We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its like a little smurf village”
Review of Rayavadee Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rayavadee Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Really a very nice break from the city, romantic and peaceful with very nice single accommodation, which as my fiance put it look like 'a little smurf village'. Biggest problem was the shared beach and limited restaurants. Very nice for a 2 day break, as an alternative I would also look at Pankor Laut Resort or Dati in Lankawi.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Swiss02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,191 - 1,197 of 1,944 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2010

Rayavadee is still one of the most fantastic places on earth! The two main beaches have to be up there in the list of best beaches in the world and the resort retains a magical charm with truly fantastic staff who want to make your stay perfect. They may not be the quickest in the world but they do everything with a smile! We loved the hustle and bustle on Railay and the main pool is fab. Having visited in 2004 we were always going to return and only one thing disappointed us and that was the relatively high resort prices now compared both to how much they used to charge and compared to other top Thailand resorts today. Rayavadee seem to have lofty ideas as to their own value. Food, drinks and trips are exorbitantly priced unless money has little value to you. Don't let that put you off if you want a special place to stay, but do bear in mind that after dark you are stuck there with only 5 or 6 bars/restaurants along the beach as an alternative.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DicknDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

We have just returned home from a visit to Thailand where we stayed at the Ravavadee. I have never written a review on a hotel before but after reading some negative comments I felt I had to post my own review.

The Hotel is by a long way the greatest hotel we have every stayed in. From the moment we were so warmly welcomed by the staff at Krabi airport through to our departure the hotel was a complete dream.

The pavillions are amazing, two story buildings that are beautifully designed which provide you with a lounge area downstairs with the bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Some people on this web site have commented that the sofa was uncomfortable and that they expected a plasma screen, really?. I think they need to get a life, you dont travel half way across the world to sit on a sofa and watch tv, especially when you have such beauty outside. For the record the sofa and the tv's are fine!.

The food was amazing especially the breakfast and the service really was impeciable.
The staff at the Rayavadee were so wonderful nothing was to much for them and the general manager seemed to be on hand 24/7. He and his staff made us feel like we were their very first customers and we felt like we were the only people there.

All in all we really could go on for hours and bore you. However all you need to know its that the Rayavadee Hotel is Paradise..

Finally just ignore the bad comments which other people have written. From reading the things that they complained about I would think that no matter what, they would always find something to complain about.

Now just book it ! go on !!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwellsBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

This is the first travel review i have felt compelled to write. We recently travelled to the rayavadee with 4 children and stayed in 2 adjacent family rooms /villa.
The resort does not have three beaches one is a working area staff drop zone and general dump ! The other two are some of the best i have seen around the world however after 09 30 each morning both are completely full of boats normally in excess of 15 carrying 30 per boat and the longtail boats are run by old very smelly converted truck engines ! imagine the noise and pollution which goes on until after 4pm each day. The food offering in the hotel is the worst i have ever encountered in a so called " leading hotel " Don't bother to try the restaurant adjacent reception it is dire and you wait circa 2hrs. The other 2, well the beach order will always without exception be wrong due to language problems and will never be served togeather .The other the thai is very nice but we ate there 4 time often ordering some of the same dishes but results were never the same ! With regards the rooms the design is poor but the problem is the age these rooms are long long overdue a refurb we visited 6 different villas all were the same and i also found the daily room service only average. What this is leading to is this hotel may have been fantastic 10 years age but she is very much showing her age and the european managers /owner on site are very clearly keeping their heads down as the level of complaints in the resort is high and loud.
It's not all bad the local staff are very kind but the training is not there to support a 5 statr rating !!! The test of any great hotel /resort to my mind is would you tell your friends and family to visit or return the answer is a resounding no !
I have told the management that i have never spent so much in two weeks in trying to get away from a hotel that all the family were looking forward to visiting.
With regards the day trips on offer these are first class and i would recommend trying although expensive ie full day for 6 on boat inc lunch £ 900.
I an currently writing to the hotel and contacting the leading hotels of the world reviewers to discuss the above.
The pool is very dirty and we did not on any occasion see any cleaning /maintenance being carried out . The free medical advice / medication was a very well run and unexpected offering much appreciated when dealing with the subsequent ear infection.
Lastly as a diving family the hotel has a association with a local company not it's own dive centre, this does not work when we were there they were only offering 2 tank dives 8am to 5pm three times a week ! We subsequently made our own arrangements with a company called Aqua vision having tried and rejected other local outfits .

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ECDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Out of all the places I booked in Thailand this was the one I was most looking forward to. Unfortunately it was the one I was most disappointed with. Railay beach is amazing and Rayavadee has the luxury of having the perfect location. The property extends to three of the beaches on the peninsula and is all connected by jungle type foliage which is beautiful. It is slightly odd in the sense that security guards guard its perimeter, I guess to keep all the backpackers out?? It feels a bit like an "I have money and you don't so keep out" mentality.

We stayed in the spa room which has an outdoor shower and jacuzzi. Every room or mini house is two levels and round in shape. The living room area has a strange uncomfortable swinging couch and it is not comfortable to lounge around in at night. The bedroom had a bed so large there was hardly any room to move around.

Of course there are all of the 5 star amenities and non motorised water sports, etc which is nice to have at your disposal, however it does not make up for the price. I was paying upwards of £450 a night (and I had a free upgrade so I was paying for the most basic room) and I still had to pay an additional 425 baht a day for my daughter's breakfast! There is just so much better value for money hotels in Thailand.

On the positive side the Thai restaurant is beautiful and the food is amazing and the cave bar is cool for drinks to watch the sunset over one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. The monkeys entertained my daughter and the kayaking and snorkeling gear was top quality.

If money is no object then I would recommend what the hotel has to offer even if just to have the opportunity to awake to views of phranang beach (no other hotel on Railay has this). Walking down phranang beach early in the morning before everyone arrives is heart stopping. Thailand has some amazing five start resorts with a bit more charm and better value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelbumSouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

I cannot imagine visiting Thailand and not staying here. It is a very special place enhanced by the wonderful service from all the staff and management.
The setting is close to perfect and although I agree the crowds at Phra Nang beach during the day are a bit much, is it not lovely in the early evening as the sun goes down and the beach is virtually empty. In any event that is what Thailand is about.
The pavilions are too fab for words and for all you girls the toiletries are absolutely amazing. For fans of Spas this one is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetWUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

My wife and children had not had a family holiday for some time and at long last decided it was time to push the boat out. After many nights on Trip Advisor we chose the Rayavadee in Krabi. We could not have made a better choice it was without a doubt the best location resort and service we have ever experienced.Brian Harries and his staff were quite amazing there was nothing that was too much and everything came with sincerity and a smile. We stayed in a Pavilion right next to Phranang Beach with a hydro pool. The tours that were arranged for us were also superb with our own private speed boat and picnics arranged on secluded Islands.The tennis courts spa and restaurants were also amazing and everyone was very accomodating with regards to our children. We cant wait to return. Paul and Lally

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKANDLQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
1.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.2 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Railay Beach
958 reviews
8.6 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#3 of 12 in Railay Beach
842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,237 reviews
8.4 mi away
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayavadee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayavadee Resort

Address: 214 Moo 2, Tambon Ao-Nang | Amphoe Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: $391 - $1,322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rayavadee Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayavadee's setting on the edge of Krabi's National Marine Park at the heart of the stunning Phranang Peninsula perfectly blends lush foliage, limestone cliffs, white sand beaches and the emerald waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort's award winning architecture and tropical landscapes were inspired by the atmosphere of a southern Thai village. Rayavadee's enchanting two-story pavilions and beachfront villas are spread over 26 acres of coconut groves, their spacious interiors and décor providing unsurpassed comfort for the property's highly discerning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rayavadee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayavadee Hotel Railay Beach
Rayavadee Resort Krabi
Rayavadee Hotel Krabi
Rayavadee Krabi
Rayavadee Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing