportation to and from the airport worked very well.

So - The infrastructure is great.
The down sides were that the reception desk wasn't very helpful.
There was no Internet on Room - and we could not get answer why?
They tried to charge me 200 BAT for a dirty (legs cleaning) towel. Eventually they gave up.
The tourist information desk was not helpful at all.

To conclude – This is a very charming place to stay if one is not too picky about a friendly staff and fully functioning gear….

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was our most pleasant stay in Thailand. The bungalow was absolutely lovely and it was huge. The rest of the hotel was also nice.. The pool was mediocre but that shouldn't really impact your trip too much especially if you're there for the beach or rock climbing. The breakfast was also decent. They had an egg station and also lots of cereal options options and fruit. I'd definitely stay there again b

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charchar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

One month in to my travels round thailand and this could be the first time tripadvisor has let me down :s we booked for 5 nights but left after 2 (save money) . Even thou this hotel only faults on a couple of issues it the most overhype and overrated hotel I have stop in on my travels and the price is a joke. we stopped in there cheapest room which set us back 1800b a night and was only a little better then a bedsit. The room could of been nicer if I was not for lots of little issues like broken window, water stains on walls, balcouny door not fully close and tv not working.  The hotel outside the room was not too bad apart from 2 major issues. Building work is going on, noisey, annoying and should of been told about before. Breakfast !!!! Wow, they put it out the night . . . Not good If you don't like ants with your fruit and toast. Also because the building work theres a lot of stagnant water with leads to lots of flys in the morning :s I mean lots. I would not eat there and my partner took hers to our room. In the end we move to a hotel round the corner for the same rooms and so on for 600b a night. When I come back to Raileybeech, will not be going back to sunrise :( 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lhardy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Although not situated on the best beach Sunrise Tropical offers great luxury rooms cheaper than that on West beach. It is located right where the longtail boats bring/take people to Krabi. The restaurant is decent but there are better choices in Railay. Would recommend - good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delmac71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.2 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#3 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
1.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
1.6 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sand Sea Resort
Sand Sea Resort
#5 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Tropical Resort

Property: Sunrise Tropical Resort
Address: 39 Moo 2 Tambon Aonang | Railay Beach, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunrise Tropical Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Tropical Resort, an exclusive resort on Railay East Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Tropical Hotel Railay Beach
Sunrise Tropical Krabi
Sunrise Tropical Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing