We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault it!!”
Review of Rayavadee Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rayavadee Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We decided to book Rayavadee for 3 nights to start our trip of in style! From the moment we were greeted at the airport to the time we left we could not find a fault with this resort.

The staff were the most kind and friendly people who went out there way on many occasions to make sure we had everything we needed. We were always greeted with a smile and felt that all the staff genuinely cared for all the guests.

We stayed in the Hydro Pool Pavilion which was just beautiful. All the small touches really made a difference from the fresh fruit, the complimentary mini bar and the latest edition of Vogue.

The beaches although busy for a few hours during the day were perfect for sunbathing and exploring! The Grotto bar was the best place to sit and enjoy a few cocktails whilst the sun was setting too!

We ate in 2 of the restaurants and again I could fault it. The food was delicious and of a very high standard. The Chinese restaurant was the same quality as Hakkasan in London (Michelin starred) which should give you an idea if you have been. Many reviews have said that the restaurants were expensive but in comparison to London prices I think both were great value as the food and cocktails were all delicious!

Breakfast was also superb! A lot of choice and lovely setting to start the day!

The pool was massive and never busy which meant we got to swim alone most of the time! Perfect!

Overall I think Rayavadee is exactly what it promises to be - a beautiful luxurious resort where you don't have to worry about a thing!

Would 100% recommend and would love to return in the future.

Thank you Rayavadee

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 1,896 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Thailand is blessed with so many great beaches and fabulous hotels. When we read that Rayavadee was considered to be one of the '20 most amazing hotels you must stay at before you die' we were so excited to see what was in store for us. I can assure you that it does NOT deserve to make this list. It's fine but there are so many other hotels that are simply breathtaking and were the service is top notch.

We went for a weekend break. The pick up at the airport was smooth and lovely until we got to the transfer point for the boat. We were on a dirty beach/landing point in the dark, stepping over garbage and broken beer bottles. The stench of urine and garbage was really unappealing. Eventually we boarded the boat and were whisked to the resort. The check in was very nice and our bags were taken straight to our room without us having to even think about it. We decided to walk to the Thai restaurant for dinner. We had a decent meal but I would advise people staying at the resort to try the other restaurants & beach bars on railay beach as opposed to just eating at the resort. The resort is overpriced and the food is hit or miss. For example, my lunch on Sunday was the worst dish of rad na I have ever had (do not order it). There were clumps of lukewarm noodles in a thick gloopy sauce and there was no option but to eat it because we paid and the waiter was gone in a heartbeat. No one had come back to pick up the dish over three hours later. Having said this, dinner on Saturday was great.

The rooms are very nice. Some people might be of the view that they are in need of a refresh but I thought it was fine. I love the two stories, the bed was big and comfortable, I loved the double sided cupboard that allowed you to get your robe out of the closet in the bathroom or in the bedroom - you chose! The tub was nice and there was enough hot water. We had to ask them to top up our minibar but that was not a huge deal.

I was expecting a bit more from the grotto given the rave reviews and some of the pictures. It was a nice sunset and we enjoyed walking along the beach before and after dinner.

The resort is just too big for our liking. There were people everywhere. Walking, grabbing a buggy, occupying sun loungers, hiking up to the viewpoint, kayaking, playing tennis, rock climbing, etc. It's just too busy for it to feel relaxing/secluded/serene. On top of how busy the resort is, the beach (phra nang) was bursting with day trippers and people from other parts of railay beach. You never want to have to queue for 15-30mins when you are hiking... but we did. So many people. The motors on the boats are so noisy. On Fri night, the boats were so loud (yep, it went on until 9.30pm at night) that it was affecting our ability to enjoy dinner. Although they did warn us that the beach would be very busy and noisy until sunset every day, we were still surprised by it.

The spa has nice treatment rooms, the attendants are very friendly and the treatments are OK. Having said this, had it not been for the voucher and the 30% savings on single treatments, I would not have recommended it. The full price is a bit steep.

We concluded that this was not a hotel we would return to. For US$500 per day, you can do a lot better elsewhere where you get more attentive and personalized service, fabulous food & beverage, a great atmosphere (including some peace & quiet/more serene), etc. Rayavadee is fine but not for the price and should you decide not to stay here - you have not missed out on a WOW/once-in-a-lifetime experience. My trip to railay beach in 2001 was so much more enjoyable than this experience and it was a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Constantlyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

After a 7 year gap, I returned to Rayavadee in March with my girlfriend. It was a destination that I really wanted to visit with her above all others but with some trepidation....... along the lines of 'never meet your heroes'. I had so many fantastic memories of Rayavadee and remembered it as the most stunning and beautiful place I had ever had the good fortune to visit and a truly remarkable and special destination. I did a similar thing the year before when re-visiting St Lucia after 17 years. My very fond memories where somewhat diluted by my second experience. Even though a stunning location, I couldn't quite hide my disappointment when first seeing the grounds and views - and this being considered the finest beach in St. Lucia. My girlfriend couldn't quite understand my disappointment as she overlooked from our balcony, a stunning beach, pool, beautiful grounds and mountains.

Fast forwarding back to this year, and arriving in Rayavadee. How I needn't have worried. The place is as spellbinding beautiful as I remember it. The grounds, the views, the sympathetic way the resort has been blended into its surroundings is truly remarkable. I was back in love, and my partner now understood my feelings in St Lucia, and why I would constantly wax lyrically about this amazing resort.

My only other concern was our room. Would it be in a good location as before? and had they lost the character of the rooms when doing the refurbishments. Again worries soon disappeared as we entered. We stayed in a standard deluxe pavilion - great location, private and overlooking one of the many beautiful fish ponds on the resort - as I originally felt, and still do, that I actually wouldn't use the plunge pool or terrace - especially as the main infinity pool is simply fantastic and surrounded by breathtaking scenery. The rooms are just perfect for the surroundings and give such a 'good feel' factor each time you walk through the door. They are beautifully appointed, provide everything you expect from a 5 star hotel but also with a certain panache and style. We stayed in a suite in the Peninsula Bangkok on our return. Fantastic hotel and our room was exactly as expected but I would have been very disappointed if the Rayavadee huts were decorated in a similar manner as if in a capital city.

The food at Rayavadee is generally excellent especially the Krua Phranang restaurant. Breakfast was again very good with plenty options available and the opportunity to eat outside the Raya Dining restaurant overlooking the Andaman sea. A barbecue one night at the amazing Grotto is also a wonderful experience.

A lot has been said about the beaches at Rayavadee. Yes they are beautiful when empty - and there is opportunity to enjoy them as such - but obviously crowded during the day and a lot busier than since my last visit. But I think it is important to note that this in no way negatively detracts from the Rayavadee experience. A similar scenario in somewhere like the Maldives would I'm sure be a disaster and no doubt ruin the holiday. In Rayavadee, it is a minor irritant. It is part of Thailand, and we were more than happy to be around the stunning pool or sunbathing in the Rayavadee grounds overlooking the beach in comfort with a cocktail (my only real criticism of Rayavadee being that the cocktails could be inconsistent).

However stunning beautiful and verdant Rayavadee is (and up there with the very best on this planet) it was the staff that made this trip so special. Everyone working on the resort was always so friendly and courteous and made time for you. Do not be concerned with reviews that criticise staff (therapy issue !!!), they are wonderful. We meet some very special people during our two week visit. The guys at the pool were brilliant, and always kept us topped up with drinks and fresh towels. At breakfast, Susan, Pin and Jiraporn were so engaging and a perfect start to the day. Monkon, the resort executive manager was fantastic. He always took the trouble to see how things were and offered great tips and advice during our stay. Even to the point of recommending some special Thai dishes to try and when we arrived at the restaurant that evening Monkon had taken the trouble to phone thru to the Krua Phranang restaurant manager (Sayan) to let him know what had been recommended (and yes it was delicious). Sayan was another person that just made our holiday. He was not only a great and entertaining guy, but also very professional and highly proficient in his role. It was a pleasure to have many joyful conversations with him - plus many thanks for the free bottle of champagne on our last night. All the staff were very amenable, but the person that made our holiday so perfect was Keiko. A warm and special individual who from the moment she checked us in made our stay so very perfect. She made restaurant reservations for us each night - guaranteeing we had the best tables - and always took time from her busy schedule to ensure we had everything we needed each day. She became a good friend (without ever being over intrusive and always very professional). Even when we leaving, Keiko made time to ring the Peninsula hotel to ensure our transport was in place and to investigate tour guides etc. for when we were in Bangkok.

Thanks also to Victor (another great guy to add to the growing list of those mentioned) for showing us the Phranang villa which is highly recommended. Recently refurbished, it is perfect and the views at sunset must be spectacular. I don't normally like to keep revisiting the same place, but we have decided that hopefully in the next 2 or 3 years we will be in a position to book the Phranang villa and also bring some family members to visit this enchanting place.

To add the finishing touches to our stay, we privately hired one of the Rayavadee speed boats to visit the islands - plus a perfect picnic on Bamboo island. A memorable day, which was further enhanced by having such a brilliant crew and can be highly recommended.

This holiday will be etched into our minds forever and we will always have such fond memories of a very special place and people.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DAVnTRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

It was my honeymoon in Thailand, the resort gave us a truly unforgetable holiday! The scene in Rayavadee just like paradise, we live in delux pavilion for four nights. You can get everything in the room, and we were greeted with incedible friendly service. The sunsets at the Grotto are brilliant and the food also wonderful. Our pavilion was close to the borderless pool, very convenient. The resort is quiet expencive, but definitely deserve to go!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Van A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The resort offers a second to none scenery and exclusive access to the Phra Nang beach, which is one of the most beautiful in Thailand. The sunsets at the Grotto are brilliant. If one is tired of walking from one end to the other of the resort, you may order a buggy. The restaurants cook very well, especially the Krua Phranang (Thai) and the Raitalay Terrace (Asia varied). The massages at the spa are recommendable as is the Thai cooking class one may book at the activities centre.

The resort is a place to remember and even more to return. If you want to take full advantage of the facilities like restaurants, spa and activities, don't forget to take the big wallet with you. Alternatively you may enjoy cheaper alternatives at other spots at Ray Leh beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My sister and I had spent the time at Rayavadee for two nights three days. We had planned to stay leisurely in the resort not going anywhere else. After taking not so long from the airport by a van and speed boat which are hotel services, we had arrived at the resort. The staffs were waiting for us at Nam Mao beach and gave us flowers with warm welcome. The staff served us welcome drink which was coconut with lime sherbet ...so refreshing. They gave us a resort map, explained the location of facilities and then lead us to our pavilion. Our pavilion was near Nam Mao beach. It was near reception room and restaurant where we had breakfast but quite far from the swimming pool which located near Railay beach. By the way, we didn't have any problem with the location of our pavilion. We could walk from one beach to another beach. Sometimes we were lazy to walk we just asked the staff to call the buggy to take us where we wanted to go inside the resort area. The room decoration is very nice and comfortable although the TV are quite old model. The amenities in the bathroom are great. There are some snacks and drink with complimentary sticker on them that we can have it for free. There are many kind of activities they provided for guests both free and charge. We can borrow movie DVD and books from the library during the stayed. They provide complimentary afternoon tea for every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday during 4-5 p.m. We could feel close to the nature with a lot of trees and animal such as monkeys, squirrels and a rarely founded bird "hornbill". A squirrel also visited our pavilion and ate a guava in our fruit basket. We called the staffs and they tried to take care of this for us. Finally, it was caught and took out to release outside the pavilion. Breakfast here is good. The lines are consist of many kind of bread, pastries, cheese, fruits, fruit juices, salad, cold cuts, coffee, tea and hot chocolate, etc. (hot chocolate is already sweet, doesn't need to add more sugar ^_^) There are egg dishes,sausages, bacon and main dished (e.g., noodle, boiled rice, congee) which are made to order. We can select them from the menu and the staff will serve them at our table. All staffs here were very helpful, nice and friendly. They always brightly greeted us whenever we met. There was only little thing that annoyed us. When we were surveying inside the resort near the beach, we were informed by a staff that this area is for hotel guests only. Therefore, I told him that we were hotel guests, then he apologized. :P I understood that the beaches are public and the staffs have to take care of the guests' privacy. I would like to suggest the staffs to be more observant to differentiate between hotel guests and tourists. Since we walked around wearing hotel's sandal and holding hotel's umbrella. ^^ Anyway, I was really enjoy celebrating my birthday here.... Quite impressed ^^

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Am_boon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

If you're looking for paradise, Rayavadee is the place to go! From start to finish, our experience there was incredible.

Touching down in Krabi, they were ready with a comfortable car, bottled water, cool towels to take us to the private boat to get us to the resort. Upon arrival, we were greeted with incredibly friendly service, complimentary drinks, and helpful staff who refused to let us lift a finger.

The room was absolutely beautiful and incredibly comfortable with lots of little details and small touches that made us feel right at home, which is exactly how our entire experience was. It's not always the big things, it's the small things. Pool attendants who put out your towels for you and bring you chilled bottled water, staff who always stop what they're doing to greet you, fresh fruit placed in our room each morning, etc. We felt so pampered and welcomed.

The complimentary breakfast spread was outstanding. Tons of options each morning - we couldn't help but stuff ourselves silly. The onsite restaurants were also fantastic. We loved every meal we had.

The beaches, the hikes, the wildlife - all incredible.

We were so sad to leave Rayavadee, we almost considered cancelling the rest of our trip to stay longer! We will definitely be back and recommend to anyone heading to this part of Thailand!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.2 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Railay Beach
926 reviews
1.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
1.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 12 in Railay Beach
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,161 reviews
8.4 mi away
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayavadee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayavadee Resort

Address: 214 Moo 2, Tambon Ao-Nang | Amphoe Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: $498 - $1,220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rayavadee Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayavadee's setting on the edge of Krabi's National Marine Park at the heart of the stunning Phranang Peninsula perfectly blends lush foliage, limestone cliffs, white sand beaches and the emerald waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort's award winning architecture and tropical landscapes were inspired by the atmosphere of a southern Thai village. Rayavadee's enchanting two-story pavilions and beachfront villas are spread over 26 acres of coconut groves, their spacious interiors and décor providing unsurpassed comfort for the property's highly discerning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rayavadee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayavadee Hotel Railay Beach
Rayavadee Resort Krabi
Rayavadee Hotel Krabi
Rayavadee Krabi
Rayavadee Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing