We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Rayavadee Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rayavadee Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough to help. It could not have been a more beautiful setting - I wish I could live here! Great restaurants with so many options. We did a day trip out to the three islands which was fantastic - small group, lovely boat....perfect!


Expensive but worth every penny!

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Sarah,

Thanks for the great review on Trip Advisor. We wish you could live here too! We really appreciate your nice compliments on our staff, the resort's setting, the food and the excursion you took to the islands with our activities team.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to your 'home away from home' in Krabi in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 1,896 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2014

The pictures on their site really paint a different idea of whats reality here. We thought we were coming to the best hotel in Krabi, instead we found ourselves with a crowded, dated, "resort" style place. The beaches were alright, the room was terrible, no view and stuck in the middle of greenery, it felt very cramped and claustrophobic. We didn't travel 25+ hours to stay in this place!! We ended up leaving the same day we got there. Grabbed our bags and took a taxi to Phuket where we stayed at just the right place, Trisara. Now that place has the right idea.

Unless your looking to stay in a crowded, dated, bad service hotel, do not stay here!!

Room Tip: I hated our room, don't suggest any rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank camila o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear Camila Oh,

We are very sorry to know that Rayavadee did not meet your expectations and we are glad that you found an alternative hotel that was more to your liking to enjoy your holiday. While we try to please all of our guests, from time to time, the fit is just not right.
Our pavilions are designed in a contemporary Thai style which incorporates teak wood and traditional handwoven fabrics into the decor along with elements that are inspired by the resort's natural surroundings. Of course whether you like this or not is a matter of personal taste which we certainly do understand. It is true that all of our pavilions (except the villas) are surrounded by lush tropical gardens and cliffs and are not sea facing. However we do not advertise them as such and wherever you stay in the resort, you are never more than a five minute walk to a beautiful beach. Happily, the majority of people who stay with us do not share your opinion regarding the accommodation, the beaches or the service. We nevertheless thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We are currently on our last days stay at the Rayavadee. I am an ex flight centre travel agent, and an extremely picky person only liking the best and luxury.

I am highly impressed with this resort. It is clean, luxurious, scenic, and deserves 5.5 stars.

I am now working as a professional photographer and am in a photographers heaven.

The beaches are not too over crowded at this time of the year. There is one down pour of rain in the afternoon which is not bothersome at all.

The staff are extremely courteous and friendly and accommodating.

We found the little details fantastic. The complimentary chocolate and drinks in the mini bar. The complimentary cookies and water both upstairs and downstairs. The bath scrubs, ointments, mosquito spray, toothbrushes, vanity kits etc. the resort definitely takes care of all your needs.

The calming music playing in the bedroom as you enter. The check in rooms etc all smell of lemongrass. We were given a yummy welcome drink and cold towel dipped in oils.

Lots of things to do on the island. We climbed up to the viewpoint, and then started heading to the secret lagoon but the vertical cliff drops with only a rope to hold on to and no harness was a little too scary for us. There are many caves around, I recommend Diamond Cave. We fed monkeys with a local, they jumped on our shoulders and fed from our hands. Some monkeys are scary and will bite, these ones were friendly. These were located on the walk by the mountain between Railay Beach and Phranang Beach near the viewpoint climb start. Pharang Beach is definitely the nicest and cleanest beach. There is security that stops outsiders from coming in and using the pools and sunbeds.

Great variety of food (and I'm picky with food). Loving it and sad to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RachelDeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear RachelDeane,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay at Rayavadee. It was very nice to read your positive comments and to know you were impressed with our resort and all it has to offer.

Your compliments on our natural setting, facilities, accommodation and all the little "extras" we arrange to make our guests' stays memorable were appreciated. We're also glad you enjoyed hiking around the peninsular and your encounters with our "neighbors" the monkeys!

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Wishing you all the best!

Claudine T.

Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Great choice of food & cocktails, quality place by the beach, a calm luxury in this touristy area. I wasn't a guest of the hotel so I can't tell you about the rooms however I've had lunch there 3 days in a row. The service was perfect. The view stunning. If you are not too far, you can even order your drinks and they serve them to you on the beach below. A little piece of heaven that i recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Service
3  Thank dragon2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear dragon2701,

Thank you for your kind review and for visiting us at Rayavadee. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our food and service at Raitalay Terrace restaurant on Railay Beach so much that you ate lunch with us three days in a row. Thank you!

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future, next time perhaps as a staying guest.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I have been here a few times the location is great and the staff are first class . The resort is aging a bit but the refurbished rooms are very nice. Not much to improve except the chips !!! How can such a good hotel get something so simple so wrong . Overall a great hotel with very good and attentive staff

Stayed: August 2014
Thank jc3349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear jc3349

Greetings from Rayavadee! Thank you for your kind feedback. We really appreciate your compliments on our refurbished rooms and especially on our staff.

We are sorry to know that our chips did not meet your expectations. We will look into this to see where we can improve them.

Wishing you all the best and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I loved this hotel and the room was big and comfortable, we stayed here for two nights in the middle of July and I would love to come back here again. All the staff is really friendly and helpful. No other hotels will be good enough after your stay at Rayavadee.
Rayavadee is close to phra nang beach and I will recommend everyone who stay at Railay Beach to visit this beach.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Sandraloe,

Greeting from Rayavadee! Thank you for your nice feedback on trip advisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and really appreciate your compliments on our rooms and staff.

We are so glad to hear that you would love to visit us again and thank you for the recommendations to friends and family. We will be waiting to welcome you back in the very near future.

Wishing you all the best!

Kind regards,

Claudine T.

Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have just left the Rayavadee after a wonderful six days in what is a truly stunning, unique hotel. Decor, service, location, every little touch down to the handmade cookies, glorious toiletries, childrens dressing gowns and slippers were fantastic! The beaches while busy as all beaches in Thailand are public were still kept very clean and the views from the various beach side restaurants were stunning. All in all we did have an amazing time here. There was only one big problem and one recommendation I would make based on our personal preference. The big problem was undercooked food. On four occasions we had to send back food due it being undercooked and in the case of my husbands chicken, semi raw. The staff were excellent. Very apologetic and in the case of the chicken we were given our meal for free. However, serving raw chicken can not only ruin a holiday, it could land you in hospital in the worst case and this is unacceptable especially in a five star establishment. Of course when the food re-arrived it was outstandingly tasty so it is with sorrow that I write this criticism here but raw chicken, raw beef and undercooked eggs is just a complete no no and the cooking staff must please be more vigilant before serving.

The second issue and this is a personal preference is while the service was good, friendly, hospitable and very kind the restaurants suffered from over service. There are multiple staff to each table and you are permanently being watched with staff hovering over you to top up glasses of a water that are already full. It is service for services sake and became very annoying after awhile that we had to ask the staff to stop. Again, I am sure it is what they have been asked to do however we like to relax over our meal and not have plates whisked away before we have finished our last mouthful. We would rather everything was cleared at the end of the meal rather than while we were still chewing!

I feel sorry to post these negative comments as we genuinely had a wonderful holiday here. The hotel is just immaculate and I would still come back in a heartbeat if someone else paid the room rates! But the undercooked food sadly meant I cannot give this hotel a five star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank MinK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear minK26,

Greetings from Rayavadee! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on trip advisor. It was a pleasure to have you & your family as our guests and we really appreciate your kind compliments on your experience at our resort. We are glad to know you had a fabulous stay and would love to come back again one day in the future.

In the meantime, regarding your feedback on the food you had during your stay, please rest assured we are looking into this matter as we also take all matters related to food hygiene and safety very seriously.

We wish and your family all the best and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.2 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Railay Beach
926 reviews
1.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
1.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 12 in Railay Beach
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,164 reviews
8.4 mi away
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayavadee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayavadee Resort

Address: 214 Moo 2, Tambon Ao-Nang | Amphoe Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: $499 - $1,220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rayavadee Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayavadee's setting on the edge of Krabi's National Marine Park at the heart of the stunning Phranang Peninsula perfectly blends lush foliage, limestone cliffs, white sand beaches and the emerald waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort's award winning architecture and tropical landscapes were inspired by the atmosphere of a southern Thai village. Rayavadee's enchanting two-story pavilions and beachfront villas are spread over 26 acres of coconut groves, their spacious interiors and décor providing unsurpassed comfort for the property's highly discerning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rayavadee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayavadee Hotel Railay Beach
Rayavadee Resort Krabi
Rayavadee Hotel Krabi
Rayavadee Krabi
Rayavadee Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing